It’s Alee’s Birthday… Again

birthday-cake-taper-candles

But you knew that already, didn’t you?

In case you somehow amazingly didn’t realize it, today is one of the most important days of the year — February 28th. 20 and some odd years ago today, I, Alee was born. Some say each person’s personal new year begins on their annual birthday. If so, my new year begins today.

After a not-so-great 2011, I wish for a more positive and joyous 2012, and a more positive and joyous me. I’ve laid down many plans, with many more to come, dedicated specifically to this goal. Here’s to wishing that all my wishes come true.

*Blows out the candles*

See also:

 

 

32 thoughts on “It’s Alee’s Birthday… Again

  1. Happy, Happy Birthday Miss Alee! I love celebrating my birthday too. I am sure your 2012 will be better.

  2. Hi Mira, thanks!

    I think it might already be the 29th where you are. But I more or less consider the 29th my birthday as well since the 29thers like to steal my birthday 3 out of every 4 years… Might as well steal theirs too! Lol.

  3. It was about Midnight when I posted my question. Maybe a bit later; I didn’t check.

    Oh, you should soooo steal 29thers’ birthday!

    This is interesting… Why do they steal 28th and not March 1st? I know they probably want to celebrate their birthday in February because they are born in February, but hey, technically, they are born one day after February 28th, so this is when they should celebrate their birthday, right?

  4. Mira,

    “Oh, you should soooo steal 29thers’ birthday!”

    Consider it stolen. I’m going to celebrate tomorrow too.

    Anyway, I didn’t do a whole lot today except watch a film in the afternoon and talk to people wishing me happy birthday. It rained later on in the day (:( ) so I had to find my way inside, plus I was getting jittery from not having enough alone time.

    But it’s odd how many people you haven’t talked to in so long come out only on your birthday. Some people who called I was tempted to ask, “How did you get my new number?” But I figured they were kind enough to call, so. 🙂

    “This is interesting… Why do they steal 28th and not March 1st?”

    Yes, it’s probably because they were born in February. And also because it would be weird celebrating your birthday after it technically has already passed but plenty of people celebrate their birthdays early.

  5. Happy New Year Alee,

    May you have more blessed days and may your dreams and wishes come true in 2012…..

  6. Mkhululi,

    “Happy New Year Alee”

    Thank you, you’re so sweet. 😀

    Thanks Bunny. 🙂

    P.S.You should bring your bunny avatar over to WordPress/Gravatar, it’s just too cute.

  7. In my culture (I think) it’s considered bad luck to wish someone happy birthday before their birthday, and also to celebrate it. So we either celebrate it on that day or after it.

  8. Happy birthday!

    When you get as old as I am you don’t count your birthdays any more. Only one that makes a big deal out of it is your husband.

  9. “20 and some odd years ago today…” Biatch!! I miss my 20’s ;,,( Just kidding. Happy belated birthday 🙂

  10. Mira,

    “In my culture (I think) it’s considered bad luck to wish someone happy birthday before their birthday, and also to celebrate it.”

    Oh, really? Interesting. I’m actually celebrating my birthday well into March this year though so I guess that works. 🙂

    Grace,

    “Happy birthday!

    When you get as old as I am you don’t count your birthdays any more.”

    Ha! You say that like you’re over 40 or 50.

  11. Me (…Who are you? Send me an email if you don’t want to say here), thanks for the birthday wishes,

    ‘“20 and some odd years ago today…” Biatch!!’

    LMAO.

    I’m actually one of those people who don’t care for youth. In fact I hate when people say I look younger, even though they think they’re giving me a compliment. Like, why would I want to look younger, I’m already young! I feel like I never get officially “old” and it’s so tragic.

    Thank you Mary Ellen. 😀

  12. Happy belated birthday alee, I see you are my sweet mom’s birthday mate 🙂 and if you are anything like my mom, people would ask you your secret for timeless beauty. I think it’s more accurate for feb 29ers to celebrate a day after feb 28 since there are born a day after anyways unless they want to stay true to their month. Honestly I feel that the extra day should have been taken from dec, not feb although that would make dec 31 babies VERY CONFUSED…..lol.

  13. Hi jennifer, thanks.

    “I see you are my sweet mom’s birthday mate”

    Cool. Love the 28thers of any month, but especially February 28thers, even though they’re trying to steal my shine and all. 😉

    “I think it’s more accurate for feb 29ers to celebrate a day after feb 28 since there are born a day after anyways unless they want to stay true to their month.”

    March is great too, but February is cooler (often literally) and just has a ring to it, so of course they’d want to stay on this side.

    “Honestly I feel that the extra day should have been taken from dec, not feb although that would make dec 31 babies VERY CONFUSED…..lol.”

    Very. Lol.

  14. Hey Jae!

    At first I was wondering if I knew you from somewhere, and now I know I do!

    Thanks for the b-day present, you’re far too kind. 😀

  15. I think the idea of not celebrating your birthday before it happens is, well, you might bring bad luck to yourself and get hit by a truck before your birthday, and you already acted as if all went well. Similarly, buying baby clothes before the baby is born is considered a bad luck. This is why people are in a great hurry after a child is born, since you have to buy everything for the baby before the mother leaves the hospital.

  16. Thanks, Funkystarkitty!

    Mira,

    “I think the idea of not celebrating your birthday before it happens is, well, you might bring bad luck to yourself and get hit by a truck before your birthday”

    Well, yeah that’d be pretty awful, I agree. 😀

    “Similarly, buying baby clothes before the baby is born is considered a bad luck. This is why people are in a great hurry after a child is born, since you have to buy everything for the baby before the mother leaves the hospital.”

    Lol. You all make these things so much more complex than they need to be. 🙂

Leave a Reply

