Natalie Imbruglia – Torn

 

My Comments:

This is Natalie Imbruglia’s cover of the song “Torn”, first recorded by the band Ednaswap. It is the most successful and well-known version of the song, topping charts internationally.

Although I’m not a fan of Natalie’s, I’ve always really liked this song. It brings to mind the images we create and project on to others, which lead us to feel frustrated when we find our projections were just that.

Lyrics:

I thought I saw a man brought to life
He was warm, he came around like he was dignified
He showed me what it was to cry
Well you couldn’t be that man I adored
You don’t seem to know, don’t seem to care what your heart is for
But I don’t know him anymore
There’s nothing where he used to lie
My conversation has run dry
That’s what’s going on, nothings fine I’m torn

I’m all out of faith, this is how I feel
I’m cold and I am shamed lying naked on the floor
Illusion never changed into something real
I’m wide awake and I can see the perfect sky is torn
You’re a little late, I’m already torn

So I guess the fortune teller’s right
Should have seen just what was there and not some holy light
To crawl beneath my veins and now
I don’t care, I have no luck, I don’t miss it all that much
There’s just so many things that I can’t touch, I’m torn

I’m all out of faith, this is how I feel
I’m cold and I am shamed lying naked on the floor
Illusion never changed into something real
I’m wide awake and I can see the perfect sky is torn
You’re a little late, I’m already torn. Torn.

There’s nothing where he used to lie
My inspiration has run dry
That’s what’s going on, nothings right, I’m torn

I’m all out of faith, this is how I feel
I’m cold and I am shamed lying naked on the floor
Illusion never changed into something real
I’m wide awake and I can see the perfect sky is torn
I’m all out of faith, this is how I feel
I’m cold and I’m ashamed, bound and broken on the floor
You’re a little late, I’m already torn

 

4 thoughts on “Natalie Imbruglia – Torn

  1. I like the lyrics…

    Re: It brings to mind the images we create and project on to others – Lauryn Hill once said “Fantasy is what we want but reality is what we need”.

    With that being said, we all guilty of imprisoning others into our ideals of how they are suppose to be or act or do – in order to fulfill our illusions but life is not like that. Life is unpredictable, the way we visualise things, in reality that can work out totally differentlly. That is were we get torn, reality vs our idealism…..and the saga continues……..

  2. Mkhululie,

    “we all guilty of imprisoning others into our ideals of how they are suppose to be or act or do – in order to fulfill our illusions but life is not like that.”

    True. I think, or I hope, that over time we learn to curb our tendency to do this. Not only does it hurt us, but it also hurts the person we’re idolizing.

  3. I love this version. I was driving with a young’un to Bari Italy when this song was popular. Alas, that relationship didn’t last. Still, this song will always be special. Can’t even watch the video without feeling…..torn!.

Leave a Reply

