Blogging on Blogging: Criticism

writing-criticismFor those who love blogging, it can be fun and rewarding. At the same time, owning and keeping up an engaging and informative blog is hard work — much more than it may seem to those reading the finished product. Feedback on posts and topics of discussion are always appreciated, however, feedback sometimes crosses the line into criticism which isn’t so constructive. Some even extend their criticism to other outlets — other blogs, forums, and the like.

While even unwarranted, negative feedback can help and spur a blogger to improve their writing, it for the most part detrimental. Besides the obvious result of demotivating the blogger who is criticized, it wastes time and creates a negative atmosphere. Among others, here are a few more reasons you should rethink or reformulate any critiques you’re contemplating sending a blogger’s way:

1. Blogging takes guts

To blog means to lay out your innermost thoughts and feelings. Needless to say, this isn’t the easiest thing to do. Scrutinizing a particularly personal post teaches the blogger that their ideas and thoughts are not welcome and discourages them from ever bearing their literary souls again.

2. It easier to tear down than build up

Those who criticize a blogger or blog post tend to feel that they can do better, or that the writing is simply not good enough. However, there is a world of difference between reading and critiquing, and creating. If you don’t believe this, try it.

3. A blogger is their greatest critic

Yes, before you ever see the blogger’s post it’s usually been raked over for the slightest mistake or misstep. While some may simply type and publish, most posts are read, corrected, and rewritten a few times. The act of writing makes a critic of any writer; it creates it own improvement.

All of the above said, criticism is necessary and I welcome it. But criticism can overstay its welcome when it hinders rather than promotes. Critics are needed, but thoughtful, honest writing is in short of supply. Instead of criticizing, it seems some chronic criticizers could better use their time by writing themselves; showing by example how a wonderful article or post is written.

How do you feel about criticizing blog posts and bloggers? If you have a blog, have you encountered criticism and how did you deal with it?

8 thoughts on “Blogging on Blogging: Criticism

  1. Uh oh! I just told a fellow blogger that I didn’t like something that they wrote but I didn’t realize how hurtful it could have been. What if they are being insensitive? In this case, the blogger made light of a socially unjust issue… I simply brought it to their attention… Anyway thanks for drawing this to my attention and I intend to be more careful about my responses moving forward to fellow bloggers. Thanks again!

  2. I think a little more consideration of others feelings (especially the blogger) would go a long way to making a blog better for everyone. Considering how much work one puts into a blog I think a little more consideration of their thoughts and feelings as well as those of other commenters would create a better blogosphere for all.

  3. Hi lhj,

    I think it all depends on how you word your criticism, what exactly your criticism entails, and the person too, of course.

    “What if they are being insensitive? In this case, the blogger made light of a socially unjust issue”

    I don’t think it’s wrong to bring that to their attention. Social and political issues are bound to have split opinions. But again, it depends on your wording. If you just said, “This post sucks. You’re a terrible writer.” or something similar, or poked fun at their viewpoint without explaining why you take issue with it, then that’s unhelpful.

  4. Froggie,

    I agree. It takes a lotttt of work to maintain a blog and it is better for everyone if there aren’t overly negative comments on every post.

  5. I was away… Did something bad happen? Or is this a more generalized post?

    I can’t say I’ve ever encountered this sort of comments, but I suspect it’s because I rarely post and/or my posts are not provoking enough. I remember certain critiques on my guest blogs made by [insert male blogger] but that’s all. I guess the golden rule is: “critique the opinion, not the person”, especially not in a silly way of: “you don’t know shit” or “you’re ugly” (with the sub-type of “YOUR ugly” – I am sure you all know this type of posts).

  6. Mira,

    It’s just a general post, but it was sparked by my noticing the increase (?) in negative comments posted on blogs as a whole.

    “I can’t say I’ve ever encountered this sort of comments, but I suspect it’s because I rarely post and/or my posts are not provoking enough.”

    That’s good. A constant stream of negative comments never helped anyone.

    “(with the sub-type of “YOUR ugly” – I am sure you all know this type of posts).”

    Lol, yes.

Leave a Reply

