Top Ten Most Missed Celebrities

2012 is a new year with new beginnings. But the past, and the people who helped create it, can hardly be forgotten. Among these are some public figures who entertained and inspired us in years past, and will continue to influence despite not being physically present.

Here is my personal list of the most cherished celebrities and public figures who passed away in the last ten years. They will be most missed in 2012, and beyond.

amy-winehouse

1. Amy Winehouse (1983-2011)

A multi-talented musician, singer, and songwriter Amy Winehouse rose to fame in the UK in the early 2000s and in the world with her albums Frank and Back to Black. She was known for her sultry voice and creative oldies-inspired musical style.

Amy passed in the summer of 2011 of after struggling with alcohol and drug addiction.

aaliyah

2. Aaliyah (1979-2001)

Aaliyah Haughton was an R&B singer and dancer popular in the ’90s and early 2000s. Her hip-hop influenced music and dance videos captured the hearts of audiences who grew to love her unique personal style and genuinely sweet personality.

Aaliyah and eight others died after their plane crashed while leaving the Bahamas. They were returning to the United States after shooting the music video for “Rock the Boat”.

michael-jackson

3. Michael Jackson (1958-2009)

The most successful music artist of all time, King of Pop Michael Jackson was not just a musician but an icon. He is known globally as a transformative figure — his talent and style inspired and created generations of music, and people.

Michael died in 2009 of medication-induced respiratory arrest. His death caused shock and grief worldwide.

lisa-left-eye-lopes

4.  Lisa “Left Eye” Lopes (1971-2002)

Lisa Lopes, also known as Left Eye, was a rapper and singer best known as a member of the R&B trio TLC. Her unique and honest rapping added the hip-hop element to TLC which contributed greatly to its success.

Lisa died in April 2002 when her car swerved off a road in Honduras.

paul-newman

5. Paul Newman (1925-2008)

Paul Newman was an actor and heartthrob popular in the ’60s through the ’80s. He is known for films such as Cat on a Hot Tin Roof and The Color of Money, as well as his cool personality and ice blue eyes.

Paul passed away in 2008 at age 83, after a long history in show business as an actor and director.

luther-vandross

6. Luther Vandross (1951-2005)

Luther Vandross was a soul and R&B singer whose career spanned over two decades. His romantic ballads and soulful voice sold millions of albums and inspired musicians to come who emulated his timeless musical style. He is known for songs such as “Never Too Much” and “Here and Now”.

Luther died of a heart attack in 2005.

naomi-sims

7. Naomi Sims (1948-2009)

Naomi Sims was an editorial and print model turned writer widely known as the first black American supermodel. Naomi was the first black model to appear on the covers of Life and Ladies’ Home Journal. She broke through the boundaries of the modeling world and paved a way for a new definition of beauty and elegance.

Naomi died of breast cancer in August of 2009.

elizabeth-taylor

8. Elizabeth Taylor (1932-2011)

Elizabeth Taylor was a film actress and social icon known as much for her roles as for her looks and lifestyle, including numerous marriages. She appeared in Cat on a Hot Tin Roof with Paul Newman, and played Cleopatra in the film of the same name.

Elizabeth died in 2011 at age 79.

farrah-fawcett

9. Farrah Fawcett (1947-2009)

An original Charlie’s Angel, Farrah Fawcett was an TV and film star noted for her big, layered hair and sweet-as-American pie personality. She showed she was not just a pretty face by playing diverse roles on the big screen and small screen.

Farrah died in 2009 at the age of 62.

steve-jobs

10. Steve Jobs (1955-2011)

Inventor and businessman Steve Jobs was best known as co-founder and CEO of Apple, Inc. Under his direction, Apple changed the world of digital media with products such as the Mac, iPod, and iPhone, thus changing the modern world as we know it.

Steve died of pancreatic cancer at his home in October of 2011.

Other Notables: Bernie Mac, Brittany Murphy, Eartha Kitt, Heath Ledger, Lena Horne, Marlon Brando, Patrick Swayze, Ted Kennedy

Who will you most miss in 2012?

See also:

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Missed Celebrities

  1. Interesting list. I still can’t believe about Amy’s last concert (in Belgrade) and all the fuss about it.

    I think many people would probably put Heath Ledger in the top 10, though in all honesty I didn’t really follow his work.

    Others:

    Marlon Brando
    Johnny Cash
    Natasha Richardson
    Ray Charles
    Salinger
    Nina Simone

    And Serb (lol, yes, that’s how he’s seen here): Karl Malden

    And there’s more: Denis Hopper, Katharine Hepburn, Walter Matthau…

    But most of them were old, except for Natasha Richardson.

  2. you pretty much covered my whole list! mj will forever be a hard blow to me, elizabeth taylor, amy winehouse, and my favorite singer of all time Luther Vandross will all be sorely missed presences in the world.

  3. Mira,

    “I think many people would probably put Heath Ledger in the top 10, though in all honesty I didn’t really follow his work.”

    Yes.

    I know a lot of people would put him (and Ray Charles) in the top 10 or top 5, but I didn’t know him. I remember when he passed, everyone was crying, “OMG, Heath Ledger died!” and I thought, “Who?”

    I really only added him just so no one would go, “What about Heath Ledger??!!”

    “Others:

    Marlon Brando”

    Oh, I don’t know how I forgot him… added.

    The others I know of, but again, I didn’t really know them or their work, so I personally won’t be missing them much. Still, RIP.

  4. vonnie,

    “you pretty much covered my whole list!”

    That’s good to know!

    “mj will forever be a hard blow to me, elizabeth taylor, amy winehouse, and my favorite singer of all time Luther Vandross will all be sorely missed presences in the world.”

    I didn’t know Luther was your favorite singer of all time. Interesting. *hums “Never Too Much”*

  5. I don’t really follow these kinds of celebs too much. I know Jackson died but I just felt that did not have to go on and on about it for 3 months. In the end he was just a singer who left behind a lot of scared children. Steve Jobs died of course. But my Iphone is the only apple product we have. Hubby is not a fan of apple so we don’t buy their products.

    All I feel is this is the year that Madiba (Nelson Mandela for you non South Africans) might die from everything I’ve read and heard about his health. You people might not know how loved he is in SA, but that is going to be a BIG event and for it to happen on the same year that the ANC celebrate 100 years..

  6. Nkosazana,

    “I know Jackson died but I just felt that did not have to go on and on about it for 3 months.”

    Yes, there was like a whole month of just MJ stuff. But there are a lot of less newsworthy info that gets covered for months and months.

    “In the end he was just a singer who left behind a lot of scared children.”

    Just a singer?…

    Just a singer?

    Oh, no. No, no, no.

    “All I feel is this is the year that Madiba (Nelson Mandela for you non South Africans) might die from everything I’ve read and heard about his health.”

    Don’t say that; you don’t want to cause any bad energy…

    “You people might not know how loved he is in SA”

    How could we not know?

  7. Oh people have been on the tip of their toes for like two years now. There’s tons articles discussing his health and all that. If I were a god fearing person I’d pray. My mum is like it’s him and Jesus. She thinks it’s wonderful that she can have her house and her 1000 rand pension (122 dollars).

    I might just read “Long Walk to Freedom” again. But you know, I’ve forgotten what It’s like to be black.

    How could we not know?

    Americans tends not to know much about anything except America 🙂

  8. Nkosazana,

    “Oh people have been on the tip of their toes for like two years now. There’s tons articles discussing his health and all that.”

    Elizabeth Taylor was sick for a long time before she died, at a somewhat old age. And Mandela’s already outlived Elizabeth Taylor (and most of society…) showing he’s a little more hardy than people may think. So let’s not call it a wrap just yet.

    “I might just read “Long Walk to Freedom” again. But you know, I’ve forgotten what It’s like to be black.”

    Clearly. Now you’re just a spoiled Swedish housewife. 😉

    “Americans tends not to know much about anything except America :)”

    Oh, I knew it would be “You ignorant Americans”!

    But not this American; I may not be a fan of politics (in America or elsewhere) but I do know about many notable figures. But I’d say the average American knows about Mandela and his history in South Africa, if only vaguely.

  9. Luther is also my all time fave singer (at least male singer), him and Phil collins that is. Ive loved Luther since I discovered music, glad you included him. I find alot of people forget about him for some reason when it comes to these lists.

  10. Jess,

    “Luther is also my all time fave singer (at least male singer)”

    Wow, we have some Luther lovers here…

    I’m not sure who my favorite male singer is; I have several that I like. I would probably have to split it up by decades — I already did the 2000s. But definitely Maxwell would have to be in there (overall) because I’m so in love with his music. Babyface, James Morrison, and Boyz II Men as well.

    Yes at Phil Collins. Love him too.

    “Ive loved Luther since I discovered music, glad you included him. I find alot of people forget about him for some reason when it comes to these lists.”

    Maybe because after the mid-90s he sort of faded from the limelight (excluding Dance With My Father, of course)? But I couldn’t forget him; he just sounds like music.

  11. ^It’s clear Luther will be greatly missed.

    Celine Dion’s cover of “Dance With My Father” is pretty sad… It’s just ironic that that was one of his last songs.

Leave a Reply

