Brownstone – Grapevyne

My Comments:

Classic ’90s R&B. Brownstone was a female R&B trio popular in the United States in the 1990s.  Like other ’90s R&B groups they were known for their strong and soulful vocals. “Grapevyne” is their hit remake of Marvin Gaye’s “I Heard It Through the Grapevine”.

Click through to watch.

Lyrics:

I heard it through grapevyne
Boy, you know that I
I heard it through the grapevine
That you ain’t feelin too fine
And I hope that you feel much better
Yes, I do really
Happened on the day I left
Since that day you haven’t been the best
And I hope that you feel much better
Yes, I do
You looked into my eyes
You said to me that night
That you would never cheat on me
Or break my heart
Inside I never knew
Your love was so untrue
I thought that I was your only
Boy, was I wrong, so wrong
Never do something that’ll catch up to ya
You did me wrong and told me lies
Never do something that you’ll live to regret
You hurt me so bad, babe
Deep in my heart I feel sorry for ya
You had to lose a damn good thing
Lovin’ me could have been good
Losing my love was a shame, baby
I heard it through the grapevine
That you ain’t feeling too fine
Hope that you feel much better
Yes, I do (I really, really do, baby) really
Happened on the day I left
Since that day you haven’t been the best
Hope that you feel much better
Yes, I do
We choose to play love games
We lose, we face the pain
Those lonely nights and that heartache
That empty space
I’ll share with you my dreams
Those precious tender things
Everybody plays a fool
I guess I played my part for you
Never do something that’ll catch up to ya
You did me wrong and told me lies
Never do something that you’ll live to regret
You hurt me so bad, babe
Deep in my heart I feel sorry for ya
You had to lose a damn good thing
Lovin’ me could have been good
Losing my love was a shame
I heard it through the grapevine
That you ain’t feeling too fine
Hope that you feel much better
Yes, I do (I really, really do, baby) really
Happened on the day I left
Since that day you havent been the best
Hope that you feel much better
Yes, I do
Oh, boy, you had my faith, you had my trust, you had my love
But now I have to take it back, it didn’t work for us
And all I really needed was your lovin’
Yes, all I really needed was your lovin’
I was your lady and there’s nothing that I would not do
Now here’s a Dear John letter that I’ve written just for you
And all I really needed was your lovin’
Yes, all I really needed was your lovin’, hey…
Never do something that’ll catch up to ya
You did me wrong and told me lies
Never do something that you’ll live to regret
You hurt me so bad, now baby
Deep in my heart I feel sorry for you
You had to lose a damn good thing
Lovin’ me could have been good
Losing my good love was such a shame
I heard it through the grapevine
That you ain’t feelin too fine
Hope that you feel much better
Yes, I do (I really, really do, baby) really
Happened on the day I left
Since that day you havent been the best
Hope that you feel much better
Yes, I do
Heard it through, heard it through
I heard it through that grapevyne
Heard it through, heard it through
Grapevyne, grapevyne
Heard it through, heard it through
I heard it through that grapevyne
Hope that you feel much better
Yes, I do
8 thoughts on “Brownstone – Grapevyne

  1. Nikisha, lol, yes it does. It’s one of those songs where you reminisce about how much time you worried about guys who weren’t… anything. 😉

  2. That is one of the things I love about being 50. Men that I would have cried about as a young woman, I would spit on now …

  3. That was the jam! I dont see how anyone could be satisfied with the R&B today when they listen to the old school stuff. Like you guys, this song also reminds me of loser ex’s. I laugh now thinking of the guys I use to cry over LOL!!!! Thank GOD I had sense enough to be on birth control in my late teens/early twenties.

  4. Sherry,

    Spit on? That’s a little harsh. 😉

    Jessica,

    “That was the jam! I dont see how anyone could be satisfied with the R&B today when they listen to the old school stuff.”

    I know. R&B today lacks the actual singing. They just get a cute girl with average vocals to sing over a nice tune.

    ’90s R&B was just the best. Better than ’80s too, in my opinion.

  5. True, 90’s R&B was the best and better than 80’s R&B but pop wise 80’s had it. Im equally obsessed with cheesy 80’s pop as I am with 90’s R&B. Like Tears for Fears Something happens and Im head over heels, I never find out til im head over heeeels, something happens and Im head over heels ahh dont take my heart dont break my heart dont-dont throw it away

  6. Jessica,

    Lol, thanks for that reminder. I go back and forth about ’80s vs. ’90s pop. With the ’90s boy bands and female pop singers, there was a sudden awakening of pop. But I too like ’80s pop.

Leave a Reply

