Slash (featuring Myles Kennedy) – Back From Cali

My Comments:

Slash is an English-American rock guitarist and formerly part of the band Guns N’ Roses. “Back from Cali” is the third single from his debut solo album. Myles Kennedy is frontman of the American band Alter Bridge.

I’m so in love with this song — it is the first thing I hear when I wake up in the morning and the last thing I hear when I go to bed at night. And I’m not even from Cali.

Lyrics:

Woke up this morning all alone
I got a ringing in my head
I couldn’t take it anymore today
She left me here for dead
Oh, woah yeah yeah

And it should come as no surprise
I shoulda known it from the start
The lights are faded and I can’t deny
This place ain’t got no heart

Oh, you can’t hear me tonight
You can’t hear me tonight

You’ll have to carry me back from Cali
I’m tired and broken and I lost my way
You’ll have to carry me back to where I belong
You’ll have to carry me back from Cali
I don’t want money I don’t need no fame
You’ll have to carry me back to where I belong

I got to leave this angel city
But I can’t do it by myself
So if you please mama can you save me
Before I blow this life to hell

Ooooooohh
Mama, grab me by the feet and just drag me home

You’ll have to carry me back from Cali
I don’t care if you think I’m to blame
You’ll have to carry me back to where I belong
You’ll have to carry me back from Cali
The angel city where the devils play
You’ll have to carry me back to where I belong

Yeahhhh
You can’t hear me tonight
You can’t hear me tonight
You can’t hear me tonight
You can’t hear me tonight
I’ve lost my way I’m so alone
And all I want is to come home

24 thoughts on “Slash (featuring Myles Kennedy) – Back From Cali

  1. I just love his mothers ‘rocker’ look. I kinda picture Foosrock like that lol.

    And yes like everyone else I thought he was a white guy until someone told me otherwise.

  2. Nkosazana,

    “I just love his mothers ‘rocker’ look. I kinda picture Foosrock like that lol.”

    Ha. I guess she can confirm or deny…

    “And yes like everyone else I thought he was a white guy until someone told me otherwise.”

    Now that I know I can see it. But I didn’t guess at first. Plus, I couldn’t see his face all that well.

  3. Yes I see it now as well, but he doesn’t look black he looks mixed.

    I kinda though he was Italian or just a someone with a tan. But that hair! what a bush lol.

  4. When I first saw this post I thought to myself, this $#^^%? Every time any of G N R had something to say, they sounded such a-holes that I stopped listening to their music. But because Miss Alee is such a cool cat, I gave it a listen. It IS good.

  5. Sherry,

    “When I first saw this post I thought to myself, this $#^^%?”

    LOL.

    I’m not saying I co-sign anything of GnR’s, including the [perceived] messages in their songs. This is not even about GnR, though, but Slash and this song. The song is just amazing, IMO, so I advocate it’s… amazingness. I love the combination of Slash and Myles Kennedy.

  6. Ok, you know how much I love Slash. I like (almost everything) about that man (well, professionally). I won’t say anything about his physical appearance, though.

    Except for this:

    I guess I was the only one who guessed he was mixed right from the start? I think it’s because of cultural differences.

  7. Nkosazana,

    “I just love his mothers ‘rocker’ look. I kinda picture Foosrock like that lol.”

    “Ha. I guess she can confirm or deny…”

    I can definitely confirm, ladies. Rocker chick here, except my tatas are real!.
    After listening to the vid, man, my first impression: THEY RIPPED OFF Guns n Roses!. Nice lyrics though!. Oh, and isn’t Slash American or perhaps dual?.

    “I guess I was the only one who guessed he was mixed right from the start? I think it’s because of cultural differences”.

    So did I. By the way my son’s the same, except his hair is ginger and eyes hazel.

    Also too, think Guns n Roses played at being arshes. Axl Rose is actually rather deep and contemplative, but that’s not what sells, is it?!.

  8. Mira,

    “I won’t say anything about his physical appearance, though.”

    We (well, I) already know what you think about that. 😉

    “I guess I was the only one who guessed he was mixed right from the start? I think it’s because of cultural differences.”

    It might be. I can see he is mixed, now. But I guess I wasn’t looking too closely at his face/his hair and hat covered it/I wasn’t checking to see if he was.

  9. foosrock,

    “After listening to the vid, man, my first impression: THEY RIPPED OFF Guns n Roses!”

    Lol, yes. It’s very reminiscent of GnR, but why wouldn’t it be?

    “Oh, and isn’t Slash American or perhaps dual?”

    I always think of him as English, but I agree, he’d more properly be considered English-American. Especially since one of his parents is American (well, second generation American). I’ll change that.

    “Axl Rose is actually rather deep and contemplative, but that’s not what sells, is it?!”

    I think so too.

  10. Hi Nikisha *blows kisses*

    “You are the ish…Alee!!!”

    I know, I know. No need to remind me. 😉

    And what, you have a boyfriend?… So you’re cheating on me?!

    Anyway, that’s okay. Because I’m cheating on you too, with Cipriana.

    😀

  11. We (well, I) already know what you think about that. 😉

    Hey! It’s not my fault this man’s lower lip is perfect! Or his hair.

    It might be. I can see he is mixed, now. But I guess I wasn’t looking too closely at his face/his hair and hat covered it/I wasn’t checking to see if he was.

    I think it was the hair. I’ve never seen a hair like that before; and it sure resembled hair black people have (whatever meant “black” to me when I was 13). And I don’t know any Jewish people, so I didn’t know that Jews often have this kind of hair.

    But the biggest cultural difference, I think, was the fact I had no idea- up to a year ago, actually- that rock is considered “white” music. GNR was an American band. Black people live in America. Their sexy guitarist has a “black” hair. Problem solved. I was surprised, however, to learn he was half English.

    foosrock,
    “Axl Rose is actually rather deep and contemplative, but that’s not what sells, is it?!”

    I believe Axl is a genius. I mean, literally (based on IQ). But I still dislike him.

  12. Mira,

    “GNR was an American band. Black people live in America. Their sexy guitarist has a “black” hair. Problem solved.”

    Lol. Great problem-solving. 😉

    “I was surprised, however, to learn he was half English.”

    Why?

  13. Lol. Great problem-solving.

    I meant, that’s how I interpreted him. But since race is a not big deal in my culture, I never thought of it as important, Slash being mixed I mean. Though I must admit it did make him even more “cool”.

    “I was surprised, however, to learn he was half English.”
    Why?

    I don’t know. Because he’s an American? I didn’t know one of his parents wasn’t American. It has nothing to do with Slash per se. I was surprised to learn Flea was Australian.

  14. Mira,

    “I don’t know. Because he’s an American?”

    Lol. That should be a reason why it isn’t surprising. Nearly everyone in America ultimately derives their ancestry from somewhere else. 🙂

  15. Nearly everyone in America ultimately derives their ancestry from somewhere else.

    Alee, I was 13. I had no idea how the things go.

  16. Let’s try again:

    BTW, Slash is coming to Serbia! They announced a concert in Belgrade (in July).

    … And I can’t afford it.

  17. Oh, I can see it now. He does look really cute. Love that hair. 😉

    “Slash is coming to Serbia!”

    Yay!

    “… And I can’t afford it.”

    Oh.

  18. Who doesn’t like his hair? The only problem, circa 1992, was the fact nobody saw his face. The only thing we could see was that gorgeous lower lip.

    Oh.

    I’ll try to win it or something. They always give tickets in radio shows, so maybe I can get one (well, two).

Leave a Reply

