Why Women Love Geeks

hot-geek

I am a self-proclaimed geek lover. There is just nothing more attractive to me than a backpack-wearing, science fiction-loving techie. And I’m not the only one — many women love geeks. Some say “geek is the new chic”, but it’s obvious to us original geekophiles that geeks have always been desired.

So why do women love a geeky man? Here are just some of the reasons:

He is passionate

Women love men who are passionate about something. It shows they care deeply about a subject and are willing to dedicate themselves completely to it. A man who is passionate is more likely to be devoted to a relationship.

He is handy

There’s something quite compelling about a guy who has the know-how to fix a computer or recommend the latest gadget. A recent survey by the computer service the Geek Squad revealed that more than half of women want a man who knows how to sort out issues with technology.geek-love

He is intelligent

The charm of an intelligent man can never be overstated. He is informative, helpful, and often witty. Being able to have a knowledgeable conversation with a partner is a significant draw.

He can share in their interests

Women with offbeat interests often can not easily find someone who they can enjoy their hobbies with. A geek is a welcome companion.

He is sincere

The often socially inept geek is open and genuine. While this may cause some awkward situations in their daily life, honesty in a man is something every woman looks for.

He is successful

Many geeks turn their hobby into a profitable career. And it’s not only the money which is attractive, but the drive that goes into achieving.

He isn’t afraid to follow his heart

The geek is dedicated and open about his interests, despite facing rejection from society. This shows he is a free-thinker who is willing to love the woman he wants, as she is.

He is loyal

As shown by his passion for his interest, the geeky guy is capable of devoting his life to a subject. What woman can resist a guy who shows that he is faithful and trustworthy?

These are some of the reasons I’ve noticed. Why do you think women love geeks?

See also:

17 thoughts on “Why Women Love Geeks

  1. As a hybrid-geek myself… geeks will inherit the earth in this Tech Age.

    So all the ladies better get with one now, while we’re still mostly unbearably single.

  2. Love geeks! I think the point about sincerity is my favorite one–that’s why I fell in love with my current boyfriend.

    (Psst…who’s the hottie in the picture?)

  3. I love this Geeks list! I agree this Tech Age domination for the Geeks and Geek lovers.~~

    I don’t really watch Glee but my fave geek will always be Seth Cohen from The O.C.

  4. Jasmin,

    “Artie? (I don’t watch Glee very often, but my mom does.) He looks so different out of character!”

    I don’t watch the show, but I agree, Artie looks different in this picture.

    Hi Shia, welcome. 🙂

    “my fave geek will always be Seth Cohen from The O.C.”

    Mine too. Seth Cohen aka Adam Brody is the finest of all geeks. I was going to use him for this post, but that would have been too obvious and I'm sure AJ is sick of me mentioning him.

    AJ,

    “Sorry ladies, but Kevin McHale from Glee, I’m pretty sure he’s off the market.”

    I think he has a girlfriend on Glee, but I can’t find anything mentioning him having one in real life.

  5. I can only speak for myself.

    I love geeks because… I am a geek myself. Simple as that.

    Now, I do think my husband can be classified as a geek, but he’s not one of those tech/science geeks. In fact, I am the one who helps him with the Internet and computer problems, and I am the one who is into SF and fantasy. Still, there’s a lot of geekiness in him.

  6. Mira,

    “I love geeks because… I am a geek myself. Simple as that.”

    Lol. Indeed, geeky women seem to love their male counterparts.

    Now, I do think my husband can be classified as a geek, but he’s not one of those tech/science geeks.”

    What sort of geek is he?

  7. He’s a bookworm geek.

    They are similar to tech geeks, only less (computer) handy or successful. But really passionate and the other good things you mentioned.

  8. Also,

    Lol. Indeed, geeky women seem to love their male counterparts.

    This might be true, but I must note there are many geeky women who don’t understand geeky guys are the best for us. Just like some geeky men go after generic hot-girls who consider themselves way out of geeks’ league, many geeky women fall for generic macho guys. It’s really, really sad to watch it happen.

  9. Mira, oh okay. I like bookworms too. They’re cute. 🙂

    “This might be true, but I must note there are many geeky women who don’t understand geeky guys are the best for us.”

    Ah yes, quite true. Many geeky women d0 fall for the typical jock/popular guy when younger. When they are older and more experienced, they begin to realize that geeky guys are just as great, if not better than those other guys.

  10. I love geeks because they’re passionate and so real. Always were. Those macho types are so obsolete and yucky. What real woman/girl wanted such types?. I surmise they’re (women) paying dearly now for this failure!

  11. foosrock,

    “I love geeks because they’re passionate and so real.”

    Hear, hear!

    “Those macho types are so obsolete and yucky.”

    I was never really into the macho types. I can see the appeal, but they’re simply not that attractive to me.

Leave a Reply

