Attractive Features in Men

What does a woman find attractive in a man? What makes a man stand out from the crowd? There is no secret recipe for the Most Gorgeous Man, but there are some physical features which are more common in attractive men than others.

Following are the top seven features I find most appealing in men:

michael-phelps

1. Height

Generally, tall (6 feet/1.82 meters and above) men are more attractive than shorter men. There are multiple reasons why, but given the same basic appearance, a guy who is tall will seem more appealing than one who is average height or shorter. Tall men who aren’t as attractive look better because of their height.

morris-chestnut

2. Well-Defined Jaw/Bone Structure

A chiseled jaw and well-formed bone structure make a man strikingly handsome — there are few universally attractive men who lack a well-defined bone structure. Good bone structure is essential to good looks.

barack-obama

3. Warm Eyes

Men with soft, warm eyes have a special appeal. Warm eyes exude kindness and an understated strength. They can make an average face stand out.

takeshi-kaneshiro

4. Broad Shoulders

Broad shoulders are a classically attractive masculine feature and for good reason. Large shoulders appear protective. Combined with a good height and/or well-defined bone structure, they are irresistible.

football-calves

5. Well-Formed Calves

While they don’t get as much attention as other features, well-formed calves are noticeable and attractive. They show strength and health.

man-hands

6. Clean, Long Fingers

Fingers are not immediately apparent but they can add or detract from the attractiveness of a man. Lean fingers with clean nails are the most appealing.

tom-brady

7. Kissable Lips

Plush lips are the best. They add a softness to the solid structure of a man and are so enticing. Well-shaped lips can complete an already handsome or add to an average face.

Which features do you find the most attractive in men?

See also:

43 thoughts on “Attractive Features in Men

  1. Thank you for this post! It sure inspires me to think about this.
    (Beware of the long rant)

    It usually depends on the man in question, but for me, the features I find the most attractive are:
    1. Hair
    2. Height
    3. Eyes
    4. Voice

    These seem to be the things I’m generally attracted to, and the first things I notice about a man (in that order). Now, let’s see about the selected features:
    Hair
    Hair seems to be the most important, and also the first thing I notice about a man. An ugly guy with a beautiful hair is still attractive to me. I prefer dark hair, thick, and long(ish). Hair texture is not important, or even the colour. I also noticed the hair doesn’t have to be particularly thick or exceptional: if it’s longish, I’ll notice.

    Notable examples: Slash, Anthony Kiedis (back in the days), Eddie Vedder (back in the days), Johnny Depp, Bob Marley, Chris Cornell, Mika.

    Also, my husband. He has the most beautiful hair I’ve ever seen.

    I could go on and on and on and on about this. Yes. I know. I know. You don’ t have to tell me anything. So, moving on.

    Height
    I prefer tall men. It’s not a surprise: most of the women do. I have no idea why. I am quite short (around 157-159 cm, that’s about 5’2″, maybe 5’3″), but I still prefer men who are 180 cm (5’11″) or taller. I have no idea why. It might sound surprising, but shorter men were never particularly interested in me, so the fact I never dated short guys is not due to the fact I rejected them.

    (No celebrity examples here because you can’t really judge their height; everybody’s good 2-3 inches shorter than they claim. Oh, ok, young Jeff Bridges, definitely).

    Eyes
    Eyes are, actually, THE most important. But it’s often not the first thing you see on a man. Still, beautiful, deep, soft, mysterious, sexy, intelligent eyes can make any man interesting.

    I seem to strongly prefer dark eyes. There are beautiful blue and green eyed men, no doubt, but there’s just something about dark eyes that I’ve always found so attractive. Not sure what. In fact, there’s one thing I can think of (it might sound weird, though): my father had dark eyes. I remember them as being almost black. I have no idea whether it has something to do with my preference.

    Notable examples: Blair Underwood, Freddy Rodriguez, Hiroyuki Sanada, Johnny Depp. Even Colin Farrell (not the eyebrows, though).

    Voice
    Might not be something you can determine straight away, but I found this feature to be very important. I like men with deep voices. You could say I’m not too crazy about tenors. I don’t know why, it just is. I guess it’s something subconscious (deep voice = testosterone), and it seems to be one of those manly features I’m really attracted to.

    Notable examples: Javier Bardem, Alan Rickman. And James Earl Jones, of course. (That goes without saying). Also, I prefer male singers with deep voices.

    But a man doesn’t have to have any of it for me to consider him attractive. In these cases I’m intrigued, because I can’t figure out what I find so attractive about a man. The perfect celebrity example is Gary Oldman, who is not particularly tall, has thin hair, pale eyes and not a particularly deep voice. And I still like him a lot. Also, Cillian Murphy might be another example (he has a quite deep voice, though). It’s one of those mysteries. Likewise, a guy can have it all, but I still won’t find him attractive (Keanu Reeves, for example).

    There are other features I find attractive on a man: broad shoulders, strong jaw line, nice hands, high cheekbones. But these things don’t seem to be as important to me as the top 4.

    (Now I feel bad for objectifying men).

  2. Lol, Mira, you need to do a guest post.

    “An ugly guy with a beautiful hair is still attractive to me.”

    Really?

    Hair can be good but not everyone looks good with medium or long hair. I like clean cuts too. But I admit I am a fan of the Justin Bieber haircut/length (but not on Justin Bieber).

    “Voice
    Might not be something you can determine straight away, but I found this feature to be very important.”

    Yes, voice really is important. I don’t know why I didn’t include it; maybe because it’s not technically a physical feature.

    I don’t only like deep voices though, and a lot depends on the accent and words used too.

    “(Now I feel bad for objectifying men).”

    Don’t feel bad. We’re not objectifiying, merely describing what we find attractive. Of course, it’s the inside that counts the most. :)

  3. Yes a man should be my height or taller.

    Can’t say my husband has kind eyes thought, he’s one of the kindest person in the world (he’s a nerd after all), but he got those very blue and dangerous eyes. Just a look he has LOL.

    Hmm, yes broad shoulders is great, hubby got those. Something that makes you feel like a woman.

    Calves? Can’t say I look that much at them.

    Ah fingers. Not that important to me.

    Lips lips… Well I can do with a good size lips, mines bigger than my husband that is sure lol. But he’s not too bad for a white man’s :)

  4. Nkosazana,

    “Yes a man should be my height or taller.”

    Height is probably the most universally accepted attractive feature for guys. Not that being short is bad, but being tall adds something extra.

    “Calves? Can’t say I look that much at them.”

    You should look more. :P

    Once you notice them, you’ll never not notice them again.

    “Well I can do with a good size lips, mines bigger than my husband that is sure lol. But he’s not too bad for a white man’s”

    My lips are larger than my guy’s too, but I care about size as much as shape. AJ’s lips are non-existent, but he has these puckered lips that demand kisses.

  5. As for the lips issue, I did find kissing a man with lips fuller than mine to be tricky. My lips are not thin (for a white girl), but they are really small (like it was really attractive in 1920s -my grandmother was so proud!), and it’s too bad because I always liked men with beautiful lips!

  6. Mira, funny, because I never found kissing a guy with smaller lips to be tricky. It’s all in the technique. ;)

  7. Well, it’s tricky for the person with smaller lips! (Though I don’t think it’s the problem with lips per se- I have a small mouth, too).

    Oh, this is getting TMI.

    Back on track: some other features I notice:
    - Chest hair: I’m not crazy for extensive chest hair.
    - I generally don’t notice butts (I swear!) but when it comes to it, a well rounded one is better.
    - I am not crazy about really pale skin (but I admit I have personal issues with it).

  8. I’m late, but I’ll take #s 2, 5, and 7 (in that order). Z has “short, stubby” fingers, as he tells it, and I admit I have no idea what warm eyes look like (as opposed to cold ones). He does have kissable lips though (I believe one commenter on my blog called them luscious :-P).

  9. Mira,

    I’m not crazy about chest hair either, but a little isn’t bad.

    I don’t notice butts either — I find it interesting that some women look at that area. The calves are more important!

    I don’t pay too much attention to skin color. I think if the pale skin works with the rest of the face (hair, eyes, etc), it’s not bad at all.

    Jasmin,

    Some examples of warm eyes would be Barack Obama, Cillian Murphy (not the color, but the shape), TJ Holmes. They radiate kindness. There are some people with colder eyes, but most people have what I would call “normal”.

    Oh, luscious lips. I agree that Z has nice lips. :)

  10. Some examples of warm eyes would be Barack Obama, Cillian Murphy (not the color, but the shape), TJ Holmes. They radiate kindness.

    It’s funny you mentioned Cillian Murphy (who’s lately become one of my fav actors, both acting and look- wise), since many people claim he has creepy eyes. Now, he sure can make them look that way in movies, but I generally agree: there’s something warm and kind about them. Not the colour. They are too light (and the problem with blue eyes is that they often look weird in photos).

    Ok, and now since I can’t resist, I’ll post a few photos to demonstrate this:

    http://cillianmurphy.ru/_ph/65/2/872063094.jpg

    http://30.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lfuyp2EoPb1qbg9xgo1_400.jpg

    (And my absolute favourite photo of him: beautiful eyes + freckles):
    http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lfr6b8omat1qbudbb.jpg

    Um. Ok. Where was I?
    Oh yes, eyes. I like warm eyes. I think it’s the main reason I consider Blair Underwood to be so attractive. There’s just something about his eyes. Or Freddy Rodriguez. Same thing.

    I don’t pay too much attention to skin color. I think if the pale skin works with the rest of the face (hair, eyes, etc), it’s not bad at all.

    I admit I have issues with this (of the colourism kind, with a bit of self hate). I am very pale, I have freckles, etc. I am paler than most of the people I know and it’s just something that’s consider unattractive in my culture. It doesn’t mean I consider pale men ugly; I just have a preference for those who are not that pale. (But there are always exceptions… Once again, Cillian Murphy? You can’t get paler than that, and I like him).

  11. I think my last comment ended in your spam box, Alee. I posted a few links; I think it’s what made it go into moderation.

  12. Mira,

    Ha, I knew people would think Cillian Murphy’s eyes were creepy. The color is striking; an interesting shade of blue. I love his hooded eyes.

    He looks different in those photos you posted. Sometimes he looks older, and sometimes he looks quite young. His face has so much character.

    Hmmm, Freddy Rodriguez has a feminine eye area. :)

    I’ve seen paler people than Cillian. He’s got some redness to his skin.

    Yes, your last comment was in moderation because of the links (I had it set to 3 or more links = moderation, but I just increased it to 5 so people can post more links without me having to approve their comment).

  13. Jasmin,

    Well, for all guys who butt-watch: the tables have turned. It’d be hilarious if a guy was trying to check out your butt at the same time you were trying to check out his. :)

  14. Ha, I knew people would think Cillian Murphy’s eyes were creepy. The color is striking; an interesting shade of blue. I love his hooded eyes.

    Actually, I think the closest colour to his eye colour is turquoise. And I do think they’re warm. He can make them creepy by staring and not blinking, which comes handy in movies, should the role demands it. But generally, his eyes are not a bit creepy, even with such a light colour. Similar statement can be made about Gary Oldman’s eyes. They are so warm, and he’s known for playing creeps and villains!

    He looks different in those photos you posted. Sometimes he looks older, and sometimes he looks quite young. His face has so much character.

    Well, these photos cover the last decade. And he matured from a boy in his early 20s to a man in his mid 30s. But yes, his face is very striking, and it’s a good thing for an actor. He’s also quite diverse in his roles and is able for great transformation (just watch Breakfast on Pluto or Peacock, to see what I mean).

    Hmmm, Freddy Rodriguez has a feminine eye area.
    Whaaa… Really? I like his eyes. Dark, and warm and all. Should I question my heterosexuality?

    I’ve seen paler people than Cillian. He’s got some redness to his skin.

    Hmm, probaly. He sometimes has what we call “peasant blush” here (redness on his face). But his body is very pale.

    It’d be hilarious if a guy was trying to check out your butt at the same time you were trying to check out his.

    It’s what animals do, and we all know how funny it looks! lol

  15. Mira,

    Cillian’s eyes are turquoise, really? They look like sky blue to me. I don’t see much green in there.

    “Should I question my heterosexuality?”

    Well, maybe…Johnny Depp, Freddy Rodriguez: you’re on a roll. ;)

    He sometimes has what we call “peasant blush”

    Huh. Interesting term.

    “But his body is very pale.”

    And you would know all about this, I suppose? :)

  16. Cillian’s eyes are turquoise, really? They look like sky blue to me. I don’t see much green in there.

    After inspecting carefully, I do think there is. They are not turquoise like the mineral, but they are as a web-defined colour:

    http://www.lovetolovellc.com/assets/images/ColorSChart/TurquoiseColorChart.jpg

    Well, maybe…Johnny Depp, Freddy Rodriguez: you’re on a roll.

    You can add Cillian to the list; he’s the most androgynous looking of them.

    Huh. Interesting term.

    It’s just a literal translation of the term. It might have the same origin like the term “redneck”, because people in villages had to work outdoors so they get red from the sun.

    And you would know all about this, I suppose?

    We all know about it. Watch 28 Days Later. You can see all of him. (And I mean “all” all).

  17. It’s an excellent movie. And the nude scene(s) are well justified; it’s not nudity just for the sake of it, and it’s outside any sexual context. It’s such a powerful scene (the first scene in which we meet his character), followed by the iconic walk through the deserted London. And yes, you can see all of him (both front and back), and some people found it to be questionable (which is silly, considered the fact it’s basically a zombie movie, with many violent moments… And yet, they are concerned because of 15 seconds of male full frontal nudity?)

    Do watch this film, even if you’re not into the horror movies. It’s quite good. Also, it has one of the best movie couples in the last decade (and it’s interracial, too, black woman/white man).

  18. Cillian seems so interesting as a person. In many ways he reminds me of my ex (the ultra-avoidant one), which is a good and bad thing. They both have really light eyes and a direct gaze.

    I’ve been meaning to see a film with Naomie Harris, so I might have to check out 28 Days Later.

  19. Cillian seems so interesting as a person. In many ways he reminds me of my ex (the ultra-avoidant one), which is a good and bad thing.

    Yes, Cillian does seem like an interesting person. The fact he reveals so little about his personal life makes me respect him even more, and it’s a clever move: that way, you can watch his characters without associating them with the actor (which, in case of Brad Pitt you can’t do).

    I didn’t understand: does he remind you of your ex physically, or because he seems avoidant like your ex? To me, Cillian doesn’t seem like an avoidant type at all. As far as I know, he met his wife when he was 20 (back in 1996) and they have two kids together. He even said in an interview he doesn’t function well when alone; he needs someone and his wife is the support he needs. So I don’t think he’s avoidant at all: he just doesn’t like to talk about personal life in interviews.

    I’ve been meaning to see a film with Naomie Harris, so I might have to check out 28 Days Later.

    By all means, yes! And report your impressions later.

    Maybe these will help you make up your mind:

    http://i1084.photobucket.com/albums/j420/jim28dayslater/28.jpg
    http://i1084.photobucket.com/albums/j420/jim28dayslater/36.jpg
    http://i1084.photobucket.com/albums/j420/jim28dayslater/12.gif
    ;)

  20. Mira,

    “does he remind you of your ex physically, or because he seems avoidant like your ex?”

    Both.

    I didn’t know those details about Cillian’s personal life, all I knew was that he comes off as very introverted, distant, and mysterious. On the physical side, he is quite pale but with some redness, very light eyes which can look weird in photos, and a unique face. And people think he looks androgynous/feminine. All those fit my ex.

    “Maybe these will help you make up your mind”

    The last one made me smile to myself. :)

  21. I didn’t know those details about Cillian’s personal life, all I knew was that he comes off as very introverted, distant, and mysterious.

    I think he’s smart enough to know talking about personal life in media brings no good. Look what happened to another popular Irish actor, Colin Farrell. Media portrayed him as a walking and talking Irish man stereotype. Not that he didn’t contribute to it, but I believe Cillian wants to avoid any problems of that sorts.

    Here’s what he said in an interview: “I haven’t created any controversy, I don’t sleep around, I don’t go and fall down drunk.” And: “If you behave like a celebrity, then people will treat you like a celebrity, and if you don’t, they won’t. There’s not much to write about me in the tabloids.”

    All in all, happy family life, kids, 15 years of a relationship with a woman who’s not a celebrity, I think those things don’t fit avoidant type at all.

    And people think he looks androgynous/feminine. All those fit my ex.

    So, you’re not really against androgynous looking men?

  22. Mira, I’m not against anyone. :)

    But I didn’t think he looked androgynous. I would never confuse him for a woman. He just had dainty features and was very thin (which is another attractive feature to me: thinness. Not on-the-verge-of-death thin, but slim enough).

  23. When I said “against”, I meant “not into them”.

    I seriously don’t know what’s going on with me today. I can’t find the right words to express myself, both online or offline.

    But yes, I agree, androgyny is relative. A person who looks androgynous to you might look all manly to me (*cough* Johnny Depp *cough*).

    I do think Cillian is very androgynous looking, which should not be mistaken for “effeminate” – there’s nothing of it in him. He just has those gentle features, combined with masculine features. He’s just, well, too beautiful for your average guy.

    My husband, on the other hand, believes Cillian looks like a woman.

    I think he looks like Polanski’s wife:
    http://www.nresimleri.com/photo/Emmanuelle-Seigner30779.jpg

  24. Mira,

    When I said “against”, I meant “not into them”.

    Oh, I know. :)

    “A person who looks androgynous to you might look all manly to me (*cough* Johnny Depp *cough*).”

    I wasn’t the one who thought of that idea! You wouldn’t believe how many people land on my blog daily searching for some variation of “Johnny Depp feminine”.

    Cillian does sort of look like Emmanuelle Seigner, but lots of men look like women and vice versa. It doesn’t mean he looks feminine.

  25. haha women are just as sexist as men yet we get told off for liking a certain kind of look, and it’s ok for women to judge men that’s unfair, but i do agree that men with high/potent cheekbones kissible lips chiseled jawline being tall toned/good body and all makes a good looking man. i wish i looked like rob lowe, james marsden but don’t and comments that men should look a certant way makes me feel unconfident just like when women feel when men say the same things

  26. Okay so I’m 14, 6 feet tall, have very broad shoulders, thick dark textured hair ,dark eyes, toned calves, a sixpack, medium sized lips,and defined facial features. I also make sure I don’t look needy, and girls say I’m fun to be around. There’s one girl I’ve been texting and she doesn’t seem interested. What am I doing wrong?

  27. name,

    Who knows? Maybe she’s not into you, maybe she’s involved with someone else… I couldn’t say. Appearance is important, but personality/compatibility is also important.

  28. i’m attracted to men taller than me. i’d gladly date them even if they are only an inch taller than me. i don’t want guys with the same height as me or worse, shorter than me. but now, i don’t look at any other tall guy since i am already head over heels to my future husband. lol

  29. Well well now, here’s what the ladies agree is valid… very interesting! Not what every guy would assume, either.
    This is of course looking past qualities like kindness, intelligence, spontaneity, confidence and humor… all which may trigger a woman’s emotional response and make her disregard the old tee shirt, the 80 pounds over weight and the lack of any real hair cut.
    Not saying guys should be slobs, physically, just that those non-physical qualities work equally well, so do not automatically despair for lack of height or broad shoulders. “Make the best of what you’ve got.”

  30. Hi Jon,

    “This is of course looking past qualities like kindness, intelligence, spontaneity, confidence and humor… all which may trigger a woman’s emotional response and make her disregard the old tee shirt, the 80 pounds over weight and the lack of any real hair cut.”

    Haha, not this woman. ;)

  31. Hi Alee, Just trying to help the guys see past a lot of negative & self-limiting social programming, NOT be actual careless slobs. They shouldn’t worry about what they can’t change. Point is do you and your GFs think Seth Rogen is sexy or not? A perfect-looking guy can have no luck with women, it can work against him.
    People don’t really decide what they are attracted to in the opposite sex, even if they have a list of what they SHOULD want that “looks good on paper”. And there are lots of frustrated people in bad marriages etc. who made ‘right’ choices based on what they were their whole lives ‘told’ they should want, and ignored their better instincts – this is a tragedy.
    Anyway a slight tangent, I’ve been studying this for some years now and it’s fascinating. Thanks.

  32. Things I look for in a man, in order of importance:

    1. Height: 6ft +

    2. Broad shoulders. Complete with a V-shaped torso, a clear sign he works out.

    3. Smile. Must have a warm, friendly grin and a cheesy smile.

    4. Biceps. Don’t have to be massive, just toned.

    5. Eyes. Bright, healthy looking eyes.

    6. Hair. Thick, dark and straight hair.

  33. Yeah while some of those properties like hair type are things women may just find genetically attractive, many are (also) attributes that are attractive to survival and also demonstrate inner qualities. Women are smart, and have a lot at stake so they do pick up on things. A well-toned physique shows a person takes care of themselves, that they have self-respect and that they have at least some part of their life well-handled – just as an example.

    Because genetically is it worth a woman’s time to get stuck with a lazy schlump as a father to their kids who is going to end up a terrible person to deal with? Again, inner qualities exuding charm & health that are within a person’s reach to develop (for both men and women reading this who believe they’re forever stuck at their present level of sexiness. What defeatism, you just can not walk around telling yourself that sort of crap.)

Leave a Reply

