Red Hot Chili Peppers – Otherside

My Comments:

It’s the Red Hot Chili Peppers. Do they really need an introduction? This is their hit “Otherside” from the album Californication.

Lyrics:

How long, how long will I slide
Separate my side; I don’t,
I don’t believe it’s bad
Slittin’ my throat
it’s all I ever

I heard your voice through a photograph
I thought it up; it brought up the past
Once you know you can never go back
I’ve got to take it on the otherside

Centuries are what it meant to me
A cemetery where I marry the sea
Stranger things could never change my mind
I gotta take it on the otherside
Take it on the otherside
Take it on
Take it on

How long, how long will I slide
Separate my side; I don’t,
I don’t believe it’s bad
Slittin my throat
it’s all I ever

Pour my life into a paper cup
The ashtray’s full and I’m spillin’ my guts
She wants to know am I still a slut
I’ve got to take it on the otherside

A scarlet starlet and she’s in my bed
A candidate for my soul mate bled
I push the trigger and I pull the thread
I’ve got to take it on the otherside
Take it on the otherside
Take it on
Take it on

How long, how long will I slide
Separate my side; I don’t,
I don’t believe it’s bad
Slittin’ my throat
it’s all I ever

Turn me on, take me for a hard ride
Burn me out, leave me on the otherside
I yell and tell it that It’s not my friend
I tear it down, I tear it down
And then it’s born again

How long, how long will I slide
Separate my side; I don’t,
I don’t believe it’s bad
Slittin’ my throat
it’s all I ever had (how long)
I don’t,
I don’t believe it’s fair
Slittin’ my throat
it’s all I ever

7 thoughts on “Red Hot Chili Peppers – Otherside

  1. Ah, the RHCP! Love ’em. They’re the quintessential California rock-band. They basically define much of the 90’s alt-rock in the region where I grew up. Well, them and Sublime.

    My favorite will always be Californication, because the music-video is wicked awesome! (And because it partially inspired the TV show with David Duchovney.)

  2. This is one of my favourite RHCP songs, if not THE favourite. (Only “Suck My Kiss” might be better).

    Everybody who knows me know how much I like RHCP. One of my fav bands, hands down.

    “Otherside” is, simply put, perfect. I actually prefer their fast, bass driven songs, but this one is beyond amazing. Also, a great music video.

    It’s one of those songs that is not just fantastic on itself, but it also give me great inspiration, particularly the line: “A cemetery where I marry the sea”. (Gotta love Anthony’s lyrics).

    Also, Flea owns. Just needed to share this with you guys.

    PS- This is also the only band I truly like that I actually saw live. They were in Serbia in 2007.

  3. Zek, I like “Californication” too. But it would have been too trite to post it and I like this song better.

    Mira, for me this song has to compete with “Can’t Stop” as favorite RHCP song. I go back and forth with which is better.

    Mira and Flea sitting in a tree? 🙂

  4. So I went on a RHCP listening binge yesterday. Now I can’t figure out which song is my favorite. I forgot how much I liked “Californication” and others.

  5. “Mira and Flea sitting in a tree?”

    *blushes*

    Anyway, what about some earlier RHCP songs? Nothing beats “BloodSugarSexMagik” in my book (as an album), but Anthony only learned to sing around “Californication”.

    So, here are my fav tracks on each of their albums:
    Red Hot Chili Peppers: Get Up and Jump
    Freaky Styley: Catholic School Girls Rule
    The Uplift Mofo Party Plan: Fight Like a Brave
    Mother’s Milk: Pretty Little Ditty
    Blood Sugar Sex Magik: SUCK MY KISS!!!!
    One Hot Minute:
    Californication: Otherside
    By The Way: Don’t Forget Me
    Stadium Arcadium: Snow

    You can say I picked a relatively unknown song from “By The Way” album. I really like “Don’t Forget Me”- there’s something incredible about it, but I am not quite sure what. Definitely one of my fav songs of the decade!

    PS- How do you feel about John Frusciante leaving the band again?

  6. Mira,

    “How do you feel about John Frusciante leaving the band again?”

    Sad. But I think he has his own issues that he needs to deal with.

    “Anyway, what about some earlier RHCP songs?…here are my fav tracks on each of their albums”

    I might have to do a “My Favorite RHCP Songs per Album” post… after I figure out which ones those are. It’s going to be tough.

Leave a Reply

