Whitney Houston – All at Once & Didn’t We Almost Have It All

My Comments:

Whitney Houston, one of the greatest singers of all time, passed away on February 11, 2012. Normally I’d stay away from clichéd celebrity farewells, because few celebrities have such a great impact. But this is different.

Whitney’s death is immensely saddening to the world and her fans, and especially to me. Whitney’s music was so important to me, a part of me. Her music cheered me, made me laugh, reassured me, motivated me, invigorated my soul. If only I knew I’d be saying goodbye to Whitney so soon.

So today there will be two videos in memory of Whitney Houston and the amazing legacy she’s left. The lyrics (especially the bolded below) that I listened to so often are eerie and depressing now. R.I.P. Whitney, you were truly a blessing. We’ll always love you; I’ll always love you.

Lyrics:

“All at Once”

All at once
I finally took a moment
And I’m realizing that
You’re not coming back
And it finally hit me all at once
All at once I’ve started counting teardrops
And at least a million fell
My eyes began to swell
And all my dreams were shattered all at once

Ever since I met you
You’re the only love I’ve known
And I can’t forget you
Though I must face it all alone

All at once I’m drifting on a lonely sea
Wishing you’d come back to me
And that’s all that matters now
All at once I’m drifting on a lonely sea
Holding on to memories
And it hurts me more than you know
So much more than it shows
All at once

All at once I looked around and found that you were
With another love
In someone else’s arms
And all my dreams were shattered all at once
All at once the smile that used to greet me
Brightened someone else’s day
She took your smile away
And left me with just memories all at once

Ever since I met you
You’re the only love I’ve known
And I can’t forget you
Though I must face it all alone

All at once I’m drifting on a lonely sea
Wishing you’d come back to me
And that’s all that matters now
All at once I’m drifting on a lonely sea
Holding on to memories
And it hurts me more than you know
So much more than it shows
All at once

All at once I’m drifting on a lonely sea
Wishing you’d come back to me
And it hurts me more than you know
So much more than it shows
All at once

All at once I’m drifting on a lonely sea
Wishing you’d come back to me
And it hurts me more than you know
So much more than it shows
All at once

“Didn’t We Almost Have It All”

Remember when we held on in the rain
The nights we almost lost it
Once again we can take the night into tomorrow
Living on feelings
Touching you I feel it all again

Didn’t we almost have it all
When love was all we had worth giving?
The ride with you was worth the fall my friend
Loving you makes life worth living
Didn’t we almost have it all
The night we held on till the morning
You know you’ll never love that way again
Didn’t we almost have it all

The way you used to touch me felt so fine
We kept our hearts together down the line
A moment in the soul can last forever
Comfort and keep us
Help me bring the feeling back again

Didn’t we almost have it all
When love was all we had worth giving?
The ride with you was worth the fall my friend
Loving you makes life worth living
Didn’t we almost have it all
The nights we held on till the morning
You know you’ll never love that way again
Didn’t we almost have it all

Didn’t we have the best of times
When love was young and new?
Couldn’t we reach inside and find
The world of me and you?
We’ll never lose it again
Cause once you know what love is
You never let it end

Didn’t we almost have it all
When love was all we had worth giving?
The ride with you was worth the fall my friend
Loving you makes life worth living
Didn’t we almost have it all
The night we held on till the morning
You know you’ll never love that way again
Didn’t we almost have it all

Didn’t we almost have it all

See also:

33 thoughts on “Whitney Houston – All at Once & Didn’t We Almost Have It All

  1. We got the news in the car. My college friend, her daughter (my goddaughter) and I had been shopping. We could not believe what we were hearing. We listed to the recent song of Whitney’s and we were sad to hear the difference in her voice. Even sadder to hear of her passing. May she rest in peace.

  2. Sherry,

    I heard here, via Jess (thanks Jess…). But it didn’t really hit me until I woke up this morning. Then I realized “Whitney’s really… gone” and I felt like bursting into tears. I want to cry even listening to these songs.

    This is not how I wanted to start 2012.

  3. Its so hard to pick a Whitney favorite. She had unbelievable balleds not just from the bodyguard soundtrack (which she is remembered most for obviously) but these two right here, you give good love, all the man that I need, if you say my eyes are beautiful which is a beautiful duet with Jermaine Jackson, Hold me another GREAT duet with the late Teddy Pendergrass and the list goes on and on.

    I have to say though and may be suprising but if I absolutely had to pick a favorite it would be her upbeat 80’s song How Will I know. Reason being when I was 5 years old, I could not stop singing that song and it always made feel good and still does everytime I hear it and whenever I crushed on a boy throughout my adolescence, I played that song in my room daydreaming. I had the best memories attached to that song. I loved How Will I know, I wanna dance with Somebody, and So emotional just as much as her iconic ballads.

    One moment in time, Miracle, and her duet with Mariah When you believe is probably the most inspirational for me and I would still routinely listen to those songs when I desperately needed a lift along with Michael Jacksons You are not Alone. RIP

  4. Jess,

    “Its so hard to pick a Whitney favorite.”

    It is. So I just don’t.

    I simply chose these songs because I felt they were more fitting for a remembrance.

    “I have to say though and may be suprising but if I absolutely had to pick a favorite it would be her upbeat 80′s song How Will I know.”

    I love “How Will I Know.” I did the same thing with jamming to the song when I had a crush or new love. I thought I was the only one. 🙂

    A lot of her newer songs, which people tend to forget, I also really like. Such as “Heartbreak Hotel” (love; Faith and Kelly rocked that as well), “It’s Not Right, But It’s Okay,” “I Learned From the Best,” and “Same Script, Different Cast” which I featured here in the past.

  5. Of her later songs I think Its not right but its okay was my fave (remix version) and actually I look to you. Even if the voice wasnt the same, somethin about that song got to me especially watching her perform it on tv. I felt it was a really personal song for her as well.

    Before her downfall, she was also a great if not the best image for black women in popular culture. I remember when I was a kid, everyone loving her and agreeing that she was beautiful. Talented, brown, beautiful and with a great girl next door smile. She was ridiculously beautiful in waiting to exhale.

    For me she has to be the best female singer ever not just one of the best. I definitely was crazy about Mariah too (lord knows her music got me through highschool) and Celine is still to this day a heck of a singer but Whitneys purity, strength and richness of her tone was unmatched. She was the most astounding to listen to live. Her vocals were feminine yet very strong.

    I want to watch the bodyguard asap!

  6. Jess,

    “Talented, brown, beautiful and with a great girl next door smile.”

    Hah. That’s a nice summation.

    “For me she has to be the best female singer ever not just one of the best.”

    I would put Whitney as the greatest singer ever, but I think there are many other greats. Mariah and Celine, and Mary, are amazing too, in different ways. In terms of quality songs + vocal ability, I am in love with Brandy.

    It’s hard to say who is the definitive best. But certainly Whitney deserved all the success and praise she got.

  7. Out of all those 90’s black female singers (not counting the obvious choices like Mariah), vocally I would say I enjoyed Monica the most but Brandy had more of a distinctive sound (did not sound like anyone else and still doesnt) and I admire what she can do with her voice.

    With Mary honestly I didnt care for her vocals on record. I knew she could sing but didnt like her tone at all but happened to see her live and she flat out blew me away, brought the place down!

    When Christina Aguilera came out with her first album, I was pretty floored by her voice although I remembered her anyway from the mmc and she was great as a kid too but she doesnt sound the same to me anymore and she shouldnt be losing her voice at only 31 years old. Of course she still has a voice and can sing but it really does not sound the same live the way it did back then. I think she growls alot now to look like she is hitting those notes but she’s really not. Its just not the same. Kelly Clarkson and Carrie Underwood are really good vocalists as well but I dont think anyone of this generation is in the league of the trinity (whitney, Mariah, Celine) I liked some of Celine’s songs but wasnt a huge fan but I still couldnt believe her vocals at times like divas 99 with all the divas singing natural woman together. She owned everybody on that stage!

  8. Jess,

    I think Monica has more of a classically good voice, but yes, Brandy’s voice is more distinct and her songs are always amazing. To me, some of Monica’s song are great, but others are mediocre.

    Mary can yell sometimes on songs, but she is so passionate and comes out with the best songs that I can’t help but love her. I’m not surprised she is great live because her voice is so strong.

    “Kelly Clarkson and Carrie Underwood are really good vocalists as well”

    Those American Idol peeps are some of the only real singers around nowadays! I like Jordin Sparks as well.

    Celine Dion is all sorts of amazing.

  9. ^This is not about “mourning an entertainer” — I don’t do that. I will rarely make a tribute post when a famous person dies, and I don’t care for posts and tributes to the person by other people. The Michael Jackson mourning had me nearly burying my head in the sand to get away from it.

    This is about saying goodbye to someone who had a major effect on my life. Whitney was not just an entertainer to me, even if she was to you. Even if most of the world wasn’t having dedications and memoriams to her right now, I still would be. Because she was that important to me, famous or not.

    I don’t have to know a person in the flesh for them to have an impact on who I am; I feel weird that people think that you must in order to care about someone or for them to affect you. Whitney and her music had that impact, so it would be impossible for me not to mention her passing.

  10. People can feel how they like.

    I just don’t feel the same about entertainers, no matter how good their singing are unless I’ve known them. They are no more important to me than the lady who gets hit crossing the street by a car.

  11. “People can feel how they like.”

    Well, yes.

    If people don’t care/feel awkward about the post, they can skip it. That’s fine. I skip a lot of posts that don’t move me in any particular way; I still however realize they might be important to the person posting it and other people in the discussion.

  12. Whitney Houston wasnt just any entertainer though. She was Whitney Houston, American Icon and a Black female Icon. Although not as much as Whitney, I was sad about Michael as well and understood obviously all the tributes to him. People have different reasons to mourn whatever celebrity they do. There are memories attached to certain celebrities. Michael and Whitney dying not only made me sad cause they were gone but it was almost like the death of my childhood in a way even though thats been long gone. Theres so many memories attached to their songs from Rock with you being my parents favorite song to Whitneys album “Whitney” being the first record ever bought for me at 5 years old. For those of us who were children in the 80’s and early 90’s who dont even remember a time where there wasnt a Whitney or MJ, it feels damn weird that they are gone.

    Its not the same to me as some lady I didnt know who lives down the street because with musical artists, you know apart of them through their music and not to mention the impact music has on your own life especially if you love it as much as I do. Whitney was the soundtrack to my life. Ive got memories attached to nearly every song from crying in my room to all at once after my first boyfriend broke up with me to daydreaming about my crushes to How Will I know. The music she made contributed to my life. Thats what any truly good music will do.

    It is annoying when people who werent really fans act like they are huge fans now that they are gone but in the case of Whitney and Michael, if you like music period and your over a certain age theres a big chance at one point you were a fan of these two artists.

  13. As a singer, I understand the power of music. The Ancient Greeks understood it so well that EVERYONE learned how to sing or play an instrument. They even broke it down to tell folks what type of music to listen to when they wanted a certain effect!

  14. I try to distance myself from all the crap you can read about her these days. It’s a disgrace. Just let her rest in peace.

    I was never much of a fan, so I can’t contribute to the discussion in any meaningful way. She had one of the most beautiful and strongest voices in popular music (= non-opera) and she will always be remembered.

  15. Oh I get that Alee is not happy with me lol.

    Mira… Just like people forgot that Michael Jackson was a kiddy fiddler? We should celebrate Hitler for his paintings lol (Godwin’s law I know I know)

    Btw people are saying that she was just as dbr as bobby.

  16. While I find it odd when people are besides themselves with grief over a famous person I think it is perfectly ok to acknowledge their passing. I have done it in the past on my blog. However what I find highly annoying is when people say why are you mourning this person when there are x amount of people in the world that are suffering. As if feeling compassion for one person negates caring about other people. Stupid argument but it always comes up.

  17. Jess,

    “Although not as much as Whitney, I was sad about Michael as well and understood obviously all the tributes to him.”

    Same. I liked Michael but he didn’t have as great an effect on me as Whitney did. Most of my family, however, really loved Michael and I understand that they were shocked when he passed away.

    “For those of us who were children in the 80′s and early 90′s who dont even remember a time where there wasnt a Whitney or MJ, it feels damn weird that they are gone.”

    It does. It feels weird — no more Whitney or her music. Although of course I’ll still play her music every day as usual.

    …with musical artists, you know apart of them through their music and not to mention the impact music has on your own life especially if you love it as much as I do.”

    Right. Music is really important in my life: I love music. I know everyone’s not the same, but it does effect my life and feelings.

    “Whitney was the soundtrack to my life…The music she made contributed to my life. Thats what any truly good music will do.”

    *stands and applauds*

    That’s a real positive now; she has so many songs we can remember her by.

    Well, you expressed what I was trying to say better than I could.

    Sherry, yes, music is that important.

  18. Mira,

    “I try to distance myself from all the crap you can read about her these days. It’s a disgrace. Just let her rest in peace.”

    I really don’t watch much TV these days, but I do see a lot of this on the internet. And I simply ignore it because it’s so tactless; it’s so disgusting.

    I mean, okay, not everyone is going to really care about her passing and will joke about her past. But I’m just very put off by it. From all accounts, she wasn’t a “bad” person, she didn’t commit any heinous crime. She just had her own peculiar issues, as we all do. So why drag her through the mud now that she’s gone?

    It all reminds me how judgmental people can be, yet they want people not to judge them. Really, show me the person that doesn’t have a fault that could be picked on mercilessly. I’m sure at my worst points I’ve done things that people wouldn’t agree with. I wish when I die people won’t throw dirt on my name, but I’m not too hopeful.

    Wanderlust,

    Agreed: the “what about the people who die every day” argument is so tired.

  19. Nkosazana,

    “Oh I get that Alee is not happy with me lol.”

    Well, I already knew what you’d say if you came into the discussion. So it’s definitely not surprising.

    Still, one thing that you have to realize about me is that I don’t feel comfortable around very judgmental people/moralizers or tactless people. I really dislike moralizers and most of them dislike me as well. I just don’t like people dismissing others because they do things differently or people trying to set the standards for what is appropriate behavior. And I don’t like people who have no regard for others and their feelings.

    I mean, I’ve dated men who have had drug problems. So I guess that indicates something about my character or I’m DBR like they are (as they must be, since people who do or have done drugs are all dysfunctional)?

    By all means, if a person is hurting others, feel free to judge them (at the same time understanding what motivates them to behave the way they do). But under most circumstances, I can’t get with people saying, “this is wrong, that is wrong, WTF is this, why are you doing this, that is weird”. It makes me separate myself from the person and makes me know that I can never get too close to them because they’d judge me too.

  20. @Alee

    Nkosazana is, as usual, an instigator. Makes me damn glad I don’t know her in real life. She obviously has no friends when all she does is surf the internet all day and make snarky, bigoted, RACIST (yeah, I said racist) comments about people she doesn’t even know – including Americans when she has only been to America once. LOL! And yet she’s too chicken to post a visible pic of herself online. All mouth and no teeth.

    “By all means, if a person is hurting others, feel free to judge them (at the same time understanding what motivates them to behave the way they do). But under most circumstances, I can’t get with people saying, “this is wrong, that is wrong, WTF is this, why are you doing this, that is weird”. It makes me separate myself from the person and makes me know that I can never get too close to them because they’d judge me too.”

    ^^^ Are you reading this, Nkosazana??

  21. I see, could have saved me a lot of trouble. I just think it’s wrong to bring drugs into your home with children but what do I know. Singing covers all wrong doings. But never mind me, my morality and lack of regard. Finish & klaar.

  22. @Ana,

    I appreciate your comment (FYI, it has been edited as per the guidelines). But please, please, please do not use this blog as an arena to trash others. I can not have that here. I do not want to create an atmosphere where people are attacking each other and feel attacked. We can all be civil.

    In the future, comments of this nature will not be approved and/or will be deleted.

  23. Nkosazana,

    “I just think it’s wrong to bring drugs into your home with children”

    I’m sure it’s not helpful and is harmful, but is it entirely necessary to bring that up in a tribute thread?

    I doubt there is a soul reading this who wasn’t aware that Whitney had some drug issues in her personal life. So just this once, when we’re paying our respects, could you leave that out? It’s not really relevant.

    “…but what do I know. Singing covers all wrong doings.”

    And having drug problems doesn’t negate positive things you’ve done.

    Believe it or not, Whitney’s singing has had a positive influence on the lives of others. I’m not saying I cosign everything she did in life and she was a wonderful person because she was a wonderful singer. But I’m saying… she was a person.

    I guess you have to put yourself in the shoes of the person who passed away (if that is possible). Take Ana for example, I’m sure you wouldn’t like for her and others to come to a tribute post/wake/funeral about you when you’ve passed, and trash you and say how you’ve possibly failed as a mother (not saying you have). And people who cared about you, including me, would likewise not be happy about it. Because it’s just tactless, it’s rude, it’s hurtful, and it’s unnecessary.

    No one’s saying you’re “wrong” for having your views, like we all do. But just realize your views are not the only ones and those who think differently are not necessarily “wrong” either.

  24. Happy Valentines Everyone….It’s really strange how certain artists impact your life with their music or movies etc…. eg Ms. Whitney Houston. I remember a time in my life where you could never say nothing bad about (Whitney) in front of me or else we were going to fight.(lol)

    I mean Whitney was fighting some demons in her life but who isn’t? She was a remarkable lady who poured her soul in her music and brought us brighter music than the 80’s/90’s combined…..

    I agree with @ Jessica “it was almost like the death of my childhood in a way even though thats been long gone, There’s so many memories attached to their songs”

    Whitney’s death was shock to me and a realisation that things are changing rapidly because I never ever thought she would leave so soon….

    Unfortunately, now we are stuck with a majority of gimmick artists who claim to be the real things….

    Anywho, my condolences to her family and her daughter…

    Thank you Whitney for the great music of my youth and for God to give you the talent he/she gave you…..I will miss you

    R.I.P

  25. Promised myself to not comment anymore but..

    Ana is the one stalking me all over having various sock puppets calling a woman who is “living well” a prostitute who should go to europe and sell herself like the rest of the nigerian women. I belive she said pot calling the kettle?

    At least i don’t pretend to be various persons. I don’t know much about computers but if several people have the same ip, there’s something fishy Mimi, Erica etc. But I can take my she-man bobble headface and leave so you can have the internet for yourself.

    Btw I have plenty friends but I put my children first. But that is apparantly wrong off me.

  26. And yay for letting her through. I get why, I can take the hint. As I said finish and klaar.

  27. Nkosazana,

    I let all comments through, unless they are spam or the comment is irrelevant to the discussion (not that Ana’s comment was extremely relevant, but it was in response to previous comments).

    The reason I do this is so people won’t say I’m being unfair or biased. (They still do, but…) I’m sure if I deleted that comment, she and other people would claim I am “censoring” her and it’s not fair, and why don’t I censor you because you make offensive comments as well, etc. People take it personally when their comments are deleted and/or disapproved of. A large part of the reason why you don’t see some commenters that used to be here is because I somehow disapproved of a comment they made and they took it personally and decided to no longer comment.

    But I’m thinking of instituting a guideline that no one can make attacking or name-calling comments about other commenters. The only reason I haven’t is because like I said, people get mad and leave if their comments aren’t approved of, and also because it can become a little sticky trying to decide what’s an attack and what is not.

  28. Mkhululi,

    “I remember a time in my life where you could never say nothing bad about (Whitney) in front of me or else we were going to fight.(lol)”

    Lol. I hear that.

    I wouldn’t fight with anyone, but trust I am taking notes on who and who (offline) is saying negative things about Whitney at this time. KG has only made positive or neutral comments; I wouldn’t expect otherwise. 😉

    “She was a remarkable lady who poured her soul in her music and brought us brighter music than the 80′s/90′s combined…”

    This reminds me of something my mother said when I spoke to her on the phone today:

    “People are saying we shouldn’t care, she was just a singer, people die every day. But Whitney dedicated her life to bringing us music that we could love forever. She never made a poor quality song or something that wouldn’t touch us in some way. She didn’t have to do all that she did, and I hate to think this, but the stress and weight of it all might have been the reason why she did some of the things people are condemning her for now. But I think we can all say: Whitney made her contribution to the world.”

  29. Her death has had a profound effect on me. As a little girl, I thought that she was so beautiful with a voice equally as beautiful as she looked. Her image was perfect, so much so that I wanted to be like her as well as others girls that I knew. No perfect person exists and Whitney was a girl herself trapped by this image, probably lonely and tired at times, wanting to live a normal life. I understand why she struggled when she was going through all of those trying times so publicly. But I don’t understand why she had to go so soon and the way in which it happened. It didn’t have to be that way if the people around her really cared for her well- being. It’s easy to point fingers, I guess, but in the end, she was an adult who made her own choices. I’m deeply saddened as a lifelong fan that she’s no longer with us. She was a gift to the world and now I hope that she’s finally happy and free in Heaven. Still, it irks me when some of the same people tearing her down while she was alive **cough cough** Wendy Williams, etc., now want to shed crocodile tears talking about how sorry they are for what they said or how they treated her.**shudders** I hate fake people and what a better way to bring out insincerity than when someone dies and they want to ease their guilty consciences **SMH**Sorry for the long rant…

  30. Hi funkystarkitty,

    “I don’t understand why she had to go so soon and the way in which it happened. It didn’t have to be that way if the people around her really cared for her well- being.”

    I agree to an extent, but everyone is also responsible for their own choices in life. We can’t blame it all on her family and friends.

    “It’s easy to point fingers, I guess, but in the end, she was an adult who made her own choices.”

    …Right. 🙂

    Wendy’s always talking about someone. Sometimes she’s entertaining; at least she’ll call people out on stuff that no one else will. Other times she’s just annoying.

  31. So so sad. I loved Whitney so much as a child. She was a goddess to me. When Michael Jackson died, I found myself taking it a lot harder than I could ever have forseen, as I hadn’t really liked him for years. But, I remember distinctly thinking, at least Whitney, who so many expected to go first, was still alive, and soon after that she started her comeback, and I was just really grateful that she was still with us. And now she’s gone…

    Interesting, despite loving Whitney, I do get Nkosanza’s point about the drug use and the effect on her child from being raised in that environment. I remember feeling really saddened about the ordeals that her little girl must have gone through. Same as I feel so sorry for Courtney Love’s daughter, Frances Bean. Having drug addict parents must be hellish for a child.

    But I could never hate Whitney even for that. I haven’t walked in her shoes, none of us have. So many people dream of being a superstar without realising the immense unrelenting psychological pressure there is on these people, from their Record labels, managers, fans, media, family members, hangers on etc. Maybe drugs were the only way out she could see. Death is another way out, of course.

    Here’s a recent open letter from Robyn Crawford, Whitney’s best friend and former personal assistant in Esquire, that throws some light on her life and the kind of immense pressure she was constantly under.
    http://www.esquire.com/the-side/music/whitney-houston-6654718

  32. Hi Kat,

    I agree that people don’t realize the pressure that is on you when you’re a star. Especially when you’ve carved out a high place for yourself — people expect you to keep that up, and it can be stressful.

    Thanks for the link. It was an interesting read.

Leave a Reply

