Michael McDonald – I Keep Forgettin’

My Comments:

Before there was Jon B. and Robin Thicke there was Michael McDonald.

Michael McDonald is an American “blue-eyed soul” singer most popular in the ’80s. He is known for his distinctive voice and numerous guest appearances. “I Keep Forgettin’ ” is his 1982 hit duet with his sister Maureen.

I love Michael’s voice and this song has the perfect production for it. This is the perfect “broken up, but can’t let you go” song. If it sounds familiar, it’s because it’s been sampled on a few later songs.

Lyrics:

I keep forgettin’ we’re not in love anymore
I keep forgettin’ things will never be the same again
I keep forgettin’ how you made that so clear
I keep forgettin’

Every time you’re near
Every time I see your smile
Hear your “hello”
Saying you can only stay a while

Hey, I know that it’s hard for you
To say the things we both know are true
But tell me how come (I)

I keep forgettin’ we’re not in love anymore
I keep forgettin’ things will never be the same again
I keep forgettin’ how you made that so clear
I keep forgettin’

Every time I hear
How you never want to live a lie
How it’s gone too far
And you don’t have to tell me why

Why you’re gone and why the game is through
If this is what’s real, if this is what’s true
Tell me how come (I)

I keep forgettin’ we’re not in love anymore
I keep forgettin’ things will never be the same again
I keep forgettin’ how you made that so clear
I keep forgettin’

Don’t say that, don’t say that, don’t say that
I know you’re not mine anymore, anyway, anytime
But tell me how come (I)

I keep forgettin’ we’re not in love anymore
I keep forgettin’ things will never be the same again
I keep forgettin’ how you made that so clear
I keep forgettin’, baby

I keep forgettin’ we’re not in love anymore
I keep forgettin’ things will never be the same again
I keep forgettin’ how you made that so clear
I keep forgettin’

7 thoughts on “Michael McDonald – I Keep Forgettin’

  1. Sherry, same. He’s definitely unique and memorable.

    I’ve heard the Doobie Brothers have a new album but I haven’t heard it yet. It would be interesting to see how they’ve evolved over time, as they always have.

  2. His duet with Patti LaBelle is still among my favorite songs. I used to play and sing it – loudly and to the chagrin of my older brother – in my bedroom all the time. Good times.

    I haven’t heard this song in a long time! Thanks for posting, Alee.

  3. Daphne, I love “On My Own” too. Lol at you singing it loudly in your bedroom. I can only imagine. 🙂

  4. I use to be so crazy about him and the Doobie brothers!. Then Nirvana came on the scene and I forgot him/them faster than a NY minute…..not really, but almost. So hot, sexy voice, memmmmmmmmmoriessssssssssss……….

  5. I own all of his albums, all of them. I’m a bit ol’ skool when it comes to music. Not that I don’t try new things, I do but when I have a music love I stick with it through the good and the bad. I love Michael McDonald, not only because he can sing but he’s just so darn handsome. The silver fox thing just does something to me LOL.

  6. foosrock,

    “I use to be so crazy about him and the Doobie brothers!. Then Nirvana came on the scene and I forgot him/them faster than a NY minute…”

    There’s space for both him and Nirvana. Definitely. 😉

    Eugenia,

    “I own all of his albums, all of them.”

    Wow. I’m assuming you only mean the solo albums? If not, that’s a lot of albums.

    “I’m a bit ol’ skool when it comes to music.”

    Me too. I like 80s and 90s stuff especially.

    And I agree that he was handsome. I like his eye shape and color.

Leave a Reply

