Aaliyah – Don’t Know What To Tell Ya

My Comments:

Today (August 25th) is the 10th anniversary of the death of R&B singer Aaliyah, who died in a plane crash off the Bahamas at the young age of 22. Aaliyah is remembered for her unique personal style and innovative music videos.

In honor of her death, here is “Don’t Know What to Tell Ya”, with an intro from rapper DMX. The single is from the album I Care 4 U, which was released after she died. This is one of my favorite Aaliyah songs.

Lyrics:

You wanna handcuff me
But yo I don’t know what to tell ya (don’t know what to tell ya)
You want my intimacy
But yo I don’t know what to tell ya (don’t know what to tell ya)
You wanna wall around me
I swear I don’t know what to tell ya (don’t know what to tell ya)
You want my lock and my key
But yo I don’t know what to tell ya (don’t know what to tell ya)

Incarceration what I’m facin’
When I’m with you
You’re watchin’ my every move
Tryin’ to pick up on some clues
We play twenty questions
Every time I walk in or out the door
What do you bother for (what do you bother for)
Get comfortable with yours

It’s gonna take T-R-U-S-T to keep my L-O-V-E
It’s gonna take T-R-U-S-T to keep my L-O-V-E
Cracking, stressing, and second guessing me
Time and time again
We go from lovers back to friends
Got to put this to an end

You wanna handcuff me
But yo I don’t know what to tell ya (don’t know what to tell ya)
You want my intimacy
But yo I don’t know what to tell ya (don’t know what to tell ya)
You wanna wall around me
I swear I don’t know what to tell ya (don’t know what to tell ya)
You want my lock and my key
But yo I don’t know what to tell ya (don’t know what to tell ya)

No justification for your actions
Should have been somewhere relaxing
Don’t compare me to your last one
I can’t help it she was a fast one
A sassy one, I’m a classy one
I can’t keep them from getting at me hun
Seems like that should make you happy hun

It’s gonna take T-R-U-S-T to keep my L-O-V-E
It’s gonna take T-R-U-S-T to keep my L-O-V-E
Cracking, I can’t deny it why I try to put up with you
These insecurities everyday
Pushing my love away, hey

[Repeat Chorus]

6 thoughts on “Aaliyah – Don’t Know What To Tell Ya

  1. I was twenty when Aaliyah died. Found out in the middle of the night and broke down in tears, couldnt believe it. I was a super Aaliyah fan. She was my beauty icon. In high school they use to call me baby Aaliyah cause I would wear my hair over my eye, belly shirts and baggy pants. I thought I was the girl. Saw her in person when I was 16. Easily the most beautiful girl Ive ever seen up close.

  2. I was not a big follower of Aaliyah, but I do like this song. I never saw Queen of the Damned either – time to get it from NetFlix

  3. Jessica,

    Aaliyah was definitely a style icon. Everyone and their cousin tried to do the hair over the eye thing! 🙂

    I’m jealous you got to see her in person. Must’ve been an experience.

    Sherry,

    I’ve haven’t seen Queen of the Damned either. Might have to put it on my ever-increasing movie list.

  4. This might seem like a weird comment, but I always associate Aaliyah’s death with Sept. 11… the summer of 2001 was a very “fluffy” one news-wise, and the big stories were shark attacks and the Gary Condit/Chandra Levy affair-presumed murder. Oh, and the fact that a 14-year-old kid lied about his age to play in the Little League World Series.

    Then Aaliyah died, and it was sobering. Suddenly, there was real news… and it was just so senseless that she died because her plane was overloaded with equipment and supplies… so unnecessary.

    I remember a tribute to her on the MTV Music Awards that I saw on Sept. 7, and I just remember that sobering feeling about the brevity of life and fleeting moments… then four days later, that went to a whole other level…

    I still miss her. Just because she was taken too soon through no “fault” of her own. Not that anyone deserves to die, but she wasn’t involved in any personally destructive actions that hastened her demise… she was just terribly unlucky.

  5. Bunny, that doesn’t sound weird at all. After all, Aaliyah’s death and 9/11 did occur around the same time.

    When she died, it didn’t hit me immediately. I just thought it was all unreal. That happens to me whenever a celebrity I like passes away. Then it becomes more real, when I realize I never see them anymore, on TV or in magazines.

    In a way, I do hold Aaliyah (partially) responsible. They told her the plane was over capacity but she decided to take her chances. She could have waited a day since she hadn’t planned to leave that day anyway. But I know it wasn’t truly her fault.

Leave a Reply

