One Year of A Lofty Existence

first-birthday-cake

This week celebrates A Lofty Existence‘s first birthday.

The blog was opened to the public one year ago today — the first post was created November 05, 2010, but was not completed until three days later. The first year has been successful by most measures and I thank all that were involved in the blog throughout this time.

Some stats on the first year of A Lofty Existence:

Posts: 161

Comments: ~4,000 (excluding The Clouds commentary)

Page Views/Hits: ~200,000

The top posts of the year shed some light on what the readers of the blog are interested in reading and discussing.

Top two posts:

By number of page views:

1. Adam Levine

2. Top Ten Signs Your Partner is Avoidant

By number of comments:

1. Open Question — Cohabitation: Helpful or Harmful?

2. Why Friends With Benefits Does Not Work

By number of links:

1. Top Ten Signs Your Partner is Avoidant

2. Interracial Marriage and Divorce: The Study

3. Do Men Like Strong Women?

As seen from these lists, the top posts appear to be about relationships, especially relationship issues.  Social issues come in a close second — around a third of the top ten posts (not seen here) are about topics dealing with society and its people.

Special thanks to Christelyn of Beyond Black & White, and Nikisha and Cipriana of UrbanBushBabes for being the top referring websites to the blog, besides the almighty Google, Facebook, and Yahoo. And Mira, Jasmin, Nkosazana, and Jessica for most interaction as measured by number of comments.

For the second year and into 2012, some minor and major changes are planned for the blog:

Suggestions Page — a main tab where suggestions can be for new post topics, features, and tweaks to current features.

Quote Wall — a main tab to memorialize the funniest, most insightful, and just plain interesting comments on the blog.

New Design — all-new hosting, theme, and layout

Here’s to another year of A (Very) Lofty Existence.

What are your favorite posts and experiences with A Lofty Existence?

20 thoughts on “One Year of A Lofty Existence

  1. What to say here, except for Congrats? Seriously, you’ve managed to do something that more experienced bloggers struggle with. Your blog is consistent, interesting and attracts visitors. Sounds simple, but we all know how difficult it is.

  2. Mira,

    “What to say here, except for Congrats?”

    I guess I should have included a question at the end, as usual. Okay, edited. 🙂

    And thank you. Although I’ve been struggling the last couples of months on the consistency part. But I’m working on that and should be back on track around the new year. Definitely for the new site, consistency will be the name of the game. I just have to get used to (again) writing every day and publishing what I write.

  3. As for my favourite posts, to be honest, relationship dynamics isn’t my fav subject: I prefer social issues. But I wouldn’t say no to a good relationship post. 😉

    I’d love to see more book or movie reviews. I know you might not be interested in those, but I’m a sucker for reviews. 😛

  4. Yay for ALE! (A Lofty Existence.)

    I’m honored to have written one of the more popular and more commented upon posts =)

  5. Jasmin,

    You’re on the top commenters list because of the beginning days of the blog when you used to love me and commented more frequently. If it were just for the past few months, you wouldn’t be on it.

    Zek,

    “Yay for ALE! (A Lofty Existence.)”

    ALE, huh? Interesting. 🙂

    “I’m honored to have written one of the more popular and more commented upon posts =)”

    Seriously, that is the post that never dies. And it just keeps gaining steam through a feedback mechanism of views –> links –> views –> links —> views. Sex sells, I guess, and a guy writing about it sells even more. Anything about sex (or race) gets popular quickly and stays that way.

  6. Mira,

    “As for my favourite posts, to be honest, relationship dynamics isn’t my fav subject: I prefer social issues. But I wouldn’t say no to a good relationship post. ;)”

    Yes, it’s pretty divided between those two. Some like one, others like the other. A few people like both, like me. 🙂

    I know you like the hot men posts though, and I plan on having some more of those.

    “I’d love to see more book or movie reviews. I know you might not be interested in those, but I’m a sucker for reviews.”

    I like books and movies, but I just can never get around to watching movies most of the time. But yes, I was thinking about those. For the past few months I’ve been trying to do one movie analysis a month, since I do actually have a Movies category and it was gathering dust. I might add a book in too, when possible.

  7. Congratulations!!! Wonderful is an understatement on what I think of this blog. I’m very happy to have found it, your mind is amazing Alee 🙂 Keep sharing…please!

  8. Thank you, Nikisha *hugs*

    I think your blog is wonderful and quite helpful too. So I’m glad the feeling is mutual. 🙂

  9. Yes more movie reviews! And book reviews! Black womens issues as well!

    You should snuggle with your farm boy this weekend and watch some movies! I told you everything would be fine after you for yourself a man!

    Got netflix? See if Yesterday is available then we all can talk about it 😉

  10. What I like most about this blog is that it has a easy going vibe. I also like that if you disagree with someone Alee you dont talk down to them like ive noticed with alot of blog writers.

  11. Nkosazana,

    “Yes more movie reviews! And book reviews! Black womens issues as well!”

    Tomorrow’s post sort of fits into the last category.

    I don’t have Netflix, and it would be a good idea except I would probably never use it. Yesterday is on my movie list though (which is somewhere, I have no idea right now). So it may be coming up in the next few months.

    Jasmin, yay. *hugs back*

  12. Jessica,

    “What I like most about this blog is that it has a easy going vibe.”

    Hopefully. I don’t discourage debate but I really wouldn’t like this blog to turn into a place where people come to be rude and rip each other apart. I think we’ve avoided that (for the most part…) this year.

    “I also like that if you disagree with someone Alee you dont talk down to them like ive noticed with alot of blog writers.”

    I’ve actually heard otherwise. Lol.

  13. CONGRATS Alee… I love reading your blog. It’s very informative and composed; I visit a few other blogs and always leave with a headache… Yours always brings a sense of calm and lots of smarts. Keep up the awesomeness!

  14. This is amazing Alee, I only wish you much continued success!!! You are such a beautiful and talented writer. The time, dedication and work you put into you site shows, you deserve nothing but good fortunate!

    Much Love 🙂

  15. Cipriana!

    *runs and hugs*

    Wow, you and your fabulous hair have finally made it. I thought you’d never come. Up until now, Nikisha had been carrying your spirit over here for you. 🙂

    Thank you for your kind words. It means a lot. *kiss*

Leave a Reply

