Adam Rodriguez

adam-rodriguez

Adam Rodríguez (1975-) is an American actor. He has appeared in several TV shows, films, commercials, and music videos, but is best known as Detective Eric Delko on the police drama CSI: Miami.

Adam is of Puerto Rican and Cuban descent and was born in New York City. As a child he loved baseball and aspired to become a professional baseball player. He was forced to change plans, however, when he injured his spinal cord in high school.

Although he was an excellent student, Adam had little desire to pursue an education after high school. He ended up at community college, where he explored various interests with no real plan. He took on odd jobs to pay for his schooling and housing — a bellman, construction worker, and finally a stockbroker, which he hoped to pursue as a career. But before he was to become licensed as a stockbroker, he decided to try acting, which he’d always had a liking for.

Adam took up acting classes and played in a couple of productions, with mild success. His lucky break came when his father was watching the 1996 Emmy Awards and recognized an old friend receiving an award. That friend was the producer of the hit series NYPD Blue. Adam’s father contacted his friend to congratulate him and their friendship began anew. One thing led to another and Adam ended up with a small role on NYPD Blue.

adam-rodriguez

As Eric Delko on CSI: Miami

From his role on NYPD Blue, Adam moved to the short-lived series Brooklyn South. The show appeared for one season, after which he took on roles in the WB series’ Felicity and Roswell. When Roswell ended in 2002 he landed his most notable role — Eric Delko on the spin-off of Crime Scene Investigation, Crime Scene Investigation (CSI): Miami. Adam, who was on CSI: Miami since it began, planned to leave the show in 2010. He decided against it when fans rallied for his return.

Adam has starred in a number of films. Most recently he played opposite Taraji P. Henson in 2009’s I Can Do Bad All by Myself, the U.S. in 2011.

He is friends with singer and actress Jennifer Lopez, who he met through mutual acquaintances. Jennifer personally asked him to appear in her 1999 music video for “If You Had My Love.” He later appeared in music videos by 50 Cent and Melanie Fiona.

He is single, but says he is “broody” and thinks about having children more than anything else. One of his only requirements is that a woman love music as much as he does — he loves all genres.

Adam lives in New York, Los Angeles, and a home he bought in Puerto Rico.

adam-rodriguez  adam-rodriguez  adam-rodriguez  adam-rodriguez

36 thoughts on “Adam Rodriguez

  1. “Hispanic white”?… no. He is definitely not thought of as white in the U.S.; he spoke in an interview about how he used to get stereotypical Latino roles. He’s more like what many people think of when they hear, “Hispanic/Latino” — mix of Native American/European/African, in varying degrees. People of Puerto Rican and Cuban descent, like him, have a significant amount of African ancestry.

  2. Ah ok, Because I recently saw a documentary about racism in Latin america and there were people looking like him, identifying themselves as white.

  3. I always say brotha and sistah to EVERYONE regardless of national origin. I welcome all good people into the fold!

  4. Oh, good sherry. I wish everyone was like you 🙂

    I did not mean to question you, I was just curious. I know one person from south america and that girl is a Chilean Indian. So I don’t know that much about them, can’t learn without asking questions, how stupid they might be 🙂

  5. Nkosazana,

    “I recently saw a documentary about racism in Latin america and there were people looking like him, identifying themselves as white.”

    Oh yes, I know all about that. But that only works in Latin America, not in the U.S. 😉

    Sherry,

    Oh, okay. It was still funny though. 🙂

  6. Adam is one of those guys who should be my type… But I am not sure I’m attracted to him. He’s good looking no doubt, but his jawline is too strong for my taste.

    But generally, me likes men with that phenotype.

    PS-He’d be seen as white in my culture. Both white and “Latino” (though the group is not really called as such… They’re usually referred to as “South American”, even though people know that places such as Mexico and Puerto Rico aren’t in South America).

    But generally, you don’t need to be Aryan/WASP to be seen as white here.

  7. Mira,

    “his jawline is too strong for my taste.”

    …His jaw is pretty strong. I think that’s what throws me off a bit too, but I think he would be very attractive if his jaw weren’t so prominent. He looks good in pictures where his jaw isn’t as noticeable, like the first and last ones on the bottom. And with shorter hair.

    “But generally, you don’t need to be Aryan/WASP to be seen as white here.”

    Well, that makes sense. Since few people there fit into that phenotype, anyway…

    This reminds me of something — even if you’re not following the NBA playoffs, you can discuss a certain player with me in the Clouds. 🙂

  8. He looks good in pictures where his jaw isn’t as noticeable, like the first and last ones on the bottom. And with shorter hair.

    I disagree. Longer hair suit him better, I think. (And it’s not just me and my preference for long haired men… I think it balances the jaw a bit).

    Well, that makes sense. Since few people there fit into that phenotype, anyway…

    Well, there aren’t any WASPs, here, really. Well, maybe a few, but really a few… About the same number as black people. Which is next to none. But we see ourselves as white here, and we are seen as white.

    Also, people like Adam are not seen any differently (when it comes to race) than people from Spain, Italy or Greece. Which is white.

  9. Mira,

    “I disagree. Longer hair suit him better, I think.”

    What? We disagree on something concerning a guy’s appearance… This might be the second time, since Johnny Depp. Maybe we just disagree when it comes to “darker” (non-black) men.

    (And it’s not just me and my preference for long haired men… I think it balances the jaw a bit).”

    Yes, it is. 🙂

    Kidding, but I don’t think it helps the jaw much. Except when he has really long hair; past his ears.

  10. I just have to chime in here because you’re confusing ethnicity with race. Think of Latino the same way you think of Irish, Italian, Jewish, etc because it is most certainly true most if not all will select Caucasian on the Census regardless of phenotype of smattering of melanin. South Asians (referred to as Indians, Sri Lankans, etc by those in the US) are categorized as white as well so DON”T GET IT TWISTED. There’s been this intentional confusion and misrepresentation and the joining of “Blacks & Latinos” in this country with an end game in mind. Just like non-AA blacks who’ve emigrated here post-Civil Rights, we are not the same, we have our own culture and other people need to stop glomming onto our contributions and sacrifices. That’s what we get for allowing AA black males to set the agenda so they could get access to non-black women. You should study the history of “whiteness” in this country in the past 100 years to see who was excluded initially being allowed into the larger fold and why. It’s the same thing with Latinos: an intra-racial hegemony fight for inclusion.

  11. Hi Faith, who is that comment directed towards? 🙂

    In case the comment was for me, I understand the difference between race and ethnicity. I also know the history of whiteness in this country, coming from a hometown with a large amount of Irish and Italian.

    But even if some Latinos classify themselves as white on the Census, they are not viewed as such under any [other] circumstances. Adam Rodriguez could see himself as white (which he doesn’t, AFAIK), but that won’t stop him from never getting “white” character roles or from being cast as the “Latin lover” or the immigrant. It won’t stop him from being viewed as distinctly non-white. Notice there are separate categories for white Hispanic and non-white Hispanic on the Census. It’s basically saying, “Okay, since you think you’re white, fine. But you’re not one of us.”

    Same goes for South Asians. Kal Penn could categorize himself as white, but that’s not going to change the fact that he is seen as Asian in the U.S., i.e. not white.

    Some have said that eventually, when the proportion of whites to other groups gets smaller, they will begin to include white Latinos as “regular white” in order to increase numbers. It’s possible, since it’s happened in the past; we’ll just have to see about that. But they aren’t, currently.

  12. Didn’t more than half of the Hispanics in your country classify themselves as white? And if they have the largest growing number in America.. Yeah I don’t see white people disappearing for quite some time. Still if they become the majority I don’t see why they just would care if wasps others did not see them as white..

    And I kinda have to agree with Mira, At first before thinking about it I thought that he was white, but if you mixed up your mixed up.. But then again I consider most Arabs and other “non traditional” groups to be white as well. Don’t got time to slice and dice whiteness.

    I’m not trying to steal grandparents/parents hard work, I don’t even live in US..

  13. Nkosazana,

    “Didn’t more than half of the Hispanics in your country classify themselves as white?”

    Yes. However, this doesn’t matter (outside of gov’t numbers, which matter in their own right) because the majority of them are not seen as white socially. Race, after all, is a social construct.

    A good many of the Latinos who classify themselves as white look something like George Lopez. And, technically, they are mostly of European ancestry (not by a large margin). But so are many of the black/white mixed people in the U.S. Doesn’t matter if no one sees them that way.

    “And if they have the largest growing number in America.. Yeah I don’t see white people disappearing for quite some time.”

    By “white” they’re/I’m referring to people of direct, mostly unmixed European ancestry. Regardless of how they classify themselves, Latinos have a separate culture from “regular whites”.

    “At first before thinking about it I thought that he was white, but if you mixed up your mixed up..”

    Adam Rodriguez is definitely mixed, not white.

  14. And, technically, they are mostly of European ancestry (not by a large margin)

    But hey, if they want to play the reverse one drop rule, it’s just as silly as the one drop rule to me, so why not. But whatever it’s as you say, race is not real.

    Everything seems so messed up and complicated In America lol.

    George lopez

    Yeah that is why I though that Adam was white. Plus he looks like he could be Southern European.

    Latinos have a separate culture from “regular whites”.

    I guess so. I always thought mostly that they had a Spanish influenced culture with some African stuff thrown in depending on where they came from..

  15. Nkosazana,

    “But hey, if they want to play the reverse one drop rule, it’s just as silly as the one drop rule to me, so why not.”

    That’s essentially what’s at play when some Latinos classify themselves as white. Studies show that most of South America lies around 50 percent European in ancestry; some around 60 percent, some around 40 percent. And the Caribbean, where Adam’s parents are from, is even less than that.

    “I always thought mostly that they had a Spanish influenced culture with some African stuff thrown in depending on where they came from..”

    It depends on the region/country. But in any case, it’s still quite different from the largely British/German-derived white American culture.

    But I’ll stop here, since this is getting off-topic. Anyone who would like to continue the discussion on Latinos and whiteness should comment in the Multiracial Movement and Anti-Black Racism or The Clouds.

  16. Ooooh, I started some stuff. Ladies, I have referred to others as brotha, sistah, etc. because it creates a sense of interconnectedness easily which I love. And people have teased me about it over the years – especially when they meet one of my honest to goodness siblings; shared DNA, same last name, family resemblance!

    ALEE: I’m glad you found it funny
    NKOSAZANA: Ask me all the questions ya want

  17. Alee,

    What? We disagree on something concerning a guy’s appearance… This might be the second time, since Johnny Depp.

    We also disagree on Josh Hartnett.
    Maybe we just disagree when it comes to “darker” (non-black) men.

    Maybe, but then again, I don’t really like lighter men, so…

    Kidding, but I don’t think it helps the jaw much. Except when he has really long hair; past his ears.

    Well, maybe it’s just me. I keep starring at hair so I forget about the jaw?

    Waaait, there are pictures of him with really long hair?

    Faith,

    As for ethnicity and race, and mixing the two terms, the way these words are used in the US treats them like synonyms. I used to find it quite confusing (especially when I read something like: what’s his ethnicity? He is Cuacasian. And I’m like, wtf?) But I think the different ways the words are used in America and Europe is due to historical reasons.

    After all, you can be English by ethnicity, but not American by ethnicity. So I understand that “ethnicity” in the European sense of the word does not really apply to the New World (save for the Native groups), but that still doesn’t explain the fact “race” and “ethnicity” are seen as synonyms.

    In any case, “Latino” or “Hispanic” doesn’t fit any of the terms. It’s not really a race, but it’s not an ethnicity either, is it?

  18. I think people like Adam Rodriguez, Adriana Lima, Wentworth Miller? 😉 are a good examples of the fact race is not biological, but cultural.

    How else could one same person be seen as belonging to different races? I understand Adam (Adriana, Wentworth?) doesn’t see himself as white, but I simply can’t see him as a non-white… I can understand it intellectually, but my culture makes me see them the way I see them (as whites).

  19. Sherry, it’s completely fine. Nothing wrong with debate, it just needs to be in the right areas.

    Mira,

    “We also disagree on Josh Hartnett.”

    He was the first disagreement after Johnny Depp.

    Oh, and you –or was that Jasmin?– don’t care for Adam Brody (not sure if you’d consider him darker). And we all know I worship at the altar of A-Bro.

    “Waaait, there are pictures of [Adam Rodriguez] with really long hair?”

    Yes, there are. I was trying to download them, since they need to be downloaded in order to post, but I haven’t been able to figure it out. I’ll try later and post them here if it works.

  20. He was the first disagreement.

    No, I’m pretty sure Johnny Depp was the first one.

    But then again, Josh Hartnett isn’t really dark (he’s almost as pale as I am), so I’m not sure if he qualifies…

    Oh, and you –or was that Jasmin?– don’t care for Adam Brody (not sure if he’d be considered darker or not).

    No, not in my book; he’s not “darker”. We don’t really disagree on Adam. He’s ok, it’s just… He’s so ordinary/plain looking. (Am I one of those people who need an “exotic” element on a guy in order to find him attractive? I don’t want to be that girl! But sadly, it looks I am).

    I was trying to download them, since they need to be downloaded in order to post, but I haven’t been able to figure it out. I’ll try later and post them here if it works.

    You don’t have to bother for me (if it’s just for me). I’ll try to find them myself.

  21. Mira,

    “No, I’m pretty sure Johnny Depp was the first one.”

    You didn’t catch my edit. Scroll up.

    I don’t know whether lighter-skinned guys with dark hair and eyes could be classified as “darker”, but we’ll just consider them as such since that’s what we’ve been doing all along.

    “We don’t really disagree on Adam. He’s ok, it’s just… He’s so ordinary/plain looking.”

    Oh, so it was you (and Jasmin).

    He has classic good looks, but I wouldn’t consider him ordinary; there is perfection in his face. I don’t need an “exotic” (what’s that? 😉 ) element.

    But I think it’s the beanies (and his voice) that are so irresistible. When I see him in those beanies my pupils dilate.

    “You don’t have to bother for me (if it’s just for me). I’ll try to find them myself.”

    It’s not just for you… but if you find them before I figure it out, please feel free to add them in the comments.

  22. I don’t know whether lighter-skinned guys with dark hair and eyes could be classified as “darker”, but we’ll just consider them as such since that’s what we’ve been doing all along.

    Hmmm… Good question. First thing that’s confusing is: what is considered dark or light skin?

    For example, I’d say Johnny Depp is a darker white (he goes in the “white, but not quite” category for me), but so is Adam Rodriguez.

    Josh Hartnett, on the other hand looks quite average in terms of phenotype: he has a light skin, but dark hair and eyes balance that. So he’s your average white (though many people believe he’s part Asian, because of his eyes).

    What I consider light: Cillian Murphy, Jude Law and guys of similar phenotype (though Jude is not particularly light skinned, I think). Not that Jude and Cillian have the same phenotype… Oh, I don’t know. It IS confusing.

    I don’t need an “exotic” (what’s that? 😉 ) element.

    Exotic element is something “unusual” (from your POV) about a guys appearance; something you’re not used to see in guys around you/in your culture.

    Generally, it’s a harmful practice to exoticize people, but if I want to be true to myself I must admit it does play a role for me. 😦

    It’s not just for you… but if you find them before I figure it out, please feel free to add them in the comments.

    I didn’t find any. 😦

  23. Mira,

    Yes, light-skinned and dark-skinned are highly subjective. But in terms of whites, I’d consider anyone without a noticeable tan to their skin to be lighter. So Cillian would qualify and so would Adam [Brody, that is. We need to get all of our Adams straight — Adam Rodriguez, Adam Brody, Adam Levine…]. Jude not so much, from what I can tell.

    I know what exotic means; that was a rhetorical question since “exotic” is subjective.

    Since you couldn’t find the pictures, I’ll see if I can add them later.

  24. Yes, light-skinned and dark-skinned are highly subjective. But in terms of whites, I’d consider anyone without a noticeable tan to their skin to be lighter.

    Well, I usually disregard tan. It’s not a real deal! (Though it’s not a fake deal either… But I guess I go after the non-tanned skin shade). That would qualify Josh Hartnett as light skinned, and Cillian Murphy as… Well, transparent.

    Maybe I should use pictures to illustrate my point?

    I know what exotic means; that was a rhetorical question since “exotic” is subjective.

    I know, I just wanted to explain what “exotic” means to me. I never thought about it before, but now that I think of it, I think I do consider a bit of “exotic” look to be attractive. Which is a shame, really. But it looks like I can’t help it.

  25. This is one of the photos I was talking about:

    Adam Rodriguez with long hair (braids)

    It’s less “glitzy” because it’s from a site affiliated with Adam himself, so they have more personal pictures. There was another, with his hair out, but it wasn’t too clear.

    Also,

    “Well, I usually disregard tan. It’s not a real deal! (Though it’s not a fake deal either… But I guess I go after the non-tanned skin shade).”

    Yes, I meant their color in winter and/or when they stay away from UV radiation.

  26. Wow! Adam Rodriguez does look good in that photo. The jaw is still there, but so is the hair (and hair usually wins :P) So, I like this pic!

    Yes, I meant their color in winter and/or when they stay away from UV radiation.

    Yes, I always assumed the “non-tanned” skin shade is what counts here, along with hair and eye colour.

    Well, I still say Josh Hartnett isn’t dark. He even has freckles (the type light skinned whites have). His hair isn’t even that dark. Only his eyes are dark (mmmm…. me likes!) and he has thick eyebrows. But that’s all, I think.



    Not transparent like Cillian, but not “dark” in any sense of the word.

  27. Mira,

    “Wow! Adam Rodriguez does look good in that photo.”

    He does look better. He looks good with really short or really long hair.

    “The jaw is still there”

    Lol. Yes, it is.

    Yes, the non-tanned skin shade is what counts.

  28. I just wanted to make sure certain things were clarified and I brought up certain realities that will have great impact on African-Americans in the US. Carry on…

  29. Faith, not a problem. I wasn’t implying Latinos and Blacks have any sort of special kinship because of Latinos’ African ancestry (I’m not really a “People of Color” kind of person). Just stating facts.

  30. I think Adam Rodriguez is sexy. Mira, I agree with your first feeling about Adam seeming ordinary, but that last photo you saw and liked, those are the older photos of Adam. I fell for him back in the day when he had a more sexy, rugged, exotic look. Loved his long hair, but now he prefers it short! I still think he is hot, but I do miss his long, sexy hair and more exotic look.

  31. Hi Jess,

    Maybe you should write to Adam and tell him that you like his hair longer. It worked when he was planning to leave CSI — a bunch of fans wrote saying they wanted him to stay and he did. 🙂

Leave a Reply

