Lauren Conrad

lauren-conradLauren Conrad is an American fashion designer, author, and former reality TV star. Originally from Orange County, California, she rose to fame in the MTV reality television show Laguna Beach. Her popularity on Laguna Beach helped secure her own reality show The Hills. Unlike many reality television stars, Lauren kept the real in “reality” which endeared her to fans and fueled her success.

Lauren grew up the oldest of three children of a successful architect. As a middle and high school student she loved fashion and dreamed of working in fashion as a career. She never thought of TV, but Lauren’s life as a reality TV star began when she randomly met MTV producer Adam DiVello her senior year at Laguna Beach High School.

One day, she and best friend Lauren Bosworth were arguing over who set off her car alarm when DiVello approached. The producer asked if they’d like to audition for a reality television show MTV was planning at her school. They agreed and Lauren and her friends were picked to star in the new series.

Chosen for her likeable and sweet personality, these same qualities helped Lauren stand out among her co-stars. Laguna Beach became one of MTV’s highest-rated shows, with Lauren as one of its most loved characters. After her graduation, Laguna Beach producer and creator Adam DiVello decided to follow its star in her college and career ambitions. The Hills was born.

The Hills followed Lauren as she attended fashion design school and interned for Teen Vogue. The show also documented the lives of Lauren and her friends; their ups and downs and romantic heartbreaks. Lauren was herself, showing her true emotions and reactions. This made her relatable . DiVello proclaimed Lauren as the perfect star for the coming of age show: “[Lauren] is every girl.”

While Lauren was then used to the spotlight, she wasn’t ready for the betrayals and backstabbing that would come with life in the public eye. Her former best friend, Heidi Montag ditched her for a new love, Spencer Pratt. To add insult to injury Heidi and trouble-making Spencer spread a rumor of a sex tape involving Lauren and ex-boyfriend Jason Wahler. Lauren denied the rumors but her friendship with Heidi was irreparably broken.

lauren-conradIn 2009, Lauren left The Hills, the show that made her $125,000 per episode. After five seasons, she decided that it was time to move to the next phase in her life. She pursued her lifelong goal of fashion and began work on her first novel.

Her first novel L.A. Candy was released in the summer of 2009 and is loosely based on her life as a reality TV star. The novel made the New York Times Bestseller list and later became a series. Lauren has since signed another deal for a spin-off of the popular series.

Lauren’s first clothing line, LC by Lauren Conrad, debuted in 2009 in major department stores. The line mimics Lauren’s innovate, demure style. Her second line, Paper Crown is more high-end and will be released in late 2011.

Even though she was featured with many guys on her reality TV runs, Lauren claims she isn’t exactly the most socially fluent person. She says, “I’m a bad dater. I’m the most socially awkward person, like carrying on conversations and stuff.” Despite this she dated actor Kyle Howard (My Boys, Royal Pains) for three years before their break-up in 2011. On guys, Lauren uses her fashion knowledge to offer words of wisdom:

“Boys are like purses. You’re always gonna have that one boy that you’re always comfortable with and you know you’ll always kind of like. That’s your purse that you wear everywhere. Then you have that gorgeous bag that you want everyone to see you with but the gorgeous bag is usually an a**hole/costs a lot of money. Then you have those other purses that you really like but you really don’t want to be seen with.”

For the future, Lauren hopes to focus on her clothing lines, increasing their brands, continue her writing, and work on her beauty tips website The Beauty Department.

lauren-conrad  lauren-conrad  lauren-conrad  lauren-conrad

27 thoughts on “Lauren Conrad

  1. Of course you know of Oprah… if you didn’t know her I’d ask where you’ve been for the past couple of decades or so.

    Well, some of these bios are to introduce you to people you might not have heard of. Others are simply people I like. Lauren is both; I guessed most people here aren’t into reality TV.

  2. I didn’t know about Tia and Tamera’s show… I’ll have to see about that because I did love Sister, Sister. I also like them as people.

    As far as Toccara’s show, I’m tired of those dating/finding a mate reality shows. Those have been done to death.

    Not that Laguna Beach was particularly insightful, but I liked Lauren. I actually heard about it from a friend who said, “You have to watch this show – the narrator is just like you.”

  3. I don’t think many older people or people outside of the United States have heard of Lauren. She and her co-stars are more common with the teen-late 20s crowd in the U.S.

    Her ex-best friend Heidi Montag is really only well-known outside of that circle because of her excessive plastic surgery — she had 10 in one day and more before that. She used to be a cute girl but she looks extremely plastic nowadays. When Lauren was asked what she thought of Heidi’s new appearance she said, “…It’s a look.”

  4. I used to work with a nurse who looked a lot like her. To me that is a Gallic look (irish and scottish and maybe parts of eastern europe?). Easy on the eyes.

  5. Jasmin,

    That’s like our word for a coon. Acting like white people want us to act. You should watch it. It’s good. Get it on the interweb. One of them is got married to a WM. The other got married to Chris brown.

    I don’t think many older people

    Ahem. Who you calling older?

  6. I was addicted to Laguna but didnt really like the Hills after the first two seasons. It got too fake after that and Heidi/Spencer were ruining the show for me. On Laguna I was always rooting for Kristen over Lauren but didnt like when she took over last season of the Hills.

    Nkosazana, You never heard of Brandy?!!! She was/is the best. She was definitely one of my role models in the 90’s. There were so many awesome beautiful black girls to look up to during that time. They werent all sexed up back then. I still like Tia and Tamera also.

  7. I know a few African actresses but out of the ones I know my favorite is Leleti Khumalo. She was in this movie called Yesterday thats one of my all time faves. One of the saddest movies ive ever seen in my life, just gut wrenching but thats what makes a good movie, its gotta be able to pull strong emotion from you.

  8. Tim

    You’re talking about Lauren, right?

    She is German and Irish. I can see the German in her bone structure; she looks a lot like her father Jim Conrad.

    Jasmin,

    You should watch Tia and Tamera’s show online, when it’s available. I’m sure some site will have it.

  9. I know her, She’s both from my clan and from my township.

    That movie is just about rural life in South Africa. I got relatives with similar stories. But it’s good to put women in the spot light since a lot of us in SA lives very hard lives.

  10. Jessica,

    “I was addicted to Laguna but didnt really like the Hills after the first two seasons. It got too fake after that and Heidi/Spencer were ruining the show for me.”

    Yes, The Hills was a lot better before Spencer came along. As soon as he interjected himself (you know he initially got with Heidi to be on the show), I would more or less skip over his scenes with Heidi (I watched online). Lauren made The Hills; you can tell by how quickly it was canceled after she left.

    “On Laguna I was always rooting for Kristen over Lauren…”

    What?! I’m Team Lauren. 🙂

    I like Kristin too, but she is a different sort of personality than Lauren; I don’t compare them.


    Nkosazana,

    “One of them is got married to a WM. The other got married to Chris brown.”

    Lol, do you mean a guy who looks like Chris Brown? Because neither of them got married to the actual Chris Brown.

    Tia is married to actor Cory Hardrict. (He doesn’t look anything like Chris Brown…). Tamera got married to Adam Housley of Fox News.

    “Ahem. Who you calling older?”

    I said older people OR people outside of the U.S. But if you think the older part applies to you, I won’t argue. 😉

  11. You should see him on the show, he dresses the same and wear stupid sunglasses all the time even indoor. All dressed up like that you can’t tell em apart.

    I thought you said *AND*, I need glasses…

  12. Nko is killing me with her comments lol

    I actually like Lauren’s fashion line. Some people dismiss it as too plain or basic, but that’s what I like about it. some simple and classy pieces. I’m over the half-naked/ridiculous/attention-seeking outfits people like Gaga and Nicki Minaj wear.

  13. bwlivingwell,

    I like her line too. I’m into basic clothing (as well as some extravagant clothing; what can I say, I love clothes). It really reflects her personal style.

    I liked the coat and purse Lady Gaga wore on The View the other day. The hat and glasses I could do without, but the coat and pearls I could work with. Nicki Minaj… pass on that one.

  14. I liked Lauren’s line too. I tend to like the basic stuff cause Im all about accessories and if its too extravagant, accessories can be overkill.

    P.S. Tia’s husband is FINE!

  15. Jessica,

    I’m an accessories girl too. Lauren has some great belts in her line — perfect for the basic outfits.

    Tia’s husband is okay, IMO. He doesn’t really do it for me.

Leave a comment