Curb Your Negativity

negative-womanI am a positive person. Idealism is one of my hallmarks — A Lofty Existence. But I must carry a sign that says “In Dire Need of Pessimism” because I  attract the most negative characters; people whose regular outlook is one of defeat and despair. And these people are all too eager to spread their doom-and-gloom attitude to me. They think they are helping — clearly I need to be more realistic and less optimistic. A false dichotomy. So, instead of replying to each of their messages individually, I’ve decided to offer a quick reminder for all those who breed negativity and feel it is their duty to spread the “word” to others:

You’re not providing perspective

A phrase overused by the negative person is “providing perspective”. When asked why they feel the need to say that which they do, most responses lead back to “providing perspective”. It never occurs to the negative person that others may have considered their point of view and figured out a solution or don’t find it to be a problem.

Actually, you need some perspective

Despite their claims, those who wallow in negativity are the ones lacking in perspective. The intense focus on negative outcomes prevents them from seeing the aspects of situations that more positive people do. Instead they place the negative outlook as the most important or only aspect, completely out of context.

You could save that energy for something else — like improving your miserable situation

With all the time spent spreading their attitude to others, negative people seem to forget that they have bigger issues to deal with, like their very sad life. The negative person asks “What will you do about this?” when it would be better to ask “What will I do about this?” Except, since they are lacking in perspective, they never realize that their time could be put to better use

Negativity not only hinders your own joy and progress, but trying to force others to adopt your negative point of view will only add to your own unhappiness when you’re left alone to wallow in your sorrow. So next time you’re thinking of “providing perspective”, remember this and curb your negativity.

See also:

3 thoughts on “Curb Your Negativity

  1. Lol I am a positive person in real life as well, people say I alway smile and why shouldn’t I? life is good.

    I seem to let out my negativity on the web though.

  2. When Alee talks about when she attracts negative characters… that’s all rolled up into me 😦 I’m the ball of negativity that Alee tries to absorb…

    But really though, even if I have one or more really bad things happening to me in the day, I can usually get my head out of it. 3 significant bad things… idk. 4… fuck off.

  3. Nkosazana,

    “I am a positive person in real life as well, people say I alway smile and why shouldn’t I? life is good.”

    Yay, more positive people. I need more of you all in my life. 🙂

    “I seem to let out my negativity on the web though.”

    Really? I haven’t noticed that at all. At least, you respond to negative characters with grace.

    AJ,

    “When Alee talks about when she attracts negative characters… that’s all rolled up into me 😦 I’m the ball of negativity that Alee tries to absorb…”

    Oh no, not you AJ. I don’t think you’re negative. On a positive to negative scale, I’d put you at neutral. 🙂

    “…if I have one or more really bad things happening to me in the day, I can usually get my head out of it. 3 significant bad things… idk. 4… fuck off.”

    LOL. I’ve never seen you in the last mode. Maybe I haven’t been around when you’ve had 4 negative events in your life.

Leave a Reply

