Lauryn Hill – To Zion

My Comments:

“To Zion” is by singer, rapper, and songwriter Lauryn Hill released from the groundbreaking debut album The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill. The song wasn’t officially released (but played on radios), so it doesn’t have a music video.

This is one of my favorite Lauryn Hill songs. It is one of those rare, timeless songs that can be listened to for years, at any time of the year. But it’s perfect for the Christmas season, as it can be seen as a depiction of the Virgin Mary and her Immaculate Conception.

Lyrics:

Unsure of what the balance held
I touched my belly overwhelmed
By what I had been chosen to perform
But then an angel came one day
Told me to kneel down and pray
For unto me a man child would be born
Woe this crazy circumstance
I knew his life deserved a chance
But everybody told me to be smart
Look at your career they said,
“Lauryn, baby use your head”
But instead I chose to use my heart

Now the joy of my world is in Zion
Now the joy of my world is in Zion

How beautiful if nothing more
Than to wait at Zion’s door
I’ve never been in love like this before
Now let me pray to keep you from
The perils that will surely come
See life for you my prince has just begun
And I thank you for choosing me
To come through unto life to be
A beautiful reflection of his grace
See I know that a gift so great
Is only one God could create
And I’m reminded every time I see your face

That the joy of my world is in Zion
Now the joy of my world is in Zion
Now the joy of my world is in Zion
Now the joy of my world is in Zion

Marching, marching, marching to Zion
Marching, marching
Marching, marching, marching to Zion
Beautiful, beautiful Zion

8 thoughts on “Lauryn Hill – To Zion

  1. This is one of my favorite cuts from the CD too. Especially “Lauryn, baby use your head”, But instead I chose to use my heart
    I think the whole CD is timeless and would put it in the same category as Stevie Wonder’s Innervisions.

  2. Sherry,

    It’s definitely timeless. I just wish Lauryn was still making music like she used to.

    Jess,

    I love those songs too. Actually the whole album is just awesome.

  3. What’s so funny, when I bought this album the first time….I underestimated it but as time went on, I understood it more and more and like it more and more

    Zion is my Fav/Can’t take my eyes off you/Tell him/Ex-Factor/Nothing matters/Lost one and this one never gets old “Doo wop(That thing)”

    Doo wop(That thing) is full of lessons ” showing you ass, you thinking it a trend girlfriend”

    It’s silly when girls sell their souls because IN…..come again!

    Ms. Hill has always graced us with wisdom and philosophy, and she’s deep…..

    Similar artist is D’agelo – Voodoo album, it’s equally explosive….

    Peace & Blessing….

  4. That album will always speak to me. I “grew up” with that album and it has even more meaning to me years later. Now, when I hear that song as the mom of 2 boys, it touches me in a different way and I think of them. I miss artists that can touch your soul like Lauryn– there are a handful out there. Obviously, Lauryn is going through some things, but I wish she were putting out music like “Miseducation”.

  5. Mkhululi,

    Hmmm, D’Angelo. Eh. 😛

    Madamesiamese,

    I love when music still has meaning — just a different meaning — as you age. Those are the real timeless ones.

  6. This song brings back so many memories :). I would sing this song to my son when he was in my belly and even after he was born. It would bring tears to my eyes. Its a classic! Lauryn Hill is classic!

  7. Nikisha,

    “This song brings back so many memories :).”

    For me too.

    “I would sing this song to my son when he was in my belly and even after he was born.”

    Awww, how sweet. 🙂

    Your son is so loved, I can tell just looking at his photos.

Leave a Reply

