George Michael – Careless Whisper

 

 

 

My Comments: “Careless Whisper” is the debut solo single by pop musician George Michael. The song goes over the regret and guilt a cheating partner feels over his indiscretion. Released in 1984, it became a global hit and stands as one of music classics.

This is one of my personal favorites — I consider it timeless. It is one of those rare songs where everything comes together to create perfection.

 
Lyrics:

I feel so unsure
As I take your hand
And lead you to the dance floor
As the music dies
Something in your eyes
Calls to mind a silver screen
And all its sad goodbyes

I’m never gonna dance again
Guilty feet have got no rhythm
Though it’s easy to pretend
I know you’re not a fool
Should’ve known better than to cheat a friend
And waste the chance that I’ve been given
So I’m never gonna dance again
The way I danced with you

Time can never mend
The careless whisper of a good friend
To the heart and mind
Ignorance is kind
There’s no comfort in the truth
Pain is all you’ll find

Tonight the music seems so loud
I wish that we could lose this crowd
Maybe it’s better this way
We’d hurt each other with the things we want to say
We could have been so good together
We could have lived this dance forever
But now who’s gonna dance with me
Please stay

And I’m never gonna dance again
Guilty feet have got no rhythm
Though it’s easy to pretend
I know your not a fool
Should’ve known better than to cheat a friend
And waste the chance that I’ve been given
So I’m never gonna dance again
The way I danced with you

(Now that you’re gone)

Now that you’re gone
(Now that you’re gone)
Was what I did so wrong?
So wrong, that you had to leave me alone?

 

6 thoughts on “George Michael – Careless Whisper

  1. This song is interesting because it’s written from the point of view of the person in the relationship who cheated. It seems to me that there are fewer songs that take this perspective than the other way around, looking at things from the perspective of the victim of infidelity. At least, that’s my impression, anyway.

    Two other songs that fall into this category, and that I personally happen to like, are the following:

    “You Know I’m No Good” by Amy Winehouse (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-I2s5zRbHg)

    “Criminal” by Fiona Apple (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FFOzayDpWoI)

    These songs are maybe a bit darker and nastier than “Careless Whisper.” They both perfectly capture the conflicting emotions of an unfaithful person. Both women are expressing the pleasure of their infidelity and the simultaneous shame, self-loathing, and regret at having completely messed up a valued relationship.

    Also, an unrelated bonus track by Fiona Apple, since I brought her up. I think she’s very good at expressing the pain of relationships in general:

    “Paper Bag” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BK30r_SIZ-g)

  2. This song is the ultimate. Love it to pieces and George Michael as well. Have been to one of his concerts here in ZH, and though I was sitting too far away, it was extremely enjoyable. This was some years back, before he became disillusioned and impatient (probably too much ganja).

    Watch him with Stevie Wonder on youtube singing “Love’s in Need”. Goosebumps inducing!.

  3. smartacus,

    “This song is interesting because it’s written from the point of view of the person in the relationship who cheated. It seems to me that there are fewer songs that take this perspective than the other way around”

    I agree.

    I love “You Know I’m No Good” too.

    Can’t say I’m much of a fan of Fiona Apple. I have tried to get into her several times but it’s never worked. I like some of her stuff though.

  4. Sherry,

    Hmmm, I think Careless Whisper is more seductive actually. How could you not fall in love with that saxophone? 😀

    foosrock,

    “Watch him with Stevie Wonder on youtube singing “Love’s in Need”. Goosebumps inducing!

    Will do!

  5. @Alee

    I have the same reaction, in that I can only get into some of Fiona Apple’s songs. But the ones that are good are really good. She is prone to writing lyrics that are poetic and personal to the point of being incomprehensible, and I can honestly only appreciate the lyrics of a song if the meaning is at least somewhat straightforward.

    The two songs I linked are obviously ones I like, as they’re not examples of her more bafflingly opaque variety.

Leave a Reply

