Daniel Henney

daniel-henney

Daniel Henney (1979-) is an American model turned actor of Korean and British descent. He is best known as Agent Zero in the 2009 film X-Men Origins: Wolverine and Dr. David Lee on the TV series, Three Rivers.

Daniel is a Michigan native, growing up in the small town of Carson City, which he describes as “a very naïve place of 1,100 people where all the kids ever thought about was hunting and fishing.” Thanks to his height of 6 foot 2 inches (1.83 meters), he was a basketball star in high school and dreamed of playing professionally. Despite being of mixed heritage, with a Korean-American mother and white American father, he says he always just thought of himself as a white guy. But kids in his neighborhood thought differently — he was teased about his heritage and got into fights with other children often. But he says the tough times grew his strength and character.

daniel-henneyDaniel’s success in basketball gained him several scholarships to attend college. He settled at the University of Illinois at Chicago. As a student, he was scouted by an agent and changed career course to pursue modeling. He traveled the world as a model, and began acting classes in New York where he starred in a few plays, including an off-broadway production of the classic Death of a Salesman.

Daniel found his greatest success in Korea, starring in commercials and advertisements, then landing a role the short-lived South Korean drama, My Name is Kim Sam Soon. The part — as well as his looks– gained him popularity in Korea, and Daniel went on to star in other Korean television shows and movies.

Daniel gained a wider audience in the U.S. starring as Agent Zero in the fourth part of the X-Men Series, X-Men Origins: Wolverine. He later starred on the former medical drama Three Rivers as Dr. David Lee, a heartthrob surgery resident who finds himself involved with many women.

Back in South Korea, Daniel works as part of the cast on the action-drama TV show, The Fugitive: Plan B. He plays Kai, a powerful businessman who uses his wealth and connections to save the woman he loves. Korean entertainer Bi-Rain also stars in the series.

Daniel makes his home in two places: Seoul, South Korea, his mother’s home country, and Los Angeles, California.

daniel-henney daniel-henney daniel-henney

23 thoughts on “Daniel Henney

  1. Despite being of mixed heritage, with a Korean-American mother and white American father, he says he always just thought of himself as a white guy.

    Interesting. I wouldn’t know he was mixed-race unless he told me, since he would fit right in with the hot Korean guys I went to school with. 🙂

  2. Jasmin,

    I can tell he is mixed. Depending on the angle, he looks very much like how I picture his father looked when he was younger (those are his parents in the picture). He basically has his father’s bone structure (jaw, nose) with his mother’s eyes and coloring.

    Going to school with someone that hot would be dangerous. 🙂

  3. Yes I think he looks mixed and my bajingo is tingling (a good tell).

    And I usually don’t like Asian men so 🙂

  4. Nkosazana,

    For a second I thought “What’s a bajingo?” 😀

    “And I usually don’t like Asian men so”

    But do you like mixed race men? 😉

  5. Yes, coloured men are fine.

    They tend to get their muscle build and height from their black or white parent 🙂

  6. TBH, I can never tell when someone’s mixed. If you gave me a list to choose from, I would inevitably pick someone like James Kyson Lee over Daniel Henney.

  7. Jasmin,

    Ha, I’m still trying to see what you see when you say that James Kyson Lee looks mixed. He looks like the father of one of my Korean classmates from high school. 🙂

  8. LOL, my friends say I have a weird talent for figuring out what animal people look like and/or what celebrity. 🙂

  9. You really do have a talent for that. That Drake/Sam the Eagle comparison was great. Perfect.

    Now, what/who does Daniel Henney look like?

  10. ^^^I admit, I can’t take credit for Drake/Sam the Eagle–I read that on a tv website. Daniel Henney is tricky…let me think about it.

    **Most people look like dogs or rodent-like animals. 🙂

  11. Jasmin, I still give you credit for introducing me to it. 🙂

    “Most people look like dogs or rodent-like animals.”

    Some people say I look like a puppy. Which is just weird.

  12. Jasmin,

    “Zek says I look like a baby seal. (I say he looks like a lamb.)”

    Kind of! 🙂

    Hmmm, maybe Daniel Henney looks like a Ken doll. But that’s obvious.

  13. ^^^From some angles, Daniel Henney looks like John Cho, but the biggest differences are the head shape and Cho’s smaller, down-turned mouth.

  14. Ani,

    I’m going to have to see Seducing Mr. Perfect. I’ve never seen Daniel in anything Korean-produced, oddly enough.

Leave a Reply

