Suggestions

suggestions

Do you have an idea for a post, article, or feature? Interested in guest posting? Suggestions for posts, articles, and features is now open.

Guidelines

The only major guideline for post suggestions is that a post topic or subject fall under the blog theme of culture, relationships, and life issues. Culture includes popular culture.

If you aren’t sure whether a suggestion fits under the topic umbrella you can ask, or check if a prior post is similar to your suggestion; if it is, then the post likely meets the guideline.

Guest Posting

If you’re interested in guest posting, you can send an email to aloftyexistence at gmail dot com. All guest posts should meet the general post guidelines and will be reviewed and edited as needed before publishing.

A Suggestions page will be added for future suggestions and guest posting, but you can add any suggestions in the comments section below.

43 thoughts on “Suggestions

  1. Just a reminder if you are out of ideas ๐Ÿ™‚

    and i just bet that your blog will get lots of visitors if you do the GBM post lol. I know I do whenever i’ve mention black men.

  2. I’d love to read a “how to deal with catty insecure women at work”, where they can do you the most harm. I have three different friends having this problem at the moment. I have no idea what to tell them. Also, “How to handle rumors/ lies being spread about you by men you’ve rejected”. That one’s for me.

  3. Nkosazana,

    I have ideas, but I’d like to do something different. Sometimes you won’t even realize when you’re doing the same thing over and over (not sure if I’ve reached that point, however), so you need some feedback from outside sources. No better time to get that than the beginning of the month.

    “i just bet that your blog will get lots of visitors if you do the GBM post”

    I know that post will be slightly controversial, as all posts on race tend to be, but I’m a little tired of controversy. And that post might attract disgruntled men forever more, like the PUA post does.

  4. what do you think of PUA culture. Like that guy who calls himself mystery. At first I didn’t take it serious but it keeps getting press. I see milton friedman’s grandson has a pua blog. Kinda figures.

  5. Hi Andrea,

    Those are some good suggestions. I’ve filed them away for further thinking/tweaking. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Tim,

    A PUA follow-up? But is everyone really ready? ๐Ÿ™‚

    I can already see the comments. “You insensitive *****! These men are just trying to learn how to approach you high-maintenance women!” Lol.

    “I see milton friedmanโ€™s grandson has a pua blog. Kinda figures.”

    I see he’s a WordPresser… “PUA for Long-term Relationships”? Now that might be post-worthy material. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Sorry, I didn’t know you covered pua, I will search for it. Btw, I am a disgruntled father of a teenage girl! No, actually if it works it works, I just want her to be smart.

  8. Yes, I did a journal post on PUA and negging in practice. You can search for it in the search box; it shouldn’t be hard to find.

    So you wouldn’t mind a PUA picking up your daughter?…

  9. Oh, you know what my suggestion will be. A section dedicated to hot men. Ok, not really. But… Well, you get the idea. More posts of the same type as “attractive features on men”. Perhaps a post on some features that men think attract women but women don’t really care about?

    As for the guest post, we talked about animals and Asperger’s, right? Both are interesting topics.

    PS- They say here Mystery is an ethnic Serb, but judging form his last name, he’s either a Croat or a mixed Serbo-Croatian.

    He’s quite pathetic, though. (But I admit, whenever I hear about PUA, I hope it’s a joke).

  10. Mira,

    “Oh, you know what my suggestion will be. A section dedicated to hot men. Ok, not really. Butโ€ฆ Well, you get the idea.”

    Lol. I remember this. I would like to have one, but it might be awkward for the guys who read. Maybe I’ll add a poll about it to see if other people like the idea.

    I agree, we need more attractive guy posts… coming soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I was thinking of integrating your comments about Asperger’s into a post for later this week. If you’d rather it just be a straight guest post, you can write one up and email it to me.

    “I admit, whenever I hear about PUA, I hope itโ€™s a joke”

    Oh, it’s not a joke to them, but it is to me.

  11. Whew! now I am caught up on your PUA article and I have to say I understand why you don’t want to revisit this topic! I really liked your answers, they were well thought out.

    Do you think these techniques are effective on women (in general, not you in particular)? I hope women are talking more and more about these techniques so they lose their effectiveness. I don’t want some a-hole insulting my daughter but I will be even more pissed off if it works. And make-up is not an equivalent because make up is passive. These techniques are mostly active.

    I went to school with a guy in new york who stole a ‘vet and drove to lake havasu during spring break and told girls he was a movie producer. He got girls but they knew he was a BS er. It was just fun for them to pretend they were sleeping with a “movie producer”.

  12. No, Tim, these techniques aren’t effective on women in general… At least not in the way PUA think.

    It’s better not to use them. It’s quite pathetic, indeed. PUA always strike me as too desperate for female attention, like they have no life outside the women. It’s not particularly attractive.

    I will admit, thought, that it does work on some women, but then again, most of the things will work on someone. It doesn’t prove anything. It’s better to keep a bit of self esteem and stay away from PUA techniques.

  13. Alee,

    I am not sure what’s best to do about Asperger’s. I feel bad because I am sure no expert on the issue. At the same time, I do think I have something to offer when it comes to this subject.

    So maybe it’s best if you write the post and add my views. You can send me any additional questions to answer.

  14. Tim,

    I have no problem revisiting the PUA topic. The comments can be a source of much amusement. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think the techniques are effective on some women, particularly those who are enamored with “bad boys” and/or have low self-esteem.

    Mira,

    “PUA always strike me as too desperate for female attention, like they have no life outside the women.”

    Exactly. They are all so fixated on trying to boost their self-confidence via the women they “score”. They don’t realize how noticeable this is and/or how off-putting their writings are.

    Okay, I will try to send you any questions I have. Hopefully the time zones won’t conflict too much.

  15. Well, I’m free these days so hopefully I will available whenever you send me an email. (Except late at night). Now is 9 PM for me and I’m about to watch a Steven Seagal movie (just for the sake of laughs), so I’ll be up for a few more hours. If you want to send something now, it’s a good time. If you aren’t ready, you can send it during this time of the day tomorrow or whenever you’re ready.

    I think the main problem with PUA is that they do appear quite the opposite of what they want to achieve. They rarely strike me as “alpha males”, or even bad boys. Their desperation is quite noticeable. That’s why I believe the women they manage to score don’t go out with them for the reasons they think.

  16. I think you girls are giving a lot of women more credit than they deserve. I think PUA might work on A LOT of women, more than we might think. It will not work on me since I’m a prude though.

  17. I agree they aren’t alpha. In wolf pack etc. the goal of the alpha is mating, reproduction, and offspring protection. The desire for “practice” mating behavior is usually associated with juveniels, afaik. But, I’m not saying being a father makes you alpha. The word is nearly useless in modern society.

    I would read a post on attractive guys. Women never cease to surprise me. The cosmo covers made it clear that it was all about the butt, no?

    aspergers would be interesting, also interesting to me is your perspective on science and biology as career choice.

  18. Nkosazana,

    Depends on what you mean by “work”. If they encounter a woman who either wants to have sex (and doesn’t chose much), OR a woman who is so desperate for attention she’ll accept anyone, then yes, PUA can “get” them. But the thing is, it’s not a success of any kind; whoever was at their place would do as well, because these women don’t choose.

    So, if getting laid is all they’re after, then sure, PUA can find women for sex (but then again, most men do). But if it’s about proving you are strong, capable, “alpha”, or that you “know women”, then no – PUA don’t accomplish anything.

    Tim,

    I used the term “alpha” in a way (I believe) it’s used by PUA. In their world, “alpha male” is the best one, a bad boy who can have all the best women. Or something.

    But I personally don’t believe in animal analogies for humans. There’s no such a thing as “alpha male” in humans, I think.

    The cosmo covers made it clear that it was all about the butt, no?

    It depends on the girl. It’s usually all about the hair for me, but I’ve been told I’m unique in that aspect. ๐Ÿ˜› Oh, and I wouldn’t trust Cosmo anything.

  19. Nkosazana,

    Yes, many women feel flattered by male attention of any sort but that goes back to (lack of) self-esteem.

    Tim,

    I don’t really care for men’s butts. I don’t think I notice them at all. But I do notice calves — yum. Men’s legs in general… well, I’ll save all of that for an upcoming post. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    “also interesting to me is your perspective on science and biology as career choice.”

    Don’t do it! Lol.

    But seriously, what I do (research in labs and hospitals, mostly) can be quite monotonous. I like routines a bit, but it can become dull. I think being a professor or working in a medical area might be a little more interesting.

  20. How about one on emotional abuse, if you haven’t already done one. I’m doing one myself and another perspective would interesting. We talk alot about physical, sexual and verbal abuse and although both are abhorrent no one really talks about the clandestine emotional abuse which is present in physical, sexual, and verbal abuse but it can stand alone. It can be done with ease by men and women. I was a victim of emotional abuse, that I didn’t realize was going on until 8 yrs into my marriage, it can be slick. It’s almost like gaslighting, but I think gaslighting is more obvious. I never thought I’d be a person that be abused but I was, so it would be great to hear what you have to say Alee. I am a victim/overcomer of it so my perspective will be different.

  21. Oh I have to read the Frenemy, I don’t have one but I know ppl who do and I just don’t get it. I’d love to hear your take, you have an interesting perspective that I find refreshing, enlightening, and logical which I like. You leave a lot of the wild emotion out but make sound arguments. You make me think, which I like.

  22. Thanks, Eugenia. The post is more about how to recognize a frenemy, because it seems many people don’t.

  23. How about one on whether or not it’s possible for men and women to have platonic relationships. After finally watching “When Harry Met Sally…” a month or so ago, and with the guys who I only see as friends while they develop crushes on me, I wonder if it is possible for two straight people of the opposite sex to just be friends with no romantic feelings.

  24. changingmoods,

    Yes, that’s an interesting topic. I’d love to read about it.

    I do think it’s possible, but let’s hear what others have to say.

  25. changingmoods,

    Yes, that would go well with the male-female friendship post I was thinking of writing.

    Like Mira, I think it’s possible but usually only under certain circumstances.

  26. Alee,
    Can you do a post on people who have pseudo identities, like on facebook and twitter. You know, the person that gossips, who is lazy, feels entitled, etc…but can act like an online guru and act like they have their ish together, but in real life they are a hot mess. I’m so tired of facebook and twiiter for this reason. So many are faking who they are and have created a whole other online identity.

  27. Nikisha,

    I play a professional blogger online but offline I’m a pizza deliverywoman who trades her services for a room under the shop. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Just kidding. I’ll definitely add that idea to the list. It could work with another idea I currently have… My own 70+ post ideas are looking abandoned like, “Why do you want suggestions? I’m right here — pick me!” ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  28. Mira,

    Ha, it is. Well, it’s a recently added idea that smartacus (inadvertently) gave me, so it’s more like #73. But hopefully my list doesn’t feel too ignored…

    I’ve promised myself I will pull at least one topic from the list each week instead of writing about something I just felt like writing that day. Poor topics; some of them have been hanging around since late 2010. Others have been half-written, only to be tossed aside for a newer, shinier idea.

    I should really give them more of a shot — many of the most popular posts come from the idea list.

  29. The list has many advantages. One of them is, obviously, against writer’s block: you can always have some ideas to write about. Another good thing is the fact these posts often end up being more interesting than the “I feel like writing about X today” ones. Or maybe it’s just me.

    I don’t have a list of post subjects, btw. Oh, ok, maybe a few.

  30. Mira, that’s true. But sometimes I’m still blocked because I don’t know where to begin writing.

    ‘these posts often end up being more interesting than the โ€œI feel like writing about X todayโ€ ones’

    Probably because they’ve had more time to “cook”. Some ideas need a lot of time to develop. Then again, some of my spur of the moment posts have been popular as well.

  31. Nko, how about this for black woman topics: Staying young and, slim and fit while married, having children and living in Europe?. Not to toot my horn(OK, it can’t be helped), but AGAIN, I was approach by a younger(25yrs and just finishing up Uni) Swiss male, who flirted with me till I mentioned my son and he asked his age!. I really believe, at least in my case, that European men are the BEST men for black women!. Living here, while no utopia, does out brains, skin, heart so much good, that it shows. I’m middle aged and look, dare I say, 20yrs younger, because I HAVE to take care of me. This culture expects that. Think it’s the same in Sweden, Nko, no?.

  32. Nkosazana,

    “How about a topic about how ppl want to let criminals go just so they can hook up with black women and maybe why itโ€™s not that good of an idea for black women to be hooking up with criminals.”

    LOL.

    That story was trying to arouse empathy, and sure it is a sad situation for the family left behind, but if you choose to engage in illegal activities you’re accepting all of the possible repercussions.

    Topics on black women will come every now and then. I have to mix things up so I’m not always covering the same/similar topics.

  33. Well foos, you should ask Alee if you can guest blog since you lived in europe the longest ๐Ÿ™‚

    Alee you’re thinking like a white person. Black male can’t be criminals since well.. white people got the power. So all black men are innocent. just look at their faces. Just screams innocent. That hussy knew what she was doing.

Leave a Reply

