Romantic Body Language, From Head to Toe

romantic-body-languageWe all know by now that we send messages not only with our words, but with our body movements and expressions. Interpreting everyday body language is an instinctual process — everyone does it to differing extents. But romantic body language can be more challenging. How do you know if someone is interested in you or not? Are you reading a potential partner’s body language correctly?

Romantic body language, like all forms of body language, is unique — everyone has their unique way of expressing romantic interest or attention. But many more expressions are general in scope and are shown by people of a certain gender, or both genders. These signals are sent from head to toe:

Head

A head tilted sideways shows interest — a person is curious about what they’re seeing. Widened eyes are a classic signal of interest. Your pupils dilate and become larger when you’re interested in what you see. Combined with raised eyebrows, wide eyes are an almost sure sign of interest. Parted and licking lips are another obvious sign — so obvious that most people understand what it means immediately.

Voice

The voice is not truly part of the body, but it has important signals of interest in another person. Particularly, if a person matches their speech to yours in tone, speed, and even in words, they’re trying to get along better with you. Combined with other expressions, a matched voice is a sign of deeper interest.

Arms

You wouldn’t think of arms as a place to look for romantic signals, but the way you carry your arms sends out certain signals. Specifically, open arms with wrists out shows trust of a situation or person, and in the language of romance, that is a good sign.

Hips/Bottom

Hips thrusted out are an overt suggestion of sexual interest. Swaying hips, whether consciously or unconsciously show that a person would like your attention.

Can you guess what a person sticking their bottom out means in terms of romantic body language?

Legs

Knees pointed towards a person indicates interest in them. Open legs, especially by men, is a traditionally sexual display. Sitting with legs open shows comfort in your social surroundings, which is helpful when trying to decide how comfortable a potential partner may be in your presence.

Toes

If you can see the toes, they might give you a clue — moving, bouncing toes show excitement and interest, as do curled toes.

Which of these signals do you notice you display? Have you noticed any of these signs, or do you know of any other signs that show romantic interest?

See also:

23 thoughts on “Romantic Body Language, From Head to Toe

  1. Can you guess what a person sticking their bottom out means in terms of romantic body language?

    No.

    Animals do that when they’re ready to mate, though.

    PS- Does this apply to men, too? 😀

  2. Mira,

    “No.”

    Lol.

    “Does this apply to men, too?”

    Not as much. They show off that… other area. 😉

  3. Huh. But the problem is, men show off the “other area” all the time. Often to other men. It can hardly be seen as a sign of a romantic interest. (Or even a sexual interest).

    I’ve heard women touch and twist their hair when they’re interested. *
    (* White women? Long haired women? Straight hair women? ) Or maybe it’s just my culture. A guy touching your hair is definitely a sign of interest in my culture (though they do that to their female friends, so it’s hard to tell).

  4. Mira,

    “…men show off the “other area” all the time. Often to other men. It can hardly be seen as a sign of a romantic interest. (Or even a sexual interest).”

    You’re right, they do. But certain body signals have different meanings in different contexts. Like wide eyes can mean interest in what you’re seeing, but in a (possibly) frightening situation, it means fear.

    “I’ve heard women touch and twist their hair when they’re interested. *
    (* White women? Long haired women? Straight hair women? )”

    I’ve heard about this too, but I’ve really only seen women who would be described as “ditzy” doing it. And I think all women can touch (and perhaps twist, depending on the length) their hair.

  5. And I think all women can touch (and perhaps twist, depending on the length) their hair.

    I know they can; but this sort of twisting, I think, is reserved to those having hair near their face/shoulder. Like the first thing they can pick in order to make the other person pay attention to their face. (It’s not my theory! I’ve read it somewhere!) Also, it can be a sign of being nervous, but in a flirting kind of way?

  6. Mira,

    “this sort of twisting, I think, is reserved to those having hair near their face/shoulder.”

    Hmmm, maybe. I suppose if your hair is only a couple of inches long you couldn’t really twist it anyhow. But I always imagine most women have hair that at least reaches their face.

    “Also, it can be a sign of being nervous, but in a flirting kind of way?”

    Yes, it’s flirting. Touching the hair in general is called preening; tidying yourself up (I’m sure you know all about that, since you study and love animals. 🙂 ).

  7. I find that pouting with the butt works very well to get hubby’s attention.. He knows what’s up. Pout a bit, and sway with my hip and boom, the pink one eyed snake come out faster than a Hillbrow hooker with a promised bonus.

    So I think it would work well on other men as well.

    I think that open leg things on men is very noticeable. It screams, hey look at my package.

  8. Nkosazana,

    “Pout a bit, and sway with my hip and boom, the pink one eyed snake come out faster than a Hillbrow hooker with a promised bonus.”

    *dead*

    You are too much.

    There is way too much to say about this comment. So I’ll simply say nothing. 🙂

    “I think that open leg things on men is very noticeable. It screams, hey look at my package.”

    Just what it’s supposed to. 😉

  9. This topic is depressing to me. The whole thing feels incredibly hopeless.

  10. To be honest, I am more worried about people misinterpreting neutral, or even “leave me alone!” body language for romantic interest.

  11. Mira, “leave me alone” body language is a little different. But you could probably get neutral body language confused with romantic body language if you’re really looking for interest.

  12. Oh, you mean deliberately misinterpreting (or in some cases, ignoring)? Yes, that definitely happens.

  13. Why is it depressing you ask? Because it is all part of this dizzying thing called “Dating”. A thing more horrifying that that huge monster under your bed …

  14. Sherry,

    Ha, dating isn’t that complicated or scary. I probably make it seem more complicated than it is, by analyzing and going over every possible situation. But when it comes to dating, I say just go for it. Once you’ve done it for a while, it’s not difficult at all.

  15. Alee,

    Oh, you mean deliberately misinterpreting (or in some cases, ignoring)? Yes, that definitely happens.

    To tell you the truth, I am not sure if it’s misinterpretation. Some men honestly think it’s part of flirting (and being interested in a man).

    Sherry,

    I hear you. I did find dating very depressing and confusing. Still, monsters under the bed are more horrifying, I think.

  16. Eyes are always the biggest giveaway. Looking a woman in the eyes is always an easy way to determine her attraction level towards you. After that, its just a matter of not saying anything stupid. Anything else a woman does is just extra.

  17. that guy,

    Yes, eyes are a really good sign. But “extra”? What if everything else about her body language says “No way”?

  18. Very rare. Women’s eyes rarely disagree with the rest of their body language. If her body language says no way, almost always the eyes will too.

    I attribute every approach where a woman’s eyes say yes but she turns me down as me saying something stupid.

  19. What if she has naturally big eyes and pupils and stares at people (like my sister)? Just saying… never assume. You don’t want to end up with a restraining order, like Rob. 😉

  20. I thought Rob was a troll. . . anyway if shes stares at me long enough, her body language is bound to change for the positive, and were good to go.

  21. “I thought Rob was a troll. . .”

    LOL.

    No, Rob is okay. I’m a fan of his, remember? 🙂

    You sure have lots of confidence in your abilities, there.

    You should add your thoughts on the Underrate Hot Men post. Have any nominees? Agree or disagree with any of the choices? I know you don’t swing that way, of course, but I’m still interested in your opinion. 🙂

Leave a comment