Lenny Kravitz – It Ain’t Over ‘Til It’s Over

My Comments:

Lenny Kravitz is an eclectic American musician whose genre is hard to define, but could best be defined as rock. “It Ain’t Over ’til It’s Over” is the second single from his 1991 album Mama Said.

This is one of my favorite Lenny songs, and one of his as well. He says it has a classic vibe and I agree. It has held up throughout the ages.

Lyrics:

Here we are, still together
We are one…
So much time wasted
Playing games with love

So many tears I’ve cried
So much pain inside
But baby it ain’t over ’til it’s over
So many years we’ve tried
To keep our love alive
But baby it ain’t over ’til it’s over

How many times
Did we give up
But we always worked things out
And all my doubts and fears
Kept me wondering, yeahhh
If I’d always, always be in love

So many tears I’ve cried
So much pain inside
But baby it ain’t over ’til it’s over

So many years we’ve tried
And kept our love alive
‘Cause baby it ain’t over ’til it’s over

So many tears I’ve cried
So much pain inside
Baby it ain’t over ’til it’s over

So many years we’ve tried
And kept our love alive
‘Cause baby it ain’t over ’til it’s over

So many tears I’ve cried
So much pain inside
Baby it ain’t over ’til it’s over

So many years we’ve tried
to kept our love alive
‘Cause baby it ain’t over ’til it’s over (over, over)

So many tears I’ve cried
So much pain inside
Baby it ain’t over ’til it’s over

So many years we’ve tried
And kept our love alive
‘Cause baby it ain’t over ’til it’s over (over, over, over)

So many tears I’ve cried
So much pain inside
Baby it ain’t over ’til it’s over

30 thoughts on “Lenny Kravitz – It Ain’t Over ‘Til It’s Over

  1. I like Lenny. He’s not one of my favourite musicians but you could say I’m a (casual) fan.

    I also… Used to have a crush on him. A HUGE crush on him. Sure, he’s short, but I used to find him very attractive.

    Actually, I felt so bad because I didn’t care about his music as much as I cared about him.

    There, I said it. 😀

  2. Jasmin,

    I first heard this song late in the 90s. I was thinking it was a new song, but it wasn’t. I was like “Wow, where was I when this first came out?”

    Mira,

    “I also… Used to have a crush on him. A HUGE crush on him. Sure, he’s short, but I used to find him very attractive.”

    I had no idea he was short… Well, he’s not that short. But he’s the same height as me, so I guess I’d consider that short.

    But ewww, you used to have a crush on him? Lenny? Lenny? 😀

    “Actually, I felt so bad because I didn’t care about his music as much as I cared about him.

    There, I said it.”

    Lol. I never feel bad if I like a celebrity’s appearance more than I like their work. 🙂

  3. To be honest, all I care is that it’s longish. 😀

    But wait… Why was so surprising to learn I had a crush on him? It’s not like he’s ugly.

  4. Mira, because he didn’t seem like the type to have a huge crush on. He is a little off-beat and not conventionally “sexy” in terms of personality.

  5. Well, I was in my late teens. I am sorry to say I didn’t care about his personality. But I agree, def not a guy to have a huge crush on. Weird fashion sense, too (not in a good way).

    Still, I think he’s beautiful, in lack of a better word.

  6. If he still looked like this, I would totally understand.

    His daughter Zoe is just gorgeous though. And unique personality and style like her parents.

  7. Alee,

    Z loves Zoe too. I saw a bad picture of her once (I think the lighting was just off), and I can’t get it out of my head, so I’m biased. 🙂

  8. Mira,

    “I think Zoe is gorgeous. But since both of her parents are, it’s not a surprise, right?”

    Actually it might be. I can’t even count the number of times I’ve seen two gorgeous people and the child was a bit unfortunate looking. A lot of times good-looking people are attractive in unique ways, so when their looks are added to someone else’s, the result might not be as attractive. Other times features that weren’t expressed in the parents come out in the child.

    In any case, I think Lenny and Lisa are both just okay/somewhat attractive, but not gorgeous.

  9. Actually it might be. I can’t even count the number of times I’ve seen two gorgeous people and the child was a bit unfortunate looking.

    I guess you’re right. The most attractive people are usually the unique looking ones, and the combination might not look attractive in a child. Or maybe the child turns out looking like a less attractive grandmother or something.

    In any case, I think Lenny and Lisa are both just okay/somewhat attractive, but not gorgeous.

    I disagree! I find Lenny gorgeous, well, particularly back in the long hair days. He’s not one of the hottest guys on the planet, that’s for sure, but I do think he’s attractive.

    As for Lisa… There’s just something about her. I’m not the best person to judge female beauty, but I think I’d be very attracted to her if I were a guy. (Her and Emma Thompson, lol)

  10. Lenny’s hair did help him out in the looks department. But now that he cut it, he doesn’t look as good.

    Emma Thompson? Hmmm…

  11. He made this song for Lisa when he cheated on her with someone else. He made this song for her so she wouldn’t leave him. I would’ve left too but I do adore the song even still.

  12. Cheri, really? I didn’t know that… well I knew the song was likely inspired by Lisa but not that he’d cheated on her. Good to know.

    And welcome to the blog — nice to see you here. 🙂

  13. Thanks for the welcome. Yup he cheated but he’s a cutie though. Ever notice that its the cute ones that stray? Not that I want to be with someone butt ugly but he won’t be a Lennie Kravitz or Hugh Jackman. Don’t know that I trust the cute ones but I bet they are a lot of fun:)

  14. Cheri,

    “Ever notice that its the cute ones that stray?”

    Many cute guys have the idea that they are just too good-looking to be tied to just one woman. I’ve heard them say that, basically the equivalent of “Why be stingy — why not share the wealth?” 🙄

  15. Cheri,

    “Sometimes it sucks to be a single woman!”

    Other times it is so awesome — less drama. 😉

  16. Oh yes, the cute/attractive ones are the worst, in my opinion. They’re sure nice to look at, but you don’t want to date one (unless he’s unaware of how cute he is). Lenny definitely fits the profile.

    Emma Thompson? Hmmm…

    Why, she’s not your type?

  17. Yeah I think this is probably his best original song, but to me it almost sounds like a cover of some generic 70s soul song, but just a really good one.

    I mostly don’t want to give Lenny Kravitz credit for doing ANYTHING in his life… because he does so many covers, and makes tons of money off that. To me that’s like musical intellectual theft.

    You know how most bands/artists start off doing cover songs, to get that initial recognition… but then they’re expected to actually produce their own music and give up covers, for the most part. But somehow Lenny Kravitz has managed to be frozen in “cover song” mode like a beginner rocker, but he’s managed to do this pretty successfully.

    So if he has to do that many covers, as his main singles he’s put out… I question how much of his own creativity he actually has.

  18. Mira,

    “she’s not your type?”

    No, not really. She looks like she could be the dean of a college. 🙂 But she’s okay.

    AJ,

    “to me it almost sounds like a cover of some generic 70s soul song, but just a really good one.”

    Well, many musicians’ songs sound like their main inspirations’. Sometimes I can listen to an artist and tell right from the beginning who their main influences were. It can be hard to shake the music you’re used to and it comes out in your own style. Lenny had a lot of 70s soul inspiration. But perhaps he does rely to much on his influences… you’re not the first to say he sounds like someone else.

    But Lenny does a lot of original music and writes most/all of his songs, as well as writing and producing for other people. So I’d say he’s pretty creative. And this song is not a cover. 🙂

  19. I can see the gosling, but I don’t consider that to be a bad thing. Remember my admiration for people who “look like creatures, and not humans”? I do tend to like people that remind me of animals. For example, I think Cillian Murphy looks like a piglet.

Leave a Reply

