The Future of A Lofty Existence, Part 2

rainbow-skyLast week I posted on my thoughts to close this blog and end a year and a half of blogging, commenting and discussion. Reviewing many factors, I wasn’t very pleased with what this blog had become and what I’d gained from my time here.

After thinking about the matter for another week, listening to the ideas of others on how to move forward, and remembering why I began A Lofty Existence, I’ve decided I will not close the blog, nor will I stop writing. For now.

It is true, as some may have noticed, I no longer have the time or enthusiasm to dedicate to this blog. I’ve also encountered behavior I hadn’t planned on from various visitors and commenters, past and present, which made blogging that much more of a hardship. But I plan to change that around. I try to give 100 percent in all of my endeavors and see it all the way through, so this blog shouldn’t be an exception.

However, there will be some major changes in the way this blog is set up and moderated, particularly involving commenting and interaction. The Commenting page will be updated shortly with these new guidelines, but here is a preview:

-No comments of a hostile nature will be accepted. This includes name-calling, bullying, and other personal attacks.

If you are a new commenter, your comment will not be approved, if you’ve commented in the past, your comment will be deleted when it is read and judged to be hateful or malicious. Debates are fine, fights are not. As always, attack the argument, not the person. Absolutely no exceptions. Just none.

I would like everyone to pay special attention to the above so there will be no surprises or resentment if your comment is deleted. As the owner of the blog I have to attempt to bring some harmony. Even if we are well-acquainted, you are not free to disregard this guideline.

No comments using a proxy or IP cloaking will be accepted. If your visit can not be properly recorded, then neither will your comment.

All emails sent to my blog email address must be related to the blog. Emails of a personal nature will not be replied to. Personal comments directed towards me will be replied to at my discretion. I’d like to be friendly with all the blog’s visitors, but let’s keep the friendship contained to the blog.

If three or more of your comments have been deleted and/or never approved, you should take it as a sign that your comments are not welcome on the blog. It’s already too late for apologies.

Overall, I want to emphasize that comments and/or commenters that are meant to be hurtful, spiteful, or invasive will not be given the green light. I’m good at judging intent, but I’m not good at forgiving. Keep that in when you’re thinking of clicking,”Post Comment”.

I am not adding these guidelines to be tough or strict, but it’s clear that they are currently needed for the overall welfare of the blog and its commenters. If you’re commenting with good intent and boundaries, you’ll never have to worry about anything.

As for my posting schedule, I will try to post once or twice a week, minimum, though I can’t make any guarantees. I will also try to post these on the same day, every week, but the best way to know when new posts have been published is to subscribe using one of the options on the sidebar.

The first post following this time frame should be published late this week or early next week. Thanks to everyone for your support and understanding.

21 thoughts on “The Future of A Lofty Existence, Part 2

  1. So it is written, so shall it be! That is only fair and you deserve no less as far as common decency and respect goes. Looking forward to the engaging interactions and repartees.

  2. Hi people,

    Thanks Alee for not closing down…. phew

    I was wondering, why you haven’t posted anything for so long, but now I know. I didn’t know that you had it that bad…. I appreciate your efforts and dedication, on keeping the blog alive…

    I mean this is my home :), for my thoughts, I’ve learned a lot here and have shared a lot too. This is more than just a blog to me, this is therapeutic and soothing and exciting and interesting, to know view of others and to look things in a different perspective….

    Peace & Blessings

  3. Hey Alee, glad you have found a solution that works for you. I hope that the negative people get the picture and just go away. I may not always comment but I do always read and comment where I feel I can add something. Happy you are continuing.

  4. mkhululie,

    Well, I’d just been a little busy, so I had to cut down the frequency of the posts. I usually write out posts beforehand, before typing, so I need to find time away from the computer.

    “I mean this is my home ๐Ÿ™‚ , for my thoughts, Iโ€™ve learned a lot here and have shared a lot too. This is more than just a blog to me, this is therapeutic and soothing and exciting and interesting, to know view of others and to look things in a different perspectiveโ€ฆ”

    Oh, how awesome. I’m glad it’s all of those things for you. At least if the blog exists, it helps people. ๐Ÿ™‚

    wanderlust,

    Thank you for all your support!

    “I hope that the negative people get the picture and just go away.”

    You and I both! Let’s cross our toes…

  5. Gute Nachrichten, Alee!. I will continue to comment and lurk at the same time.

  6. Glad that you are continuing on, your voice here on the blogosphere would have sorely been missed! I admire your fortitude. Maybe with these new rules, they will act as a troll repellant.

  7. Hey, this is great! Glad to see you stay. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Also – and this might be just me – having a new blog post twice a week (or maybe even once a week) is often better than blogging every day. Your posts are always of a good quality, but from a visitor point of view, I think it’s better to have a discussion on a subject going for a few days before moving to another post. Sure, you can always go back, but I think there’s no harm in blogging twice a week. Or even once a week.

  8. I noticed N’kosazana was gone as well. Says her blog doesn’t exist anymore. I often didn’t agree with what she said but she was always interesting and brought something to the blog.

  9. I agree with Mira. Personally, I’m a bit overwhelmed with your posts, as they’re rather complex, emotional, psychological and educational amongst many other things, so I’d like the chance to gather my thoughts and comment as often as possible without having to go looking for it. Yeah, I’m not a techie, but I like posts where the discussion goes on for a while till all are satisfied and then we move on……

  10. Thanks madamesiamese. It will definitely be a bit different here from now on. With the same posts and discussions though, of course. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Nkosazana has been missing without a trace. Commenters come and go, I’m beginning to see. In an ideal world commenters would stay forever, but nope. Of course they’re always welcome to come back whenever they’d like.

  11. Mira,

    “this might be just me โ€“ having a new blog post twice a week (or maybe even once a week) is often better than blogging every day.”

    I agree. For most of this blog’s existence, I posted about every three or four days. I could have posted more often, as I had a backlog of posts at the time, but I think discussions are so important to blogging, and this blog in particular. I really like the comments and interacting with everyone, getting others’ views on things. And I get a sense everyone else really enjoys the comments as well.

    foosrock,

    “Iโ€™m not a techie, but I like posts where the discussion goes on for a while till all are satisfied and then we move onโ€ฆ”

    I do as well. There just has to be a balance between new posts and discussion because some may not like the current post, etc.

  12. Wasn’t Nkosazana pregnant? Maybe that’s why she’s taking a blogging/writing break… not to mention she already has twins!

  13. Wow, I had no idea that she was pregnant. I wish her all the best, I always thought, she had an amazing name “Nkosazana” means ” A Queen”

Leave a Reply

