SoKo – I’ll Kill Her

My Comments:

SoKo is a French singer. She hasn’t released an official album yet, but “I’ll Kill Her” is her greatest single to date. This is an acoustic version of the song, which I think is better than the actual, even if she’s not the best singer.

This song describes the thought process of a girl who has been cheated on by a guy she cares about too much. Her passion is tangible.

The lyrics are priceless. Cheating men: take notice.

Lyrics:

So, of course, you were supposed to call me tonight
You were supposed to call me tonight
We would have gone to the cinema
And after, to the restaurant, the one you like in your street

We’d have slept together
Had a nice breakfast together
And a walk in the park together
How beautiful and then

You would have said “I love you”
In the cutest place on earth
Where some butterflies are dancing with the fairies

I would have waited like a week or two
But you never tried to reach me
No, you never called me back

You were dating that bleached blonde girl
And if I find her, I swear, I swear

I’ll kill her, I’ll kill her
She stole my future, she broke my dream
I’ll kill her, I’ll kill her
She stole my future when she took you away

I would have met your friends
We would have had a drink or two
They would have liked me cause
Sometimes I’m funny
I would have met your dad
I would have met your mum
She’d have said, “Please, can you make some beautiful babies?”
So we would have had a boy called Tom, and a girl called Susan
Born in Japan

I thought it was a love story
But you don’t want to get involved
I thought it was a love story
But you’re not ready for that

Me neither. I’ll kill her
She stole my future, she broke my dream
I’ll kill her, I’ll kill her
She stole my future when she took you away

She’s a bitch you know, all she’s got is blondeness
Not even tenderness, yeah she’s clever-less
She’ll dump your ass for a model called Brendan
He will pay for a beautiful surgery, because he’s full of money

I would have waited like a week or two
But you never tried to reach me, no, no
You never called me back

You were dating that bleached blonde girl
And if I find her, I swear, I swear

I’ll kill her, I’ll kill her
She stole my future, she broke my dream
I’ll kill her, I’ll kill her
She stole my future when she took you away

I’ll kill her, I’ll kill her
She stole my future, she broke my dream
I’ll kill her, I’ll kill her
She stole my future when she took you away

(Man I told you… you know, if I find her, I really… I’ll kill her, for real.
I’ll just find something, anything… a gun if I can. Anything.
And I’m strong enough, so I’ll do it. I’ll kill her.)
6 thoughts on “SoKo – I’ll Kill Her

  1. Ah. Some accents are so cute and some not so (mine is not so). Could barely hear what she said in some parts though 🙂

  2. Nkosazana, I bet your accent is cute. I don’t know any women from South Africa offline, but I did know a guy in college. His accent was charming.

    I hope to do some audio posts in the future, so all non-Americans (or non-New Englanders) can judge my accent then. 😉

    “Could barely hear what she said in some parts though”

    I can understand her, but I think this is a case when the lyrics come very much in handy. 🙂

  3. Do you know what province he was from?

    Heh we are such a big country and everyone seems to have their own accents. I guess that comes from being a country with 11 different official languages 🙂

    You can hear a pretty strong black african accent when I speak English. I blame that underfunded crap school that I went to. I had to take beginners English classes at the university to make up for that before I transfered to Sweden.

    That is why my English is so bad. I’m pretty darn bad at languages as well, even if I do speak three of them, Four if you count my barley serviceable Afrikaans that mom taught me lol..

    I make up for my crappy language skills in other areas though 🙂

    Ah went on a bit long and off topic sorry.

  4. Nkosazana,

    “Do you know what province he was from?”

    No, sorry. I can check later though — we’re Facebook friends; he was interested in me in college and friended me there. He’s cute and his accent made him sound smart (and he was). 🙂

    “Ah went on a bit long and off topic sorry.”

    Not a problem at all. Off-topic discussions are often interesting.

  5. Ah, I tend to find that people think my accent makes me sound stupid rather than smart, a lot of black people from other countries than in Africa seem to think that as well. Some racial stuff that people seems to associate black African accents with stupidity. Well Madiba pulls it off quite nicely though.

Leave a Reply

