Jay-Z Is Not Ugly and the Power of Personality

jay-z-smiling

Personality really does matter when it comes to attractiveness.

During a discussion about hip-hop celebrities, a long-time friend commented about rapper and entrepreneur Jay-Z, “You know, he’s not really that ugly; he seems like a fun person.” I agreed and this comment got me thinking. Jay-Z is a perfect example of how personality can become more important than physical beauty in judgments of attractiveness.

So what is so remarkable about Jay-Z’s personality? For one, Jay-Z has confidence in himself. Not arrogance, but confidence. People like confident people and they like to be around confident people. A confident person is sure of himself, no matter how he looks, which has the ironic effect of making him more appealing.

Another outstanding trait of Jay-Z’s is creativity. The creative person challenges themselves and others to think of the world to think in new, original ways. Others can’t wait to see what the creative person will think or do next; they are allured by their intelligence of thought and expression.

Who doesn’t love a fun person? Jay-Z appears to be a person who is fun to be around. Others get the sense that life will never be dull when he’s around. It’s hard to not be attracted to someone who brings color, laughter, and entertainment with him wherever he goes.

Related to his creativity, Jay-Z is unique. Unique people draw others toward them — people can’t help but like them. People know that the unique person has characteristics that can’t be easily found elsewhere, and does what other people never even think of.

Despite not being the most conventionally handsome man, Jay-Z has personality. He is distinctive — his personality takes on a life of its own. And when your personality is that big, you don’t need to be a “10” on the scale of physical beauty.

Disclaimer: Certainly, some people do think  Jay-Z is ugly. Possibly, many people. But this post is not about those people.

18 thoughts on “Jay-Z Is Not Ugly and the Power of Personality

  1. For some reason, I missed this post. And it’s one of your best.

    Well, I can’t say I find Jay-Z attractive (he looks cute with glasses, though), but I do agree: people who look unique are more interesting – physically – because they don’t seem as generic as those “perfect” people.

    Plus, personality DOES matter more. I am not saying most of women would take an ugly guy over a sexy one, but sure an intelligent, funny and creative average looking guy is sexier than a shallow “hot” guy.

    And yes, conventionally sexy men can also be intelligent, funny and creative, but guess what?- In my experience, most of them aren’t. It’s not that they are stupid, it’s that they don’t try hard enough, because they think their physical appearance is all that matters. I guess the same- or even worse- is with women, but here’s the catch: men don’t seem to care. I mean, they do care, but there seem to be more women who’d take a guy with a great personality + average appearance. Men often don’t do that.

    But there are still many who do, so they rock. 😀

    As for the Jay-Z himself, I don’t know much about his work or personality to judge. I don’t think he’s ugly, but I don’t find him particularly hot either. I guess physically, he’s like most people: average looking.

  2. Mira, seriously — this is one of my favorite posts, and no one commented? I was trying to figure out where I went wrong. Maybe people just thought “No, he’s still ugly”. 🙂

    I like Jay-Z. I don’t think he’s ugly and he has a unique look, although I understand he’s not conventionally handsome (but I agree he does look cute with glasses!). But his personality is the major draw.

    “an intelligent, funny and creative average looking guy is sexier than a shallow “hot” guy.”

    Yes. Some guys I’ve dated were not the best looking but they were so fun, interesting, and great to be with.

    “And yes, conventionally sexy men can also be intelligent, funny and creative, but guess what?- In my experience, most of them aren’t.”

    Beautiful Man Syndrome? Perhaps I should link those posts. 🙂

    “there seem to be more women who’d take a guy with a great personality + average appearance. Men often don’t do that.”

    I know. And it’s ashame, really. Personality matters just as much for women, IMO.

  3. This is a good post, but I can think of other topics I like better.
    For women, this is definitely true, personality trumps physicality. But for men, no. Physicality always trumps personality – too bad for me …

  4. Hi Sherry,

    “This is a good post, but I can think of other topics I like better.”

    Like what? I’m open to suggestions. You can send them to me here, or via email if you’d like.

    I don’t think for women (or men) the physical always trumps personality. It depends. For me, the physical is quite important, but a unique personality gets my interest as well.

  5. Average looking. Ain’t he like a unrepentant drug dealing misogynist and as materialistic as his wife?

    Plus did he not shot somebody?

    Sorry I can’t deal with the drug dealing part. I’ve seen that destroy to many lives.

  6. Nkosazana,

    “Average looking.”

    That makes two who thinks he’s average-looking.

    “Ain’t he like a unrepentant drug dealing misogynist”

    Aren’t about half of all rappers?

    Lol. Just (half-)joking. 😉

    I believe he used to deal drugs a bit when he was younger, but I don’t know about now. I don’t think he hates women, period, but he has said/done some ahem, interesting things to specific women. I don’t know about the shooting thing — I don’t keep up with celebrities that much. I’d say most celebrities are more or less materialistic, nothing new there.

    “Sorry I can’t deal with the drug dealing part.”

    But you can deal with the (alleged) shooting and misogyny parts?

    Ha. 🙂

  7. I was thinking about topics that you have already written on. Like black women “othering” themselves, the PUA column, and the ones where you have people take the quizzes.

    For future topics, how about cutting edge research on insomnia, or how to soothe yourself when you are feeling down.

  8. I think he’s average looking as well, I wouldn’t say ugly. I’ve seen him in interviews and he does have a great personality. His laugh is hilarious, it’s high and not something you’d expect from Jay-Z.

  9. Sherry,

    “I was thinking about topics that you have already written on. Like black women “othering” themselves, the PUA column, and the ones where you have people take the quizzes.”

    Oh, okay. Well, there are more where those came from. But I like to have a diverse (yet focused) set of topics.

    I’ve filed away your suggestions for future use. 🙂

    Nkosazana,

    Funny that he mentioned the shooting in his “Decoded” book. I have a picture of him at a book signing for “Decoded”, so you’d think I’d know that, but I haven’t read the book. I’ve always been planning to…

    In any case, yeah, I was thinking you meant a shooting when he was an adult. Children do dumb things, and when you mix that with a neighborhood infested with violent crime, well, there you go.

    wanderlust,

    So I guess the consensus so far is that he is average.

    I like his laugh too. I think he has a great smile. Don’t shoot me (ha), but I actually like him a bit. Not in any special way, but I think he has an endearing personality. I know some will mention the negative things he’s done, and I agree that those should be noted, but I like him all the same.

  10. WTF! WHOEVA wrote this listen: U R CRAZY N DIS IS SHIT!! Jay-z as UGLY as hell so idk wat u mean by sayin “he’s not dat ugly” do u even knw dat is! I luv Beyonce,I respect her,N i support her but MARRING JAY-Z of ALL people?! Big ass NO! She deserve bettr wat was she f*ckin thinkin! Damn dat man UGLY he shud’ve married dat ‘UGLY MISSY ELLIOT’ dan it wud b understandable 4 people 2 say “They so cute 2gethr” coz it’s yucky-kinda ugly rappers,put em 2gethr=daaaaat couple! Lol

  11. “Beyonce fan”, you seem to have missed the point of the post.

    The post is about how personality figures into a person’s attractiveness. Plenty of people who are not conventionally good-looking manage to be seen as attractive. Plus attractiveness is subjective; I don’t find Jay-Z horrendously ugly, as you do, nor do I find Beyonce extremely beautiful.

    (I also would ask you get an actual username and write in correct English, but I have a feeling I won’t be seeing you around here after this)

  12. Women are always pushing the personality thing. Truth of the matter is Jay z is not just ugly, he is quite frankly hideous looking with an ugly personality to match. He is vain, arrogant, self absorbed and has no qualms about f’ing people over to get what he wants. Creative? Please. Intelligent? He speaks like what he is, a drug dealer. So, no. I understand that personality is definitely factors in how people may be deemed attractive, but at the end of the day women, just like men, are visual creatures. We are hard wired to find attractive men as better mates. When and where this phenomenon of exceptionally beautiful women marrying downright atrocious looking men because of their ‘personalities’ became the norm is beyond me. You can’t screw personality, and quite frankly I’ll take a shallow attractive man than an ugly guy with a ‘great personality’ (which is entirely subjective).

  13. Zahra,

    “Women are always pushing the personality thing.”

    I guess you haven’t read many posts here. I’m far from being a part of this group. Farrr.

    “Creative? Please. Intelligent? He speaks like what he is, a drug dealer.”

    …If you think that he deals drugs then I’ve got a beach house I can sell you in Idaho. 😉

    He is creative and intelligent. His lyrics contain all sorts of wordplay and he managed to amass a fortune, coming from an impoverished and gang-ridden background. You don’t have to call him a role model, but even the devil deserves his due.

    I agree that women are visual –I wrote a post on this– but personality does factor in and I daresay lasting relationships are not built on how hot you think a guy is.

  14. I love this post. Honestly he’s a beautiful person inside and out. I can see why Beyonce married him. He may not be the most attractive person, but his personality stands out a lot. He’s an AMAZING father to baby blue, not having a father in his life, he wants the best for his kids. He’s smart, a good business man, and a really good husband. Honestly, if I was Beyonce I would have married him too. He’s a Genuine man with class, but with a rough past.

Leave a Reply

