A Lofty Existence Topics: Poll

 

Here’s your chance to help decide what topics will be featured on A Lofty Existence from now on.

A Lofty Existence started out and is currently a blog without a niche — the posts don’t focus on a certain topic or person, e.g. a personal blog or a relationships blog. Instead it features a variety of subjects, which can be related, but for the most part are not.

Conventional blogging wisdom holds that blogs which center on a specific topic or group of topics –niche blogs– are more enjoyable. Both because readers like to know what to expect from day to day and because the blog becomes a place where they can read about a certain topic they are interested in.

As A Lofty Existence nears its one year anniversary, I’m welcome to changing things around, including its subject matter. Blog statistics suggest that most who read this blog are interested in certain subjects and not so much others. But what do you think? Should A Lofty Existence have a niche? If yes, what should that niche be?

You may choose up to three answers. If you choose “Niche: Other” or “No Niche: New Topics”, please explain in the comments section.

Note: Regardless of the outcome of the poll, The Clouds section will remain an off-topic area where all subjects are welcome.

16 thoughts on “A Lofty Existence Topics: Poll

  1. Just me personally, this is my favorite blog I visit now because there is no niche. I like the fact that I dont know what to expect from day to day but then again I am a Gemini and dont really care for routine. I think it would be fine if one week you only have topics about relationships and the next something else and so on and so on but if it only was ever about one thing, It would get old. Plus when its only one topic thats ever focused on, your gonna eventually run out of things to say about it and keep recycling the same stuff like other blogs do. I also like that with all these different topics, you kinda get a sense of seeing who everyone is in various situations by their responses.

  2. Jessica,

    “I like the fact that I dont know what to expect from day to day but then again I am a Gemini and dont really care for routine.”

    Lol. Yes, of course. And you’re not the only one here.

    “I think it would be fine if one week you only have topics about relationships and the next something else and so on”

    That’s a good idea too.

    “I also like that with all these different topics, you kinda get a sense of seeing who everyone is in various situations by their responses.”

    Same. That’s one of the reasons I started off with no topic.

  3. As long as I can gossip when doing my house chores in The Clouds I’m happy! Oh and you KNOW what post I want you to write about!

    But other than that Keep it going as it is!

  4. I like this site the way it is. There isn’t a niche per se, so there are various topics to talk about, and yet, it’s not completely random to the point of not being able to create a steady following.

    I don’t like niche blogs because that’s what they are: you always know what they talk about, and it’s fine… when you are in the mood for it. (For example, I love movies and I visit several movie related sites. But when I’m not into the movie talk, I don’t go there). Plus, what if you lose interest in a blog’s main theme? Those are all the downsides of niche blogs.

    That’s why I don’t think you should change this site. There are always posts and subjects that are more popular than the others, but it doesn’t mean you should stick to them.

  5. It’s fine just the way it is, you give me something varied to look at in blogs. I don’t follow many blogs so I need some variety in the few that I do follow. Please don’t change.

  6. There are always posts and subjects that are more popular than the others, but it doesn’t mean you should stick to them.

    I meant to say: it doesn’t mean you should change your blog; just stick to the subjects you’re interested in.

    (Don’t ask me how I ended up writing what I didn’t mean to write).

  7. You have a good blog and I think you should write whatever you feel. Some posts interest me more than others and I comment on those, but hey, that doesn’t mean you have to change things up!

    I do like relationship-related topics more than anything, so if I had to vote for something, that’s what I would choose.

  8. vonnie,

    “i like random, that’s why my blog has no niche and covers everything too. keep it to whatever you feel like talking on that day!”

    I like your blog too. But I think it has a niche actually — make-up + fashion, with a sprinkle of hot men. 🙂

    Sherry,

    It’s not my blogoversary quite yet! I’ll make a special post when the exact date comes around.

  9. Nkosazana,

    “As long as I can gossip when doing my house chores in The Clouds I’m happy!”

    A Lofty Existence: Providing entertainment to homemakers across the globe.

    “Oh and you KNOW what post I want you to write about!”

    I do? What is that? 🙂

    Mira,

    “I don’t like niche blogs because that’s what they are: you always know what they talk about, and it’s fine… when you are in the mood for it… what if you lose interest in a blog’s main theme?”

    Good point. I’ve noticed some niche blogs seem to turnover regular commenters quickly because the commenters’ interest wanes in the subject which they were once really into.

    “There are always posts and subjects that are more popular than the others, but it doesn’t mean you should stick to them.

    I meant to say: it doesn’t mean you should change your blog; just stick to the subjects you’re interested in.”

    I knew what you meant; no worries.

  10. Eugenia,

    “It’s fine just the way it is, you give me something varied to look at in blogs. I don’t follow many blogs so I need some variety in the few that I do follow. Please don’t change.”

    Well, since you say it so nicely… 🙂

    Bunny,

    “I do like relationship-related topics more than anything, so if I had to vote for something, that’s what I would choose.”

    So you didn’t choose Niche: Relationships? I probably get the most emails about the relationships topics, and social issues topics. But those are still far from related…

    I want to know who chose Niche: Other and No Niche: New Topics, or more importantly, which topics they mean. Speak up, speak up!

  11. I like your blog just the way it is. I chose No Niche: Same Topics. The post of the day is a bit unpredictable, and I kind of like that. The relationship topics and social issues interest me the most.

  12. I know you’re Foodhedonist, Robynne (although I didn’t know you were a food hedonist 🙂 ).

    “The relationship topics and social issues interest me the most.”

    Okay, great; that’s what I like the most too and I’ve written about more often.

Leave a Reply

