7 Celebrities I’m Tired of Hearing About

I had another post planned for today, but I was compelled to write this one instead. From internet to TV, I’ve found there are some celebrities I’m always hearing about. They don’t have to be doing anything significant at the moment, just be where they can be seen, and immediately the media picks up on it.

Well, I’m getting just a bit tired of these overexposed and often overhyped “stars” and I’m probably not the only one. If you’re a big fan of any of them, I apologize in advance. Just consider this my rant of the month.

brad-pitt

7. Brad Pitt – Brad makes this list mainly because we haven’t had a break from him in over a decade. Even when he’s not doing anything substantial in the acting world, I’m hard pressed not to come across news about him and his similarly overexposed lovers, Angelina Jolie and Jennifer Aniston.

At this point, he is simply living on being “Brad Pitt”.

bradley-cooper

6. Bradley Cooper – The tale of another Brad.

Something about the name Brad must cause mass female hysteria because Bradley Cooper has joined the ranks of the previously mentioned Brad as celebrity dream crush and now we have to hear his name in very discussion about male celebrities.  In 2011 he was crowned both “International Man of the Year” by GQ magazine and “Sexiest Man Alive” by People magazine, and the rest was history.

sofia-vergara

5. Sofia Vergara – Why do I even know who she is?

Actually, I don’t really. I don’t know of anything she’s done, but I’ve read she is an actress. I do recall she’s been in a couple of commercials, including the funny Pepsi commercial co-starring David Beckham. But I’ve heard more (too much more) about her supposed sex appeal and “it” factor, and I just don’t get it.

megan-fox

4. Megan Fox – When I think Megan Fox, I think mediocre acting and a highly made-up face which at this point only remotely resembles her old self. Why is she still relevant? Oh right, men. I’m calling it early: she is a plastic surgery horror story waiting to happen.

lebron-james

3. Lebron James – Okay, I get it. Lebron is a decent basketball player, better than decent. He has size, power. But is he really essentially the only player that deserves recognition? Does he deserve the awe and admiration he garners by merely walking on to the court? If Lebron James played in a game, everyone focuses on his performance even when there were others who played better.

You know you’re overexposed when even your fans get tired of hearing about you.

kim-kardashian

2. Kim Kardashian – In 2010 I wondered when Kim Kardashian’s 20 minutes of fame would be up. And in 2012 I’m still wondering.

Unlike most others on this list Kim doesn’t have any real talent or career, which makes the intense focus on the goings-on of her life even more unwarranted. Unless of course you consider the ability to be rich and famous while doing nothing to be a talent (and judging by Kim’s longevity, it might be).

One commenter put it best: “When? When will be rid of her?”

beyonce

1. Beyonce – Beyonce is a truly intriguing character. Few other stars are so hated, yet so loved at the same time. Beyonce started her career well enough and was liked. But she soon overstayed her welcome with constant media appearances and a clear self-involvement.

Beyonce’s personal life tends to be controversial because it’s shrouded in purposeful mystery and many say, myths. Now she’s sparked more irritation with her claims to have given birth and shed the leftover baby weight of 60 pounds (27 kgs) in four months. Did Beyonce really lose 60 pounds, you ask? Yes, of course. People do all sorts of amazing things in their dreams.

34 thoughts on “7 Celebrities I’m Tired of Hearing About

  1. lol 🙂 , I agree…Beyonce’ is by far the most overexposed Celeb, there ever was. She makes Lindsay Lohan and Paris Hilton, seem irrelevant. (not that they are relevant)

    I seriously don’t really understand why Kim is so famous, she doesn’t have personality to engage people, just looks(No Offense) but my opinion….The most interesting and entertaining Kardashian sister….is Khloe. But that Khloe and Lamar show has to come to an end, it’s torture….

    I like me some Bradley Cooper though, whoaaaaa. He’s a hot piece of stake…… lol 🙂

  2. Kim K definitely. But as hard as it may be, sometimes you have to tune out mass media. We have to train ourselves to ignore these people. I’m biased about Beyonce, because I am a fan– not a crazy one, but I don’t mind hearing about her. The others you mentioned seem to get way more attention. Celebrity coverage in our culture is fueled by demand. Papparazzi get paid ridiculous money for pics of these people– I think it’s crazy. But if the public weren’t buying the publications, this would stop. Its on us.

  3. Ok how did Rhianna not make this list?! Also tack on any reality tv star. I agree with 1 and 2 however they can easily be interchangeable for me. I guess being in England I don’t get too much over exposure of American stars these days. I can hear about Bradley Cooper a lot more 🙂

  4. mkhululie,

    “I agree…Beyonce’ is by far the most overexposed Celeb, there ever was.”

    I think she purposely tries to push herself into the spotlight (all while trying to keep matters of her personal life private), to become this “megastar”. This is another reason people are tired of her.

    “She makes Lindsay Lohan and Paris Hilton, seem irrelevant.”

    They’re definitely irrelevant nowadays!

    “I seriously don’t really understand why Kim is so famous”

    She, like Beyonce, shoves her way to the forefront, she’s loves the attention. And her bazillion flings and relationships give people new things to talk about.

    “I like me some Bradley Cooper though, whoaaaaa. He’s a hot piece of stake…… lol :)”

    This is all everyone ever says about him! Seriously, that’s the only reason I know who he is — women (regular women and celebs alik) are always saying how hot he is or saying something like, “Well, he’s cute but he’s no Bradley Cooper!” What, you all don’t watch any of his movies? Why don’t you talk about his acting skills or something? Lol.

  5. madasiamese,

    “But as hard as it may be, sometimes you have to tune out mass media. We have to train ourselves to ignore these people.”

    I tune out someone when they become annoying, but it’s still tiring to have to tune them out! I do pay attention to media as I’m interested in music and the arts.

    “I’m biased about Beyonce, because I am a fan– not a crazy one, but I don’t mind hearing about her.”

    I like some of Beyonce’s music too and I think she’s a great performer however I find her personality slightly ridiculous. I feel like she doesn’t tell the truth about a lot of things (+ gets her friends and those around her to also lie if they are asked about it). That makes me think she believes the public is stupid.

    “The others you mentioned seem to get way more attention.”

    No, no way! Maybe Kim Kardashian and Brad Pitt (but only in relation to the amount of work he’s done in the past few years). But Beyonce gets wayyyy more attention than the rest, although they also get far too much attention.

    wanderlust,

    “Ok how did Rhianna not make this list?!”

    LOL. I very much suspected someone would mention her. I’m glad you did! 🙂

    I agree that Rihanna is overexposed (at times, literally…). But I actually don’t mind her. I don’t find her annoying as a person/famous character so that’s why she’s not on here. I was thinking of adding celebrities I don’t mind hearing about as a side-note to this post, but I may do that as a separate post.

    “I can hear about Bradley Cooper a lot more :)”

    Of course. Everyone wouldn’t mind more Bradley Cooper, everyone except me it seems. Hah.

  6. “What, you all don’t watch any of his movies? Why don’t you talk about his acting skills or something? Lol”

    I’ve seen some of his movies, he is an average actor but his looks are bewitching… He’s not beautiful like (Brad Pitt or Denzel Washington) but he has an interesting face and he looks someone who loves deeply….

  7. mkhululie,

    “I’ve seen some of his movies, he is an average actor but his looks are bewitching”

    Oh, I see. This must be why I never hear about his work, but always hear about his looks. I guess women aren’t the only ones to become popular via their looks!

    “He’s not beautiful like (Brad Pitt or Denzel Washington) but he has an interesting face”

    Neither of them are beauties IMO. Brad was okay/kind of cute when he was younger but now? No. Whoever told him that beard was a good idea must have been tired of him like I am, and plotting to kick him out of the “Hottest Guys Ever” list. Lol.

    Bradley has a very “pinched” look and is a bit pretty for me. I knew he had Italian heritage immediately even though his name doesn’t suggest it. He’s like an Italian pretty chipmunk. 🙂

  8. lol 🙂 @ “Whoever told him that beard was a good idea must have been tired of him like I am, and plotting to kick him out of the “Hottest Guys Ever” list.”….well it’s about time that he retired from that list. I always thought that he was/is overrated.

  9. Here is my Top 10 list of celebrities I wish would just.go.away.

    1. Kim Kardashian
    2. Kim Kardashian
    3. Kim Kardashian
    4. Kim Kardashian
    5. Kim Kardashian
    6. Kim Kardashian
    7. Kim Kardashian
    8. Kim Kardashian
    9. Kim Kardashian
    10. Kim Kardashian

  10. LOL @ jrd’s list. I would agree with that mainly because she doesn’t even have a talent and shouldn’t even be known to ANYONE but her family.

  11. jrd — LOL.

    Kim does have that special quality that makes her just nauseating, doesn’t she? I believe she actually thinks she’s a star, on par with others, when in fact she’s a pseudoceleb.

    I saw this coming way back when she was Paris Hilton’s sidekick — she picked up Paris’ way of staying relevant even when you’re not. But she’s far outlasted even her predecessor.

  12. Interesting list. Some people are definitely overexposed, though it depends on their actual work. Someone who is talented and have a career (Beyonce) can last longer and survive a stronger media exposure than someone who is famous for being famous (Kim Kardashian).

    That being said, I don’t think I know anything about Bradley Cooper (who is he? He’s not that hot, at least not on this photo), Sofia Vergara and Lebron James.

    As for Beyonce, I don’t hear much gossip about her so I’m ok with her even though I’m not a fan. Brangelina seems to be the news on itself for some reason.

  13. Mira,

    Well, it seems like there has to be a balancing act. Even if you are producing lots of albums/films/episodes/whatever, you need to not also be at every award show, on every magazine cover, etc. Or people will start to get bored of you.

    “I don’t think I know anything about Bradley Cooper”

    I was thinking he hadn’t spread much outside of North America and the UK… Hopefully he never does.

    He’s an actor. To be honest, I don’t know much about his work. I just see and hear about him everywhere.

    I agree he isn’t that hot, but we’re probably in the minority on that one.

    Sofia Vergara is also an actress who seemingly came out of nowhere. Lebron is an NBA player currently with the Miami Heat. I’m sooo tired of him. If the Heat beat Kevin Durant’s Thunder in the NBA finals I’ll know someone hates me because then we’ll never get rid of him. But I know that won’t happen!

    Hi Fashionista (from one to another 🙂 ),

    I would like to hear about anyone besides these people!

    Lol, on a serious note, I’m going to do a post soon about the people I don’t mind hearing about.

  14. I actually don’t mind Sofia Vergara. She is occupying the sexy, fiery Latina spot that used to be held by Salma Hayek. And she’s pretty funny in Modern Family. I don’t see too much about her.
    But then, I don’t see too much about any of these people cause I am quite unplugged from mainstream media. The only person who manages to penetrate my cocoon of self-imposed pop culture banishment is Kim Kardashian and that is cause I am on the Internet a lot, and so is she, dammit.
    However, even stupid news about her has quieted down a lot (for me) after that ridiculous phony wedding (I’m angry I even know about it).
    I know there is controversy about Beyonce but she is so bland and vapid that I can’t ascribe much intent or agency to her actions. It surprises me that people feel so passionately about her
    As for Bradley Cooper, I enjoyed a few of the movies he appeared in but he looks like a douchebag date rapist to me. Sorry. I do not see the appeal at all. Actually, strike that. I did see the appeal when I saw a clip of him being interviewed on French television, in French, and him responding in equally fluent French. But that had nothing to do with his looks.
    Brad Pitt, also a non-entity for me. I was more interested in Angelina Jolie, before her slow transformation to St Angie, but now they both seem quite dull. Too much exposure.
    My crush du jour is Michael Fassbender though. I wish there was more media mentions of him. Everyone went gaga over him in “Inglorious Basterds” but to get the full impact of his charisma and sex appeal, watch a small independent movie called “FishTank”. He is a scuzzball in the film but what a scuzzball!

  15. Fassbender is an excellent actor. I just didn’t like the whole domestic abuse thing.

    And funny you say this, because Fassbender IS all over the place. Have you seen Shame? He deserved an Oscar nom for it (not that I believe in these awards, but still; he was excellent. But Academy doesn’t appreciate movies with this subject and male full frontal). How about Hunger?

    He seems to be Steve McQueen’s muse. Speaking of which, they’re making a third film together, Twelve Years a Slave, with Chiwetel Eijofor in the lead role. I’m kind of excited about this film even though I usually can’t stand movies about slavery. But this one has an amazing cast (probably the best one in years), so I am kind of excited about it.

    It helps that the acting revelation of the year for me (Benedict Cumberbatch) is also in it.

  16. Sophia,

    “I actually don’t mind Sofia Vergara. She is occupying the sexy, fiery Latina spot that used to be held by Salma Hayek.”

    And I was so over Salma Hayek when she was in that position too. It’s always like, “Let’s have one or two hot Latina/black/Asian women.” and people keep talking about them as if they are the only that exist.

    “The only person who manages to penetrate my cocoon of self-imposed pop culture banishment is Kim Kardashian and that is cause I am on the Internet a lot, and so is she, dammit.”

    She is, isn’t she? Always on Twitter, posting pictures of herself and generally being self-absorbed. I notice Twitter is where the attention-seeking celebrities/wannabe celebrities go.

    I don’t hate Beyonce, I just wish she’d quit this whole diva act and stop filling my television/laptop/local newsstand with utter crap.

    I know there aren’t many basketball fans reading, but I’m too excited about the Thunder’s win last night at Game 1 of the Championship against Lebron James and the Heat. Kevin Durant looked sexy as usual, though he doesn’t look as good in photos. Lebron did what he always does — drive. Nothing else but just pushing past people because he’s so huge. Yet Durant is the best player in the NBA… Love Jim Rome for tweeting, “Hey Lebron. Do the right thing. Give Kevin Durant back his MVP award.” My thoughts exactly.

  17. Re: Fassbender, I think he’s a more serious actor (Although lots of women go gaga over him too). For some reason, actors who are truly just focused on their craft and not the fame, you rarely hear about. Maybe because they’re not always talking to the press or going out to be seen by the paparazzi.

  18. I just think it’s interesting about Fassbender, is that he IS in the spotlight at the moment. At least in Europe. Not in Kim Kardashian kind of way, but he’s all over the place.

    Same goes for Benedict Cumberbatch and Tom Hiddleston.

    Again, maybe it’s just an European thing.

    But they’re all great actors so I don’t mind it. (Though I’m getting a bit bored by Hiddleston as Loki and the whole Avengers hype).

  19. I’d say every celebrity….why do we need to know about any of their personal lives? Why not care about the personal lives of conglomerate CEO’s, global billionaires and politicians? Apart from your next coming project, knowing more than that to me is TMI. The gossip, photographs of stolen public moments with family, friends, the obsession over their looks…it’s just ridiculous. I actually used to be obsessed with celeb gossip and just had to stop. It was too much and I learned being so obsessed and focused on talking about other people you don’t know anything about does not breed good habits or character.

    OK, sorry for all that. End rant!

  20. Mira,

    He’s somewhat popular here as well, but not overly so. Many people haven’t heard of him. Tom Hiddleston I’ve never heard of so I don’t think he’s very popular either.

  21. df,

    “I’d say every celebrity….why do we need to know about any of their personal lives? Why not care about the personal lives of conglomerate CEO’s, global billionaires and politicians?”

    Politicians I’d put under “celebrity”. You know Barack is the biggest celeb of the decade. 🙂

    But I’d say it’s nice to know about the “people behind the music/film/show/[insert career here]”. It makes them more relatable and likeable, and gives you an insight into who they are as people. (Though I’m not into celebrity gossip, really, more like celebrity news, i.e. pertinent, factual info.) It’s just that some go too far and never stop talking about them, and people like me feel like banging their head against the table.

  22. What about Benedict Cumberbatch?

    I though Tom Hiddleston was more popular because of the Avengers. I thought I was the only person who didn’t see that film.

  23. I don’t hear about Benedict much at all.

    The Avengers was pretty popular, but for some reason I’ve never heard about Tom Hiddleston as a person.

  24. I meant to add Nicki Minaj to this list, but 8 is a weird number… If I think of a few more I’ll make an “honorable mention”.

    And ugh at Kevin Durant for making me eat my words.

  25. I wholeheartedly agree with putting beyonce on the list. Her voice is like chalk on a chalkboard, her dance moves are silly and she really is self absorbed. I wish she would move to idaho or somewhere and dissapear.

  26. miley cyrus, Lindsey Lohan, Kardashians (all of them), Kanye west, Beyonce,Jlo,Simon Cowell, Robin Thicke and his ugly wife, any one whom contributes to brainwashing people on the internet… Msn , yahoo , tmz and Facebook. all of them can run in hell together as far as I’m concerned.

  27. yo,

    I actually don’t really have a problem with Justin Bieber. He’s immature, yes. But I see him as a child misbehaving. Also, at the time of this post there weren’t as many news stories about him as there are currently.

  28. Add Taylor Swift to the list. And Sofia Vergara is in way too many commercials; so tired of her voice. And, as much as I like Guy Fieri on Food Network, they show his shows too many times in a row. There must be other cooks to watch. Tired of seeing the President, too, since he is so clueless, but we have two more years of him. Just my opinion. God Bless everyone.

Leave a Reply

