Top Ten Most Underrated Men (2011)

Brad Pitt, George Clooney, Denzel Washington.

Overrated.

In the world of celebrity men, the same names are mentioned over and over again as ideals of masculine good looks. But what about the famous men who are rarely mentioned? Are they any competition for the reigning Most Gorgeous Men?

Yes, and more.

Here are my choices for the most underrated gorgeous celebrity men, for the 2011 year. As always, feel free to make suggestions.

noah-mills

1. Noah Mills is an American model. He is best known for his work with Dolce & Gabbana, Yves Saint Laurent, and Versace.

If you didn’t know him before, now you know.

alex-pettyfer

2. Alex Pettyfer is an English actor and model. He appeared in the 2011 film Beastly, a modern spin on the classic Beauty and the Beast. He has modeled for the Gap and Burberry.

Photos say it all.

adam-scott

3. Adam Scott is an Australian professional golfer. He won the PGA Tour Championship in 2006 and tied for second place at the Master’s Tournament in 2011.

Adam won About.com’s 2011 Reader’s Choice Awards for Sexiest Male Golfer. But it’s golf — how many people know about individual golfers? He is underrated by default.

matthew-gray-gubler

4. Matthew Gray Gubler is an American actor, former model, and sketch artist. He plays the genius and geek Dr. Spencer Reid on the TV show Criminals Minds. He is also a director — he directed and produced the Killers’ music video for “Don’t Shoot Me Santa”.

Matthew isn’t as underrated as others on this list — people are beginning to notice his particular brand of geek chic.

tyson-ritter

5. Tyson Ritter is an American musician and lead singer of the rock band The All-American Rejects, known for such songs as “Gives You Hell” and “Move Along”.

Tyson’s style is pretty unconventional to say the least, but underneath that he has classic good looks.

rajon-rondo

6. Rajon Rondo is an American professional basketball player, playing for the Boston Celtics. He was essential to the Celtics’ winning the 2008 NBA Championship.

Rajon Rondo exemplifies handsome, down-to-earth, and passionate.

luke-bryan

7. Luke Bryan is an American country singer, known for his singles “All My Friends Say” and “Someone Else Calling You Baby”.

The smile, the smile. How could you resist?

chad-connell

8. Chad Connell is a Canadian actor and should-be model. He has appeared in TV shows such as Degrassi.

If Chad moved from the small screen to the big screen, he might be better recognized.

alexander-popov

9. Alexander Popov is a Russian swimmer and Olympic Gold medalist. He’s set world records in freestyle swimming.

So underrated there are hardly any photos of him outside of the pool.

takeshi-kaneshiro

10. Takeshi Kaneshiro is a Taiwanese actor, model, and singer. He was Armani underwear’s first Asian spokesmodel.

Takeshi is not as underrated in many Asian countries.

Honorable Mention (in alphabetical order by first name): Austin Daye, Brandon Beemer, Jensen Ackles, John Isner, Lee Pace, Omri Casspi, Shaka Smart

Special thanks to Jasmin and vonnie for first exposure to a couple of these underrated men

See also:

55 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Underrated Men (2011)

  1. These men are definitely underrated, they are hot and talented. Curious to know which one is your fave Alee?

  2. Nikisha,

    “Curious to know which one is your fave Alee?”

    All of the above? 😀

    I seriously don’t know. I would take them all, if I had the choice. I have Noah Mills at number one, based on looks alone, however, it was a hard choice to make. I was going to just list them all unordered, since they all are pretty much number one, but I’m used to Top Tens.

    Based on face my choices are Noah Mills=Adam Scott=Tyson Ritter>Matthew Gray Gubler=Chad Connell. Based on personality and overall vibe my choices are Luke Bryan=Matthew Gray Gubler>Rajon Rondo.

    Best voice/accent — Rajon Rondo (Kentucky), Adam Scott (Australia), Alexander Popov (Russia).

    Best smile of course is Luke Bryan. (Catch the smile at 0:12.)

    Best body and best hair is all of the them.

    Okay, I think that pretty much sums it up. 😉

  3. Nkosazana,

    “Now there’s a lot of white guys there”

    Huh, I hadn’t notice that. I thought I got a good slice of underrated gorgeous men from around the world. 🙂

    And don’t forget the Honorable Mentions — they’re hot too. Austin Daye is mixed black, and so is Shaka Smart.

    “Wow that Luke Bryan is so hot!”

    He really is. I’m watching some interviews of him now, and I might have to change some things around in the post…

  4. Haha, I did not even notice that but, Denzel Washington overrated hes like the ultimate “Good Black Man™” right?

    I bet If he ever got together with a white girl you would hear a collective howl echoing all over the world from all American BW lol.

    Oh yes, Honorable mentions! I got to google those I don’t know any of them on the name 🙂

  5. Alee you are too much….lol, you have it all down to a science. I’m scared of you :). I see why Noah would be number one, I always like men with facial hair. Adam Scott is hot. Matthew Gray and Tyson Ritter are hot too, especially because they are creatives. And I’ll take my fellow Canadian Chad as well :).

  6. Nkosazana,

    Denzel is a GBM™ and an IBM™ (Ideal Black Man). Like Obama.

    “I got to google those I don’t know any of them on the name”

    Because they’re underrated. 🙂

    I might have to link their names to pictures, later.

  7. Nikisha,

    Did you say science? Oh, exciting. 😉

    I’m actually not that big on lots of facial hair, but a light sprinkling like Noah’s and Luke Bryan’s is nice.

    “Matthew Gray and Tyson Ritter are hot too, especially because they are creatives.”

    Yes.
    Love a creative guy. Matthew Gray Gubler definitely has my favorite personality trait, individuality.

    You’re Canadian? You’re going to have to fill me in on your life story later, because I always thought you were from BK… like Biggie and Jay. 🙂

  8. Alee,
    I was born in Canada but moved to Brooklyn when I was 3 yrs old :). I’m more of a New Yorker because its where I was raised and I don’t know much about Canada.

  9. Nikisha,

    Oh, so you’re definitely a Brooklynite (3 years when you were a baby doesn’t count, so there!). I knew you were — you give off serious BK “cool kid” vibes. 😉

  10. Dirk Nowitzki.

    If Mavs beat the Heat, he should be every woman’s hero. Who can say no to such a handsome man?

  11. that guy,

    LOL @ Dirk Nowitzki. A very… different choice, for sure. 🙂

    He’s not a bad looking guy, but he reminds me of a grizzly bear with all that hair (I’ve always thought he’d be a good fit for the Grizzlies…). And he is extra tall… when you’re that large, you have to do what you can to look more inviting.

    You know the Mavericks will beat the Heat. They have to. I’m still trying to figure out why and how the Heat got so far in the first place.

  12. Loving number 10 out of them all. Also Alex Pettyfer is a bit overrated. I’ve heard tons about him, mostly his personal life. He’s good looking but not a fan of blondes. Glad you got a Canadian in there 🙂

  13. I don’t get it. What’s so unconventional about Tyson Ritter?

    Out of these men, I think my favourite is Takeshi Kaneshiro.

  14. see now tyson ritter…i could do that any day. the others…meh. except maybe the pettyfer guy. maybe.
    and while that particular asian guy you have doesn’t really do it for me, i find that living in the asian region has kind of opened my eyes to the gorgeousness that is to be found in young japanese men particularly. why did i always think japanese men were unattractively short???*licks lips* prior to this, i just never really saw asian men….
    🙂

  15. Well maybe I need to move to an Asian region as well lol, Asian guys don’t do anything for me. Way to Ehm, feminine faces for me.

    Plus in SA they are verrrrrry annoying.

  16. wanderlust,

    “Also Alex Pettyfer is a bit overrated. I’ve heard tons about him, mostly his personal life.”

    Yes… I should add that some of the men aren’t underrated in their particular home regions; Alex Pettyfer is well-known in the UK, Takeshi Kaneshiro is well-known in East Asia.


    wanderlust says:

    “Loving number 10 out of them all. “

    Mira says:

    “Out of these men, I think my favourite is Takeshi Kaneshiro.”

    Takeshi is great-looking…He’s really not the least out of the 10, it’s more like a rough estimate 8=9=10. Takeshi, Rajon Rondo, and Tyson have the best eyes.

    Mira,

    “I don’t get it. What’s so unconventional about Tyson Ritter?”

    He’s not your typical, well-groomed, perfectly dressed hot guy like a Noah Mills or a Chad Connell. He’s off-beat, “different”. It took some doing to find a picture of him (a) dressed up and (b) not with some weird look on his face.

    Typical Tyson. And another (on the left).

  17. Jasmin,

    “Ooh, you know I would bleep the bleep out of Chad Connell. ;-)”

    LOL.

    Yes, I know. 🙂


    Hi beautysdaughter!

    Nice to see you again. 🙂

    “see now tyson ritter…i could do that any day.”

    Agreed!

    “the others…meh.”

    Disagreed!

    😉

    Nkosazana,

    Does Takeshi have a feminine face?

  18. I just generally like men with a bit more rugged look. Two that comes to mind is Viggo and Henry Cele (btw he comes from the same township as me, I should do a post on him).

    I just can’t imagine any of the sour Asians in Durban tossing me over their shoulder.

  19. Oh, okay. I just wanted to know about Takeshi. I don’t think he has a “rugged” look, but then I’m not really into rugged. Viggo Mortensen is *yawn*… or even “hmmm.” Those two you mentioned have faces that are a bit too angular/square for me.

  20. He is a bit too *Boyish* in my eyes, but that’s my eyes.

    Ah common, you haven’t fantasied about Aragorn? You dressed up as that elf and him coming in ridding on horse and all that ;P

    Hah maybe it’s only me who still have silly little girl dreams.

  21. Alee,

    He’s not your typical, well-groomed, perfectly dressed hot guy.

    Well, MY typical hot guy is messy, long haired and is definitely not “perfectly dressed”, so… 😉

    Viggo Mortensen is a good looking man, and an artist. But his voice… UGH! It’s squeaky and it kills all the attraction (well, at least in my case). As for the Aragorn, he’s so perfect it’s boooooooooring!

    PS- I don’t think Asian men are feminine looking, not at all (well, it depends on a guy, I guess).

  22. Viggo Mortensen is a good looking man, and an artist. But his voice… UGH! It’s squeaky and it kills all the attraction (well, at least in my case)

    Hah, Maybe I haven’t really thought about it. I just thought he’s a quiet man.

    PS- I don’t think Asian men are feminine looking, not at all (well, it depends on a guy, I guess).

    Well, it’s in the eye of the beholder I guess.

    I don’t know, I got some other reason as well, kinda shows how stupid the whole people of colour thing is.

  23. Hah, Maybe I haven’t really thought about it. I just thought he’s a quiet man.

    Well, it depends on the person, I guess. Some women don’t pay as much attention to voice as I do. But other than voice, Viggo is fine (not necessarily my type, but he’s ok). As long as he doesn’t speak.

    I don’t know, I got some other reason as well, kinda shows how stupid the whole people of colour thing is.

    I guess you have some prejudice towards them, maybe?

    I’m risking to sound racist, but I do like Asian eyes (not becuase of the shape, though it is beautiful, but the colour). Also, dark hair. And the fact they’re usually not as hairy as other races of men. The bad thing, though it’s not universal, is that Asian men tend to be short(er). But it’s not like there aren’t tall ones. (Wasn’t the tallest man on Earth up to a few years ago Chinese?)

    But I don’t really know about Asian men. I’ve never met one. (Or a black one for that matter).

  24. I guess you have some prejudice towards them, maybe?

    Probably, It’s hard to not have if you come from where I come from, I still have some against white people even though I married one. In my country one particular group have acted very “annoying” and have pissed off a lot of black people as well and add to the fact that they are quite racist. But that’s an east Asian group. I’m down with Indians, They are cool. Durban is the center for Indian in South Africa.

    Oh I know Chinese people are quite short and so are Thai. There’s always exception, But I remember them being generally a little bit shorter than me and that hubby TOWERED over them when we were in Thailand.

    You really never met a Asian/black person before? 🙂 Ja ne!, you need leave serbia.

  25. Mira,

    “Well, MY typical hot guy is messy, long haired and is definitely not “perfectly dressed”, so… ;)”

    Yes… I’m very attracted to Tyson types. They aren’t usually the best for relationships, though. But that’s another topic.

    “[Viggo Mortensen’s] voice… UGH! It’s squeaky and it kills all the attraction”

    His voice doesn’t sound squeaky to me? If you think that’s squeaky, you’d never like the Kansas guy…

    There are tall Asian guys; half of my high school was Asian and they vary. I like hair on men in certain places, so that’s not really a plus.

    vonnie,

    “yes please to most of these guys….hotness! especially the first dude”

    Ha. And you didn’t even pick “your” guy. 🙂

  26. @ that guy,

    Last night is the reason Dirk is not underrated (needs to be rated a little lower, IMO) and is definitely no one’s hero!

    He missed crucial shots. That was when the Mavericks needed a KG or even Wade — someone you know will more than likely make the shot. The commentators said he played well because they were focused on how many points he made, but how many didn’t he (and the rest of the team) make?… Okay, then.

    Dirk is a “luck” player as far as I’m concerned, and he did not get lucky last night.

  27. I’m very attracted to Tyson types. They aren’t usually the best for relationships, though. But that’s another topic.

    Indeed. I know the type and I wouldn’t recommend dating such a guy (not even on a casual sex level). But when it comes to attraction, I do like men who are “messy” (in lack of a better word). I never got the appeal of a suit & tie guy. I’d take the Dude Lebowski over Dylan McDermott’s character in The Practice (forgot his name) any day. lol (And I don’t find the Dude THAT hot).”

    His voice doesn’t sound squeaky to me? If you think that’s squeaky, you’d never like the Kansas guy…

    It just doesn’t suit Aragorn! He’s fine… Untill he talks. “You cannot wield it. None of us can.” Ugh.

    I wouldn’t take that as a deal breaker in real life, though. So I’d probably still consider the Kansas guy hot. But with a celebrity, you can “choose” whoever you want and be horribly shallow and picky, right? 😀

    There are tall Asian guys; half of my high school was Asian and they vary.

    Of course there are. I guess I just went with what’s consider average height in various East Asian countries (or in America). Remember, 6 foot is average in my culture. I am sure there are many 6′ + Asian guys, but the average, I believe, is shorter. So if I have to find a stereotypical “fault” about Asian men, I think I would go with this one, not with “they look feminine”… They don’t look feminine to me.

    I like hair on men in certain places, so that’s not really a plus.

    I was referring to chest hair. I am not so crazy about that one.

  28. Mira,

    “I’d take the Dude Lebowski over Dylan McDermott’s character in The Practice (forgot his name) any day.”

    I don’t know about that. 🙂

    ‘It just doesn’t suit Aragorn! He’s fine… Untill he talks. “You cannot wield it. None of us can.” Ugh.’

    LMAO.

    “I wouldn’t take that as a deal breaker in real life, though. So I’d probably still consider the Kansas guy hot.”

    I don’t have a problem with his voice; I’m used to it now and actually like it a lot. There’s something to be said about a soft voice. Seems more… loving.

    ‘I guess I just went with what’s consider average height in various East Asian countries (or in America). Remember, 6 foot is average in my culture.”

    Well, I think your region is just tall. The average here is 5’9″, but it’s not because of the Asian men since they are only ~2 percent of the population. And the global average height for a guy is something like 5’7″/5’8″.

    “I was referring to chest hair. I am not so crazy about that one.”

    You know I’m right with you on that one.

  29. I don’t know about that. 🙂

    I know, I know. The Dude is a bit old anyway. But I don’t really like the type of men like that McDermott’s character.

    There’s something to be said about a soft voice. Seems more… loving.

    Softness has nothing to do with it; was that what we were talking about? Soft voice is fine, but a soft voice can be both deep and a bit higher.

    Gary Oldman, for example, is a tenor, and I really, REALLY like his voice (in addition to his Cockney accent). But his voice is soft.

    Well, I think your region is just tall.

    I know. But I live in my region. It’s difficult for me to perceive things differently.

    Still, height isn’t that much of an issue for me. Speaking of height and Asian men, I saw an Asian guy on the streets the other day. He was quite tall. There were two Serbian girls with him (one on each side), giggling and (so obviously) drooling over him. It was cute. I hope they didn’t fight over him later.

  30. Mira,

    “Softness has nothing to do with it; was that what we were talking about? Soft voice is fine, but a soft voice can be both deep and a bit higher.”

    I guess I’m using softness as a synonym for high, but you’re right that there is a different kind of soft voice.

    “There were two Serbian girls with him (one on each side)…”

    I just stopped right there and laughed. 🙂

  31. Well, it WAS funny. And embarrassing at the same time (they were not subtle at all). The guy pretended not to notice. But they were all over him.

  32. And that’s how one black guy can go on an impregnate 20-30 white women in a such a country. Was very common in Sweden before WW caught on that they don’t stick around.

  33. Interesting list. The only one I was aware of was Matthew Gray Gubler. I used to watch “Criminal Minds” when I had a TV and I was a fan of that show. He’s an interesting character, that’s for sure.

    You know Lee Pace is on my list. He’s definitely underrated. He’s not traditionally handsome like certain men with the last name Pitt or Clooney (I never found Brad Pitt attractive—he looks greasy to me), he’s been on two shows that have been canceled (“Wonderfalls,” “Pushing Daisies”), gets in low-rated movies that are direct-to-DVD (“Possession,” “The Resident”), or in ones that get little media attention (“The Fall”). With his current run in The Normal Heart on Broadway, his being in the current “Twilight” movies, and his recent casting in “The Hobbit,” maybe he’ll finally get the attention he deserves.

  34. changingmoods,

    I love “Criminal Minds”. Matthew Gray Gubler is excellent as Spencer Reid — the role was made for him.

    I was going to add Lee Pace, but I was waiting for you to mention him first. So now that you have, I’ll add him to Honorable Mention. 😀

  35. Hi Ink, I disagree (obviously). Rajon won’t be everyone’s cup of tea, but he’s great to me.

    And I guess that means you have no problem with the other men on the list? Perfect! 😉

  36. Ink, instead of talking about who you find ugly, why don’t you give names of guys you find attractive?

  37. changingmoods,

    That’s a pretty good idea. If the suggestions are good, I might add them to this list. And I could always use suggestions for the 2012 list.

  38. Wow Im suprised at this list Alee cause we actually agree with about half of these guys. Noah Mills is my fave male model. He’s RIDICULOUS!!! I read he was biracial (mixed with black), have no idea if thats true. Of this list other than Noah I like Matthew Gray Gubler, Takeshi Kaneshiro,Chad Connell and Tyson Ritter. Rajon Rondo is kinda attractive but looks IDENTICAL to a guy I dated for four months when I was 24. That guy turned out to be a real pyscho so its hard for me to not see him when I look at Rajon.

  39. Agree about Takeshi, I’ve been struggling to get any info about him for years!
    matt is great too, he’s just the sweetest!

  40. Hi szara,

    Yes, Takeshi pretty low-key. You can find more about him on Asian fan sites; exclusive pictures too.

  41. Annabel, LOL.

    James McAvoy is fine, but I didn’t think he was particularly underrated; I’ve also heard many a woman gush about Adrian Brody (although I’m fond of the other Brody — Adam 🙂 ). Ethan Hawke…not really my type.

  42. you’re right about Adam.B he’s REALLY good looking!!
    I tend to like guys with a long hair (a messy look ) or a guy with girlish features :
    “Edward Furlong”

    before his drug addiction ofc, i wish he stayed that way,he was so gorgeous he has creepy eyes ❤
    ,my other type would be a man like the young David Gilmour (from Pink Floyd) or this one http://i.models.com/i/db/2009/12/14870/14870-500w.jpg (he's a model too)

  43. Annabel,

    “you’re right about Adam.B he’s REALLY good looking!!”

    Yup. 😀

    Edward Furlong is hot, good one!

    “before his drug addiction ofc, i wish he stayed that way”

    Lol.

    David Gilmour was pretty cute when he was younger.

    Who is the model?

  44. I knew you’d ask about the model xD , his name’s Ryan Locke, he was in the music video of Beyonce “If I Were A Boy” the SEXY HOT cop!!
    Glad you liked Furlong!!
    I remember seeing Adam.B in a movie, i kept pausing and zooming his face lol! oh and i really like MGG too, what about that blond doctor in Dr House “Spencer” with that aussie accent ❤
    You know who i also like? that bald guy "The Hitman"!
    I'd like to know what topic will you do next?!! thnx 😀

  45. “his name’s Ryan Locke, he was in the music video of Beyonce “If I Were A Boy” the SEXY HOT cop!!”

    Oh, is that him? I remember him…He looks different there!

    “I remember seeing Adam.B in a movie, i kept pausing and zooming his face lol!”

    Ha, that’s exactly what I’d do.

    “oh and i really like MGG too”

    MGG is breathtaking.

    ‘what about that blond doctor in Dr House “Spencer” ‘

    I can see why someone would like him, but he’s more “meh” to me.

    Hmmm, sometimes I can get into bald/semi-bald guys (hello Mike Rosenthal *the designer*), but more often I prefer hair.

    “I’d like to know what topic will you do next?!! thnx :D”

    Funny you asked because the latest post has just been up now. You can check it out on the homepage (click the A Lofty Existence logo at the top to go to the homepage from wherever you are on the blog). I’d love to hear your thoughts on it.

Leave a Reply

