Craig David – You Know What

My Comments:

Reintroducing one of the greatest R&B singers of all time and the unofficial king of British hip-hop and R&B – Craig David. “You Know What” is featured on Craig David’s 2001 debut album Born to Do It. The album was successful worldwide, especially in the UK, and is one of my favorite albums. And I’m not the only one — Born to Do It was voted as the Second Greatest Album Ever on a public poll hosted by MTV, bested only by Michael Jackson’s Thriller.

If you haven’t heard of Craig David, you’ve been missing out on some really excellent and timeless music. You’re in luck, however, as I’ll be featuring more Craig David music in the future.

Lyrics:

Yeah, I know that
I said I’m feeling it
I’m feeling it I’m feeling it yeah
I know that you like the way that I put it down on you
you know what yeah

We were meant to be
Together for eternity
But now you’re gone it’s plain to see
I was living just a fantasy
So many things I’d like to do
If ever I found a love that’s true
Finding it hard to push on through
Since I’ve been away from you

When I first met you waiting
Standing up by the bus stop
I knew you were something special
Weak in my knees
I wanted to drop yeah, yeah
So we checked each other
What we had going on was so hot, yeah
I never thought you’d leave me no
But you know what

We were meant to be
Together for eternity
But now you’re gone it’s plain to see
I was living just a fantasy
So many things I’d like to do if ever I found a love that’s true
Finding it hard to push on through
Since I’ve been away from you

Now I can’t seem to get over you
Appearing in everything that I do
It was only last week
Friday when I saw you out with your girlfriends walking
Round my way (wanted to stop) yeah, yeah
I feel when all’s said and done
From this love I’ve had I’ve learned a lot, yeah
I never thought you’d leave me no
But you know what

We were meant to be
Together for eternity
But now you’re gone it’s plain to see
I was living just a fantasy
So many things I’d like to do
If I ever I found a love that’s true
Finding it hard to push on through
Since I’ve been away from you

The flow that we had was so hot
Girl you took me higher to the top
We kept it rolling wouldn’t stop
Said you’d never leave me
But you know what
We were meant to be
Together for eternity
But now you’re gone it’s plain to see
I was living just a fantasy
So many things I’d like to do if ever I found a love that’s true
Finding it hard to push on through
Since I’ve been away from you

You don’t know what I’ve been going through
But I know that you don’t know what
I said I’m feeling it, I’m feeling it I’m feeling it, yeah

You don’t know what I’ve been going through
But I know that you don’t know what
I said I’m feeling it, I’m feeling it I’m feeling it, yeah

23 thoughts on “Craig David – You Know What

  1. He’s certainly not the unofficial king of uk hip hop and rnb. Where did you get that from?? He was very promising and yes his first album was good (although not as good as you are making out). Then he went to the US and came back sounding like a poor Usher imitation. He lost that great British sound we all loved him for. We shunned him and he didn’t blow up over there either. Now he’s a bacholer living in florida (or somewhere), driving a red porsche and putting up portraits of women he’s slept with in his own apartment. A sad shell of a man and we’re glad to be rid of him.

  2. He is a subject of derision over here in the UK. His lyrics are rubbish and he was just a flash in the pan a one record wonder (and that one wasn’t so special).Lately he resorted to covering other peoples hits which is a sign of desperation. MTV viewers? Do you tust their opinions?

  3. If you want good lyrics listen to Garth Brooks “The Dance” or Dolly Parton “I will always Love You” or George Jones “He Stopped Loving Her Today”
    If you want accomplished musicians listen to Billy D and the Hoodoos.

  4. niarchive,

    I knew UK readers would have a kneejerk reaction to that statement since it seems you all hate him so much. In fact, that’s part of the reason I wrote it — to see what you all would say. It’s like calling Beyonce the American Princess of R&B…bring out the gloves!

    What I can’t understand is why there seems to be this overarching atmosphere in the UK of disliking any celebrity who becomes “too big”. It’s like there is some enjoyment in “knocking ’em down a peg”, whether they are deserving of praise or not.

    Here is a good question: who do you think makes better R&B music in the UK? I honestly have yet to find any UK male R&B artist who I believe is as talented. And yes I think his first album was that good, and I’m entitled to that opinion, just as you can think the album was just good, no more.

    He doesn’t remind me at all of Usher (why does every male contemporary R&B singer get compared to Usher?) although I agree his later albums are more “trendy” and less memorable.

  5. billy,

    The MTV poll was online and public, so yes I think the opinions of thousands of people says something. Although the poll was only valid for when MTV was created and beyond, so only ’80s and later music.

    My parents are country music fans so I’m aware of those songs. I don’t think every song has to have earth-shattering lyrics; some are noteworthy because of the singer’s voice, the instrumentals, etc.

  6. So in that case there is nothing noteworthy about his voice or the instrumentals. Music has moved on over here and he is irrelevant. He certainly isn’t “great”. He certainly falls into a similar category to James Blunt. People do dislike them both and the reason is they are both up themselves.

  7. I’m agree with niarchive. It’s written: I will NEVER buy his music. He lost his great “Britishness”. Sold it for cheap wine and woman. Asshole!.

  8. ….and who gives a fig about MTV(anymore)?. Do the viewers who watch that shite really have the purchasing power?.

  9. billy,

    “So in that case there is nothing noteworthy about his voice or the instrumentals.”

    I think he has a noteworthy voice. If I could sing like that I wouldn’t be mad.

    “Music has moved on over here and he is irrelevant.”

    Sorry, I like older music… but moved on to what?

    Still no one has mentioned any good current UK male R&B artists. :/

    “He certainly falls into a similar category to James Blunt. People do dislike them both and the reason is they are both up themselves.”

    I was going to mention James Blunt. He’s another people dislike for no good reason. Actually, I can see why, since his voice is certainly…unique. But give the guy a break.

    The majority of celebrities are full of themselves, so…? Some hide it better, but that means nothing. People put too much emphasis on humility…honestly, you have to love yourself to promote yourself 24/7 and receive all of those “fans”.

  10. Froggie,

    What’s that? 🙂

    foosrock,

    “It’s written: I will NEVER buy his music.”

    Then I guess more for me . 😛

    “He lost his great “Britishness”.’

    His later music does have a different style from earlier songs. But this video features an earlier song…so you all are still going to thumb it down even after saying his earlier stuff was good?

    The way I see it, music has to evolve. Any successful musician who has been around for decades has to change their style to fit the times. And then there will be the old fans that say “Boo, they used to be so good, not anymore!” But the style of music that was popular in ’85 won’t necessarily be as popular in ’15.

    “….and who gives a fig about MTV(anymore)?. Do the viewers who watch that shite really have the purchasing power?”

    Like I mentioned: the poll wasn’t only of MTV listeners. It was an online public poll so everyone could/did vote.

    And heck, MTV listeners may just be the only ones still buying albums, vs. illegally downloading it online.

  11. What do you all think of my new favorite artist The Weeknd?

    Sorry for the curse words in the first one: ignore them…

    But if you boo him too then I’ll know you all just have bad taste in R&B. 😉

  12. I swoon at the expletives, Alee. You must know I love em!. The song’s ok. Am not into modern day rnb. Prefer the singers/song writers of days gone by like Luther Vandross, Teddy Pendergrass, Barry White etc, so don’t listen to that today’s talentless wannabees.
    Would Emelie Sandé be considered rnb?. If so, she’s British and really good (and not vulgar with her lyrics) too.

  13. PS: I have never downloaded music illegally. I have ways too much respect for any hardworking person to do that and look myself in the mirror afterwards! 🙂

    Would this be considered rnb?. He’s Swiss and quite popular here.

  14. foosrock,

    “The song’s ok.”

    Even “Valerie” (the second song)… Just okay?! *sings* Ohhh, Valerie *sings*

    “I swoon at the expletives, Alee. You must know I love em!”

    Lol, I posted that more for others who might be bothered by curse words. I know you have no issue with them.

    “Am not into modern day rnb. Prefer the singers/song writers of days gone”

    This song is over a decade old! 😛

    But I also like ’80s and especially ’90s R&B more.

    “Would Emelie Sandé be considered rnb?. If so, she’s British”

    Yes, I’d consider her R&B, I like her too. But she’s not male!

    “Would this be considered rnb?. He’s Swiss and quite popular here.”

    I’d consider that more adult contemporary, but it could be R&B. But anyway, he’s not British!

  15. foosrock,

    “but a decade’s hardly “old”.’

    I kid, I kid. But I do love it when the radio plays songs that are a few years old and calls them “throwbacks”.

    “I found this…Might explain why one can’t think of any male Brit rnb singers.”

    I can help them with this problem: the reason there aren’t any many R&B artists is because they don’t get any support…as shown clearly here. 😛

    “How about Lemar, Seal, Jamie Lidell?. Are they rnb too?”

    Lemar, yes. Seal seems more like soft rock. Lidell sounds like funk.

  16. Agree, as the Brits have their own unique style of music, very much influenced from all genres. Eg, ska, influenced by reggae. It also helps that England especially is extremely multicultural. I prefer that they develop their own uniqueness, eg, drumNbass. RnB’s dead anyways. Kilt by thugs and ghetto(ness).

  17. Alee, sweetie, dahling, sugarplum: it is!. Roll over. Long live electronica!(techno, house, drumNbass, jungle).

Leave a Reply

